We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Lovely Botique Hotel "....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #44 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks County, PA
1 review
“"Lovely Botique Hotel "....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful 7 night stay at the Hotel Flora. We were especially pleased with the kind and helpful treatment we received from the desk staff, Sergio and Giovanni, and the breakfast waiter, Stefano. Our bed was very comfortable and the morning breakfast buffet and cappucinos were a perfect way to start the day. The hotel location was great with an easy stroll to San Marco Square or the Rialto.
We are looking forward to return to Venice and would definitely make reservations to stay at the Flora!

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank likestocook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    358
    60
    16
    13
See reviews for
240
527
77
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL, USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

This place definitely is not a generic hotel. The rooms are clean, with furniture that can best be described as either antique or trying to be antique. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom very small but really, how much time does one spend in the bathroom?

Best parts are the location--walking distance to everything, yet quiet due to being a short 1/2 block off a busy pedestrian thoroughfare; and the cute courtyard, which is a great place to unwind with a glass of wine after a long day of sightseeing. There might be more posh places to stay, but I would not hesitate to recommend this place for convenience and overall adequate accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoAlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

We have just returned from staying at this charming well situated hotel. Having read some of the comments on TA, I was worried that it would turn out to be a mistake. This was far from the case. We had a delightful, although on the small side, room overlooking the attractive courtyard with a well designed small bathroom. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and we had an excellent breakfast every morning. We would certainly return to the Flora. It is so conveniently situated and quiet and I am sure it is an oasis during the summer months with its lovely garden. We will certainly recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Liked — small friendly family owned hotel with traditional values
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineSWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

After reading the glowing reviews of this small hotel on the Trip Advisor website and in the current Eyewitness Travel Guide for Venice, as well as having looked at the hotel's own website, we were expecting a small, but thoroughly charming hotel. Sadly we were very disappointed. As we were spending a week in Venice to celebrate a big birthday of mine, we really wanted something special. And at 300 euros a night for a superior room overlooking the garden, we thought we'd find that.
Instead on arrival we found a hotel with generally surly staff on the reception counter and very shabby common areas (worn and grubby carpet, scuff-marked walls). Our room, although generous in size, did not appear to be furnished with antiques as mentioned in very cleverly designed, but completely misleading website, but reproduction furniture. The decor felt outdated and there were absolutely no extras included in the room - no robes, no mini bar, and only two plastic glasses (like those you get in economy class on a plane) wrapped in gladwrap on the bathroom shelf. At less than a metre wide, the bathroom itself was the narrowest I've ever been in which made using the facilities, let alone drying oneself adequately, almost impossible. The shower was at one end of the 'bath-corridor', with the heated towel rail located inside the shower cubicle!
Breakfasts in the dimly lit downstairs lounge were passable but not 'rich' nor lavish as suggested by the website, however the waiting staff in the dining room were very sweet.
To sum up, the position of the hotel is great, but for this kind of money there are a great many other better choices. Don't waste your money.

  • Liked — the hotel's location
  • Disliked — The quality of the accommodation - which was barely three star at five star prices.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JoyFlight101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovecentoVenezia, owner at Hotel Flora, responded to this review, 29 October 2008
Dear Sirs,

sadly we read your report on tripadvisor and we are sorry that you did not complain during your stay as it would have been easier to face each other about some points mentioned on your letter.
Why all this spite against us?
I sincerely had difficulty in recognizing my hotel as I personally try, with all my staff, to offer to our guests always more than what is required for our standards. In your room there was for sure a personalized folder with paper, envelopes, pencil etc, a flat screen Tv with satellite, original venetian handcrafted furniture and the view was nice and quite, overlooking our garden and the facade of the historical Palazzo Contarini. In your bathroom there was a full basket of Etro amenities and a full set of high quality towels. The breakfast of course would be richer in a five star hotel ( even if, most of the time, it will not be included in the room price ) but I always receive compliments for the freshness of products in the buffet ( freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, eggs, cakes, yogurt, etc.) and the attentive staff serving it . The breakfast room and all the common areas are furnished with personal taste, original pieces and carpets (of course old but daily cleaned ) and precious fabrics on the walls.
With this answer I do not want to justify myself but just to prove my daily engagement and care in running my Family Hotel.
Yours sincerely,

Gioele Romanelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2008

I stayed at the Hotel Flora last weekend with my parents. We had a fantastic stay. The hotel is in a very nice, upscale area mere moments from San Marco and the ACTV/Allilugana stop. It is also only a 10 minute walk or so to the Rialto.

Everyone was gracious and helpful from the minute we arrived! We felt as welcome as we would in someone's home! The courtyard is beautiful and relaxing after a long day!

My parents had a fantasic room with a view of the courtyard, the decore is very "shabby chic" with antique pieces and Venetian Style Decore! We thought it was perfect. The beds and linens were very comfortable which is great after a long day of touring. I had a single room that was the perfect size for one!

Breakfast was very nice and they had yummy cappuccinos in the morning!

Staying at Hotel Flora when in Venice will always be on the top of my list!

  • Liked — Location, Decore, Courtyard
  • Disliked — We liked everything
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ccctravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

The pictures you see of the garden are accurate. It is quite nice. Our room, on the other hand, was quite small. I've travelled throughout Italy and realize that room sizes are not what we experience here in the states. However, our bathroom was so small, it was difficult to use the facilities. You had to squeeze through the shower door to get in. Once in, you could not bend down if you dropped something to pick it up. Also there was a window with clear glass in the shower which was very uncomfortable. I had to open it up and throw a towel over it for privacy. The people at the front desk were rude. I must say though, that the breakfast was very good and the server during breakfast was very polite, cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank phyllis777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovecentoVenezia, Owner at Hotel Flora, responded to this review, 13 October 2008
Dear Sirs,
we are very sorry to read about your report because we always try to satisfy our clients' needs and/ or complains before their departure in order to make their stay the most enjoyble as possible. It is true that in our Hotel there are different type of rooms and bathrooms but we always try to advise our guests about it when they make the reservation and, of course, we apply different rates according to the size. This problem is due to the unique city we live in. In fact old palaces (our is dated 16th 17th century) must be respected in their original structure. The real surprise for us is your experience with our front desk staff, which is usually very polite and helpful and has been always well apreciated by our clients.
I personally remain at your complete disposal in order to make your complain helpful for us and to improve our service which is the highlight of the Hotel Flora.
Yours sincerely,
Gioele Romanelli
-owner-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,482 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,608 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

We have stayed at the family-owned Flora Hotel half a dozen times in the past 12 years , most recently in July, 2008. The location can't be beat--between St. Mark's Square and the Accademia Bridge, and surrounded by fancy shopping. The rates are typical for the area and the rooms and bathrooms are not large, but there is a warmth that permiates the centuries-old buildings and the employees, most of whom have been there for many years. Their garden is an oasis of tranquility and a terrific place to have a drink, visit with other hotel guests, reflect on the day's sightseeing and plan what to do tomorrow. Many fine/reasonably priced restaurants well within walking distance. We highly recommend the Flora. We travel all over the world and the Flora is one of our favorites.

  • Liked — locatiion
  • Disliked — rooms and bathrooms on the smallish side
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LWL3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovecentoVenezia, Gioele Romanelli, owner at Hotel Flora, responded to this review, 12 September 2008
Dear Sirs,
it has been a big pleasure to read your review because it decribes exactly what we try to transmit everyday to our guests. The warmth that permiates all our employees is a main part of our philosophy, the same that our family and all the Staff of the Hotel Flora try to keep from more than fourthy years.
Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Gioele Romanelli & all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#53 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#67 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#57 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Property: Hotel Flora
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Venice
#53 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Flora, an intimate and charming hotel with a delightful garden.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Venice, behind Saint Mark's Square, on Calle XXII Marzo, one of the city's most elegant streets, between Campo Santa Maria del Giglio and Campo San Moisè.Hotel Flora's 40 rooms, intimate and light-filled, have been furnished with care by the Romanelli family, each in a different style. Period furniture from the end of the 19th century, or in 16th-century Venetian style create a discreet elegance, enriched by damask tapestries and golden cornices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Venice
Hotel Flora Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing