We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite and Secluded”
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #47 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite and Secluded”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We've stayed in this 3 star hotel twice and have enjoyed it both times. The rooms are very authentic...we had hewn beam ceilings and antiques. The gardens are tranquil and provide a nice respite after a weary day...they have a small bar and the prosecco is ice ice cold. The garden is also where breakfast is taken. The lush, ivy-covered walls are rare in Venice. We would plan to stay here again for the next Venice trip. The staff is very helpful.

The location? Perfect! It is about 50 feet down a narrow ally right off of Calle Marzo Venti Due, which takes you right to Piazza San Marco in one direction, or Campo Santo Stephano in the other.

Room Tip: Room number 28 was large and had a nice view of the garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    371
    61
    18
    13
See reviews for
248
558
80
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay in Hotel Flora in Venice. First of all, Venice is stunning and the trip from the train station by vaparetto is a great way to arrive in a city. Unfortunately our reservation confirmation e-mail stated just a short address of 'San Marco' so this is the stop we got off at for our hotel. However, the hotel was difficult to find, particularly in the noon heat walking with suitcases. After looking up a guide book and asking at a café and in a shop we found it! On arriving at the hotel, which is in a nice location, we were 'received' by a serious, bearded gentleman who without so much as a welcome word asked for our passports. We mentioned, just in passing, that the hotel was difficult to find, he informed us that we should have got off at an earlier stop (not San Marco)! We were brought to our room on the first floor by his female colleague who was very pleasant. The room was disappointing to say the least, very small, dark and dreary, musty, with one small window which seemed to have not been opened for some time (there were cobwebs on the window frame!). The bathroom was brighter but less than clean, there was evidence of previous guests in the bidet! There was no water or mini-bar in the room and at no stage, despite our dishevelled state on arrival, were we ever even offered a glass of water! Following a quick shower, we returned down to reception and asked the same gentleman whether there was somewhere close by that we could eat...he said "The restaurant is closed, if you walk over three bridges you might find somewhere in the square". We did this but there was nothing in the square, we came back and found a café down a side street close to the hotel! That night the air-conditioning in the room was so loud that we had to turn it off and open the window during the night. All in all, a sleepless night. On the plus side, the breakfast was lovely and served in a really nice courtyard, despite the pigeons. Later that day, I mentioned to the nice lady about the air conditioning and our disappointment with the room (I had asked in my e-mail for a nice room as it was a special occasion). She said she would mention it to her reservations colleague. We returned later that evening and on collecting our key were told in a very curt manner by the gentleman from earlier that a technician had fixed the air-con, our other issues with the room were not even mentioned by him. All in all, it is a pity because we could see that other staff members were so kind and nice and helpful, for example the lady and another dark-haired tall man who seemed so nice. The breakfast and bar staff were also so good. This is not a cheap hotel and on leaving I stated our difficulties again with the room (toiletries were not replaced in the morning and bathroom was not properly cleaned). After much discussion with a gentleman in the office at the back of the reception, he offered to give a discount on the bill which we accepted but he made no apology and just kept asking questions and doubting our version of events. The other staff members who were there were courteous and polite. All in all, a pity that a visit to this hotel which should have been so enjoyable left us with a bad impression.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelflora, Proprietario at Hotel Flora, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Madam, Sir,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to answer some of the points you make in your long and detailed letter as they raise important questions regarding the rooms comfort and the service quality level of our hotel and its staff. Let us start from the difficulties you encountered in finding our hotel. As we have already explained to you upon the checkout you did not get off at “San Marco”, the closest water bus stop to the hotel, but at “San Zaccaria” which is located on the other side of the Saint Mark’s Square. We perfectly understand your disappointment with that. It is not easy to walk under the sun, pulling your luggage up and down several bridges, but the point is that you simply mistook the waterbus stop. San Marco - Vallaresso stop, the one we always suggest to our future guest, is much closer to the hotel. As for the “cold reception”, that we would have given to you this was maybe due to the long and tiring transfer from the wrong stop to the hotel. You probably arrived to the hotel tired and nervous; perhaps this pushed you to see things and situations larger than they actually are. We are well known for our courtesy that we express to all our Guests. Our staff makes any effort to try to satisfy our guests’ requirements and expectations. We do not have any reason to believe our staff did not give you our traditional cordial welcome to the hotel that includes also suggestions about a place where to have a quick meal at the arrival. You wrote you didn’t find any place where to eat in the square our concierge suggested to you (namely Campo Santo Stefano). Maybe it was only a problem of miscommunication, maybe he didn’t understand what you were looking for (a misunderstanding can always occurred). We are sure he addressed you to Campo Santo Stefano because there is a wide range of places where you can have a quick bite, from a simple snack to a formal meal. As for the other point of your review, namely the size of the room, you “forgot” to mention that the room was offered to you as an “economy double room”. The size (not the quality) of our rooms can vary significantly but this is not that uncommon in Venice, where hotels are often housed in very ancient buildings. Nevertheless quite a number of our guests think that this adds a lot of character to our property. The “economy double” accommodation simply gives our guests the opportunity to fully enjoy the comfort of its rooms and the high quality service at a cheaper rate. Your room was cleaned up with the traditional carefulness before your arrival by our reliable cleaning staff; hence, it is hard to believe that there was “evidence of the previous guests in the bidet”. Immediately after your departure we also sent our hotel housekeeper to inspect the room but her report was quite different (no cobwebs in the windows frame or smell in the room to be precise). You also complained about the absence of a minibar. We can only admit that you are true. There is no minibar in our rooms, but on the other hand our bar service is available from very early in the morning until very late in the night (and for any simple request such as a bottle of mineral water, you can always count on our night concierge). You also mentioned the noisy air-conditioning but it seems our technician promptly fixed it. Your dissatisfaction with the given accommodation was immediately notified to the reception office. We would have moved you to another room if you returned or called the front desk immediately after breakfast. Unfortunately you came back in the late afternoon and this left us with minimal options to correct the situation for you (the hotel was fully booked). At that point the only thing we could do was to grant a discount and so we did. We are committed to provide our guests the same level of satisfaction which thousands of our valued customers have enjoyed in the past, that’s why we would like to thank you again for taking the time to comment your stay in our hotel. Feedback (also the negative ones) gives us the opportunity to improve. Please do not hesitate to contact us at our email address with any other query you should have about the above matter.
With our best regards.
The Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed two nights as a group of 8 in 3 double rooms and one twin. The check in process was fine even with a large volume of luggage. The rooms are what you would expect for the area with the standout being the beds and the bed linen, all of which was at a very high standard. The bathroom were typical Italian, small but functional.
Breakfast was at least equivilent to any of the other accomodation and better than some.
The location is great, very central to the square, the Rialto, very good shopping and numerous resturants.
The service was great and the staff very helpful even to the extent of phoning our water taxi booking and asking them to pick us up early as none of us had enough Italian to make the call.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roermond
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This family run hotel is really an oasis in this busy city. Its. location is perfect, near the arrival of the waterbus from the airport (do take the yellow line, it has the nicest arrival in Venice through the grand canal).
The hotel has a lovely garden , next to the hotel is a private renovated palace directly on the grand canal.
The staff is very helpful and friendly.
Bar service very good.
The breakfast also excellent.
The rooms have wooden floors, so if you have bad luck with the people on the floor above you it can be noisy. The bathrooms are very small, not suited for two people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden view. Be aware of the wooden floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ursula2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here as a birthday present, it is a haven away From the bustle of a busy place, the service, location, privacy I don't think can be beaten, I have recommended to all friends as the only place to stay, could not be more central , the price is worth it,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A glorious little hotel right in the centre of Venice with outstanding staff. The bedding is wonderful, the breakfast in the courtyard is the highlight of the day and the staff are a joy, it could not be better.

Room Tip: the hotel is down a little alley so I doubt if there any bad rooms. Our room was a decent size but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarasNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cape town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Close to Alilaguna stop from airport and easy to find. Helpful staff, pretty aesthetics + courtyard. Nice breakfast + comfortable bed. Aircon worked well. Downside is ridiculously small single room and bathroom is also very tiny, but this is probably true for any 3star in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anu_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#60 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#71 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#59 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#28 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Property: Hotel Flora
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Venice
#53 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Flora, an intimate and charming hotel with a delightful garden.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Venice, behind Saint Mark's Square, on Calle XXII Marzo, one of the city's most elegant streets, between Campo Santa Maria del Giglio and Campo San Moisè.Hotel Flora's 40 rooms, intimate and light-filled, have been furnished with care by the Romanelli family, each in a different style. Period furniture from the end of the 19th century, or in 16th-century Venetian style create a discreet elegance, enriched by damask tapestries and golden cornices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Venice
Hotel Flora Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing