We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy room, top location ”
Review of Hotel Galleria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Galleria
Ranked #183 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights in Venice and was very pleased with hotel Galleria. The receptionists were all friendly and willing to give some advice. The hotel is nicely decorated, like you're staying with your Italian family. We stayed in room 2, which is on the side looking at Galleria Accademia and the bridge. This room has a private bathroom. You do hear some noise from the restaurant below but they close at around 23hours so that was no problem for us. Breakfast was excellent, croissants, bread, yoghurt, juice, coffee and so on. Too much for us in the morning. You can choose at what time the breakfast is served in your room. There is a fridge in the hallway with complimentary drinks, which is a nice extra. Location is perfect. Not too busy street, next to public transport stop and bridge over Canal Grande. The neighbourhood is nice too, especially for an evening walk. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jaimy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Galleria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We chose this hotel based on the price and tripadvisor reviews. If you decide to stay here be sure to grab a map at the airport. I would recommend taking the 6 euro bus from the airport to the island and walking to the hotel. It's about a 20 minute walk (over about 10 - 15 bridges) but this is the most economical choice. Look for the yellow signs guiding you to Accademia. There is a water taxi stop a short walk from the hotel but those options are double/triple the price and can take over an hour from the airport. If you prefer a softer bed, this may not be the place for you. We had a hard time falling asleep due to the stiffness of the bed and the quality of the pillows. Also, because the hotel is located on one side of a main bridge, you get a lot of "drunken traffic" late at night. Overall, the hotel is very cute, the location is great, the breakfast served in your room is lovely, but if you prefer soft beds and a silent sleep this isn't the place for you.

Room Tip: Note there are rooms with bathrooms attached and rooms where you have to share bathrooms.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sdsurfkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galleria, Owner at Hotel Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

dear guest,
thanks for the nice review, we always appreciate when our guests take their time to wirte some lines.
We must in this case respond because we think that this review might confuse the readers.

The hotel Galleria is perfectly located at 100 ft from the public boat station, so if you get to Venice by bus from the airport we suggest you to catch the boat line 1 or 2 towards San Marco and get off at the Accademia stop (where we are), it's 7 euro per person but the 20 minutes ride on the Grand Canal is beutiful and the comfort of not crossing 10-15 bridges is priceless.

Regarding the beds, well..some find them hard, some find them soft, some perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

A cheap and cheerful hotel right in the thick of Venice. Galleria is near a vaperetto stop and easy walking distance to the Guggenheim and St Marks. We had a corner room with shared bathroom, which was fine. We loved having the breakfast in our room, the croissants were delicious. Only advice I'd offer is to use the mosquito plug in summer, we discovered it on our second day and slept much better for it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A wonderful small hotel in a fantastic location. This hotel oozes charm from the decor to being served breakfast on a silver tray in your room by Stefano the hotel owner. Stefano is amazing a Venetian that gave us some wonderful tips - Getting lost in Venice and having your own adventure instead of a guided tour was fantastic advice....thank you we will be back.

Room Tip: 10 rooms to choose from
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank td254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Our stay at Hotel Galleria could not have been better. Stefano was extremely welcoming, and all the reception staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

The hotel is in an excellent spot, just over Accademia bridge from the main island, which means its seriously easy to get to everything. You can either go by water along the grand canal to get to St Marco's (5 mins) or walk through all the major sites for about 20 mins depending on how long you choose to take to get there.

The hotel has incredible views. Our room (10) had 2 large windows overlooking the canal and bridge. You couldn't beat the view from here. We could see real Venice, with the canal, gondola stops, restaurants bars, and vibrancy right there in front of you! The decor made the experience very authentic, as it was in plush Italian style, and you could feel the history all around you, given the art was mainly prints of many of the old masters.

The bar directly below does great pizza and have lovely staff. Rest assured you don't have to go far from this hotel to get the best views and food. We also visited a Taverna near by as recommended by the lovely lady at reception, which was great too and very reasonable.

The breakfast was great, and delivered to us when we asked. A totaly luxury to have it in the room. Fresh hot rolls, croissants, yogurt, coffee, and juices were all delicious.

I don't believe you can get better for value, staff, views, location or anything in fact. Basically you should stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ennikat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Situated right on the Academia bridge I booked this hotel for its location and was not disappointed.

On a city break I spend little time in the room so the size and facilities are not important to me. A small breakfast and coffee was delivered to the room each morning, it was a pleasure to watch the city waking up whilst slurping coffee overlooking the canal.

We loved Venice so much we found plenty to do without even seeing any of the main sights, the queues were horrific, so we spent our days eating cichetti and drinking spritz in the sunshine. Took a gondola from right outside the hotel, smashing chap even let me have a go!

If we returned to Venice I would be sure to stay here again!

Room Tip: We sacrificed space for a room on the grand canal and it paid off!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rockinblues1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed in in June 2014, the weather was very hot, we had room 3 with a shared bathroom. We were aware of the shared bathroom and this did not cause too many problems it was kept clean and tidy and we had a sink in our room which has handy. No air con, but had a fan this was ok, but because it was so hot also needed to window open, but we were above a bar and it was quite noisy at night so didn't sleep too well until I found my ear plugs (these are a must if staying in this room.
The location is excellent, basically if you ever get lost just follow signs to the Accademia bridge. It is right on the grand canal with a canal bus stop right out side.
The breakfast was good, good selection of tea and the fresh croissant instead of the normal packet ones was good. There was water and soft drinks available in a fridge which we thought was a nice touch. People have before written bad reviews about all the notices of do's and don't, yes there was alot of these, but it only seemed to be so they could keep a high level of clean and tidiness for all guests so we did not mind these. All the staff were very friends apart from the first lady that was there when we arrived and basically just gave us our room key and that was all. but all other staff were great to chat to

I would recommend getting up early ( we got up at 7ish) and go for a walk round to see all the tourist sites before everyone gets up and descend on Venice, you will get some good photos and we then headed back to the hotel for breakfast at 9am.

There is also a nice restaurant just round the corner called Ristorante San Trovaso we ended up eating here twice the meat platter was good as was the liter of prosecco for 11 euro!

I would also recommend a visit to San Giorgio island and to go up the church tower to get a view of san marco square from the other side.

we didn't want to pay the price for a gondola ride so got a day pass for vaporetto ticket and got on it early so we could get a seat at the back and take in the sites from the canal that way

Room Tip: Room 3 was above the bar so noisy at night take ear plugs
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galleria, Proprietario at Hotel Galleria, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

dear guest,
thank you for the lovely review and the nice compliments.
We wish though to apologize for the reception that was not so friendly as it is usually but we need to explain that the lady that welcomed you was the maid, she's a great worker and a nice person but she doesn't speak any english so she might have seemed rude but she's not.

Anyway we take this opportunity to tell everybody that the hotel staff covers 24 hours but at noon or so we may go out for some lunch and the maid does the reception if needed, please be patient and understand that she's doing her best to welcome you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Agli Alboretti
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#165 of 384 in Venice
247 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Salute Palace
Hotel Salute Palace
#164 of 384 in Venice
59 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#141 of 384 in Venice
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#157 of 384 in Venice
647 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#250 of 384 in Venice
855 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#69 of 384 in Venice
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galleria

Address: Dorsoduro 878 / A | Accademia Bridge, 30132 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
#108 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#135 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £54 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Galleria 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 10. This is a small hotel, the only 1 star right on the Grand Canal. Here you'll find a place with charm in the heart of Venice. We'll do our best to make your stay a pleasant one in a clean and welcoming Venetian house. This is the cheapest hotel on the Grand Canal, the perfect location for leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Hotel Venice
Hotel Galleria Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing