We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm on the Grande Canal”
Review of Hotel Galleria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Galleria
Ranked #180 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old world charm on the Grande Canal”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Venice is a city of great palazzos in a state of elegant decay on the grande canal. The Hotel Galleria is wonderful old palazzo converted to a 10 room hotel situated right on the canal at the Accademia vapareto stop. The rooms may be small and the floors are a bit tilted and uneven. You'll find that the building even moves a bit with the action of the waves as you sip on your morning coffee or tea served in your room on silver service. It all adds up to an amazing way to immerse yourself in the old world culture of the city. What the hotel lacks in the conveniences of a 4 star hotel, it more than makes up for in ambiance, location and the personal care by the wonderful staff. My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in April 2014 and would stay again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldedude1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    148
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
60
266
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Galleria once again and as always it did not disappoint. Stayed in one of the rooms that has a wonderful view of theGrand Canal and the Accademia Bridge. Loved the terrazo floor, antique furniture, and the venetian wall paper. i spend my evenings watching the parade of Venetian life passing by my window. As always, breakfast served in my room on a silver tray makes a great way to start the day. My hats off again to the propieters, Stefano and Luciano, for making my stay perfect. Going back again this December. Can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014.
Room: We stayed in room 5. This was a corner room with a fabulous view of Accademia bridge and the grand canal. Nothing beats watching the sunset on the grand canal. The room was extremely clean and spacious enough. Bed was comfortable and having a sink in the room was very handy. The shared bathroom was at the end of the hall and was kept clean.
Staff: very friendly and helpful in choosing restaurants, sightseeing and concert tickets. They helped us with our bags to our room. Someone was at the desk at all times. If you return to the hotel late at night, ring the bell and they will let you in. Before our trip they replied to emails promptly and gave us directions from the airport.
Location: very convenient. 5 minute walk from Zaterre allilaguna stop. 15 minute walk to st. Marks and rialto bridge. 5 minute walk to peggy guggenheim's museum. There is a decent restaurant right downstairs. From the airport we took the allilaguna blue line to Zaterre stop. It was about 1hour and 15 minutes. Very slow ride but only cost us 15euros each. The water taxi is faster but i think 115euros each.
Breakfast: delivered every morning on a silver platter at whatever time you specify. It includes apricot croissants, bread rolls, yogurt, cheese and jams. This was ample for us. The coffee and hot chocolate were delicious! Enjoyed eating breakfast and watching the traffic on the grand canal.

Tips: highly recommend peggy guggenheims museum, a Vivaldi concert at the Church nearby and Oke restaurant for casual pizza and pasta away from the tourist area! We booked a gondola ride with music on expedia as well as a tour of the islands murano, burano and tocello. Definitely returning to venice!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Canadiantraveler1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel is right on the canal next to the bridge and museum. Althought it is at the end of the canal but still very convenient. From the train station, there are 2 boats stopping at the bridge Gallaria. You get to cruise down the grande canal on your way to the hotel. We have a room facing the canal, the view is amazing. Because it is at the end of the canal, it is a bit quieter than Piazza St. Marco or Ponte Rialto, but the neighborhood is no shortage of places to eat and shop. There is a supermarket 10 minutes walking distance away through nice back canal passing the godola making shop. The staff is nice and helpful. For a hotel, it has the B&B, homey feel. We enjoy staying there and will stay there again if we go back to venice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proton0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel last month, it was the only place I could find that had a room available during the carnival without going into 4 figures for 3 nights! Before we got there, I was a little concerned about the fact that this is a 1 star, but once we arrived, I realised there was nothing to worry about at all!

Yes, the place is small, and yes, some rooms share a bathroom, but if you request a room with a private bathroom you can have one, we did. The room was just a little wider than a double bed, so it was along one wall and you could get out on the other side only, and there was just enough room to get out. The bathroom was compact, but not uncomfortable at all, the shower cubicle was quite spacious actually. There wasn't a bath tub in our room, but I think I've seen reviews that says some rooms to have them, so ask specifically if you want one. The shower gel and hand soap was replaced daily and the room and bathroom were always clean. There is a small table in the room where breakfast is served, and there isn't really space for anything other than the breakfast tray on the table, so ladies - put your makeup away! There is a wardrobe in the room, a radiator and an air conditioning unit, we were there in February so no need for the air conditioning unit for us but it was surprisingly warm in the room and I didn't feel like we needed more heating, so I guess it works. There wasn't a TV in the room, but that didn't bother me when booking it, the only thing we did notice was the lack of background noise, so I guess the windows blocked out the sound well! Speaking of the windows, we had a view of the Accademia Bridge over the Grand Canal from our room window which is pretty awesome for a 1 star!

Location wise, I don't think we could have stayed anywhere better. You can walk around Venice anyway, but being sort of in the middle of it meant we could walk in one direction one day and the other direction the next. Everything was nearby, but I didn't feel surrounded by people all the time which was surprising as we were right by a bridge and a vaporetto stop.

It was very easy to find when we arrived, less than 5 minutes walk from the water bus stop from the airport, and about 30 seconds walk from another vaporetto stop (I don't think the airport bus goes there though).

The staff were helpful and friendly, they checked water bus times for us and they were always very smiley! They all spoke perfect English which was useful as between us our Italian is shocking,

If I was going to go to Venice again, I would definitely look this place up. Enjoy your trip!

Room Tip: All rooms face the canal, some share a bathroom, some have showers only, some have bathtubs I believ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank One_hungry_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is an unique hotel on the second floor of a very old building in the heart of Venice with a few pros and cons. The staff were absolutely great - super helpful. The location is wonderful as it is right on the Grand Canal. To open your window and watch the traffic go by on the canal is a great experience. Ready access to the Accademia bridge, the Vapporetto, etc made the hotel an ideal location. Although other reviews said that they shared a bath, we did not and we had three rooms - all with private baths. The rooms are very small by American standards but seriously, how much do you need to sleep? Great breakfast delivered to your room each morning. Now for the downsides, one of our rooms had a nasty, sour smell. I brought it to the attention of the front desk staff but it wasn't ever addressed. One of the other rooms really needed a good cleaning - significant amount of dirt on the walls. With a little TLC, this place would really shine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Hotel Galleria is right next to the Accademia gallery, and therefore also next to the Accademia water bus stop. It is a 10 minute walk from San Marcos and the rialto bridge and also very close to the University. It is right next to the grand canal. This side of the river is a little bit quieter and offers less expensive dining options.

The hotel is small, there is no swimming pool or sauna but expect an antique furnished room, in keeping with what one would expect from a Venetian building.

Our room was small but cosy, it was ensuite though Italians may miss the bidet. The bed was big and comfortable.The view was pretty good, noise level was moderate as it was on a touristic walk way but that is to be expected. Breakfast was very good and delivered to the bedroom when we wanted it, it included warm croissants, fresh bread rolls, orange juice, a hot beverage (we chose hot chocolate), and a selection of jams and tea bags.

The service was very friendly and the price wasn't bad considering the steep costs during carnival season.

Room Tip: apparently you can get rooms which overlook the grand canal. Some bedrooms have a shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abscondita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#154 of 385 in Venice
638 reviews
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#178 of 385 in Venice
235 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#226 of 385 in Venice
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#35 of 385 in Venice
1,542 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Domus Cavanis
Domus Cavanis
#268 of 385 in Venice
254 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galleria

Property: Hotel Galleria
Address: Dorsoduro 878 / A | Accademia Bridge, 30132 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#136 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Galleria 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 10. This is a small hotel, the only 1 star right on the Grand Canal. Here you'll find a place with charm in the heart of Venice. We'll do our best to make your stay a pleasant one in a clean and welcoming Venetian house. This is the cheapest hotel on the Grand Canal, the perfect location for leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Hotel Venice
Hotel Galleria Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing