We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #50 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Wow hotel Flora was incredible!
Staff was amazing
Breakfast was great - with delicious cappuccinos
Rooms were Victorian style - felt like we were back in time (but in a good way)-they modernized the hotel and it was so beautiful
All in all had a great stay there!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesworldtravel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2010

Venice was the last stop on our honeymoon and we were looking forward to staying at Hotel Flora. We paid 300Euros to stay here in a Deluxe Room.
We checked in early, around 9am and the room was not ready (totally understandable) so we left our luggage and returned at noon. When we came back, we went up to our room and the person and the front desk our luggage would be right up. 20 minutes later, my husband and I are in our room and without even knocking, the bellman guy opens the door without any notice. Thank goodness we weren't doing anything private. The room was ok, but the bathroom was ridden with mold. There was mold all over the ceiling and in the creases long the wall. The toilet seat was full out broken, but was on there to look as if nothing was wrong.
We put a ton of items in the safe. When we left the hotel, the man at the desk insisted we leave our room and safe key at the front desk. I know that his is typically normal--and is an OPTION for guests, but he insisted and when we told him that we preferred to hold it, he told us this would be a big problem. ? He was rude and told us that if we lost our keys, there are no replacements. We took that chance.
When we checked out, the owner was rude as well.
The breakfast area was lovely to look at, but once you sit down and eat there, birds are not afraid to fly around you and pick at your food.
The hotel is in a good location, thats about it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucythepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelflora, Responsabile reception at Hotel Flora, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2010

Dear Madam,
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to answer some of the points you make in your letter as they raise important questions regarding the rooms comfort and the service quality level of our hotel, but first we would like to point out a small innacuracy: the price you paid was 240.00 Euros not 300.00 Euros.
Let’s start from the delay in delivering the luggage to the room. The most likely reason might be that the porter was very busy. Nonetheless we would prefer to stress the fact that here at the Flora a porter is always available to take guests to their rooms (which is unfortunately increasingly rare for hotels in our category ).
As for the bellman “intrusion” without any notice we can only say that it is very odd since our staff is instructed not to open the room door if the guests are in the room. If this happened we apologize as it would be inappropriate and unprofessional.
Did you ask to have the toilet seat replaced? It's quite frustrating to receive such a complaint after the departure when nothing can be done anymore (this also applies to the mold spots in the bathroom of course)
The safe key can be separated from the room key and must be kept by the guest.
Are you suggesting us to eliminate house sparrows from our garden? Birds and their songs are attractive to most part of our guests!
We hope we have been able to give you an idea on how seriously and honestly we carry out our work.
We remain at your complete disposal for any further explanations.
Many thanks and best regards.
Cristian/Hotel Flora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

we choose to say off the grand canal due to comments on noise and price. hotel flora was good choice. breakfast lncluded. good room but not luxurious. clean and staff was as accommodating as any. good location. air conditioned.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adiosamiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Five minutes from St. Mark's Square, this inviting hotel was our home for 5 nights. We had a family suite, 2 small separate rooms which accommodated myself, my wife and 2 kids-21 and 16. Warm and friendly staff, great breakfasts in an open courtyard. Excellent service, good advise, and willing assistance. Reasonably priced, don't miss this gem.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brosen50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

This hotel is absolutely wonderful! Perfect location, nice rooms, a beautiful courtyard for breakfast or an evening drink. The staff however, is what makes this place even better. Giovanni and the others (I'm sorry I didn't get everyone's name) go above and beyond making restaurant recommendations and reservations, helping plan itineraries, just making sure you're stay in Venice is memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigsandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The hotel is hidden away in a side alley, 5min walk from St. Marko square.
There is a beautiful inner garden for breakfast, typical venetian rooms (we had the 3 bed room we window to the garden, for a couple with 1 child it's perfect).

The hotel staff are extremly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soldan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Loved the Hotel Flora, friendly, warm and very accommodating. Definitely would stay here again. .Have the hotel make a reservation to have the water taxi pick you up at the airport....saves time and energy (dragging suitcases from the bus-boat to the hotel is exhausting!!!!)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dlitz224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 385 in Venice
1,425 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#55 of 385 in Venice
1,292 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#14 of 385 in Venice
1,038 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#17 of 385 in Venice
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Venice
#52 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £86 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Flora, an intimate and charming hotel with a delightful garden.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Venice, behind Saint Mark's Square, on Calle XXII Marzo, one of the city's most elegant streets, between Campo Santa Maria del Giglio and Campo San Moisè.Hotel Flora's 40 rooms, intimate and light-filled, have been furnished with care by the Romanelli family, each in a different style. Period furniture from the end of the 19th century, or in 16th-century Venetian style create a discreet elegance, enriched by damask tapestries and golden cornices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Venice
Hotel Flora Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing