We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Miserable Staff”
Review of Hotel Pausania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Pausania
Ranked #173 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This hotel is in a great location. The hotel itself and the breakfast was okay. I would not recommend room 302 if you have allergies ... the wall is covered in fabric and it is extremely dusty. We left the windows open during the day to have it air out. They didn't have a shower curtain in the room the first night we showered so it was messy and the bathroom was odd... when you stepped in the shower your head could almost touch the ceiling. These things were no big deal but the women who worked at the front desk and helped with breakfast were all very nasty and some wouldn't even acknowledge you or say hi back when you greeted them. Total turn off..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Staci L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pausania
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2013

I travelled with my dragon boat team, Dubai Sea Dragons to participate in the Venice Vogalonga. We chose the hotel as it was in a residential area but close to great restaurants and all the sights and could accommodate 21 guests. We found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating especially when we asked for a very early breakfast at 6am before the Vogalonga on Sunday 19th May. They coped with out requests and sometimes noisy behaviour and even asked us back for next year. A totally charming 14th century Venetian hotel, I will certainly go back.
Helen Schrader
Dubai Sea Dragons

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Dorsoduro is the place to stay in Venice. It is not clogged with tourists, has several wonderful piazzas and the streets are wider than in San Marco. Hotel Pausania could use a little sprucing up but it is really charming and atmospheric with a reasonable price (for Venice)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bostonave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was my first Hotel on my first European holiday and it was a great start. Staff very friendly and helpful. Loved our room. Loved the fact it catered for Aussies like us by providing tea coffe and a kettle in our room. Only Hotel out of 6 we stayed in to do this. I would go back in a heartbeat. Nice breakfast. Thank You

Room Tip: It's a little hard to find but if you do your homework you will be fine. Close to trains if you...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful time in Venice. I was traveling with my daughter. The hotel was safe, clean and the staff were friendly. The location is super two minutes to the water taxi! Easy to get to everything. Our room was a little overheated but the staff did everything they could to accommodate us. Breakfast was adequate. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Pausania is a true Venetian gem. The hotel is full of old school Venetian charm. The staff are really friendly and helpful, even sorting out a free trip to Murano. The rooms are very clean and tidy. Things are a little bit tired here and there but that's Venice! One of the best things about the hotel is the area...Dorsoduro is a busy, lively area but away from the crowds of tourists. It has tonnes of local bars, cafes, restaurants and shops whilst being away from the main tourist madness. It's easy to walk from Dorsoduro to anywhere in Venice and is lovely to escape back to in e evening. The hotel is really picturesque, as is the area. Loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedthecatLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

After looking around a number of Venetian hotels on the internet, we thought the Pausania had an excellent style and a good location, and so we booked two rooms , one for ourselves and one for two friends. The hotel certainly lived up to our expectation. It is an easy walk from the Piazzale Roma and away from the tourist rip-off areas around St Marco and Rialto. The hotel overlooks a quiet canal which joins the Grand Canal next to the Ca' Rezzonico (this is worth a visit and has some very interesting paintings and a reconstructed 18thC pharmacy on its top floor). The hotel staff were all very helpful and friendly and we were able to upgrade one of our rooms because of a problem with the air-conditioning unit. The rooms at the front of the hotel are accessible by an ancient stone staircase which winds around an open courtyard. This might prove challenging for anyone with a minor walking disability but it certainly gives this hotel an added charm. If you like like sleeping with open windows, be prepared for an early morning awakening due to the proximity of church bells - but that applies to most of Venice. Breakfast is served in a room next to the garden. There is a variety of food available including excellent muesli, fresh fruit and coffee. The croissants are sweet and some are filled with jam, but this is the way Italians like them. The garden is not one of the hotel's most attractive features, but the unseasonal Spring weather was too cold to entertain the idea of breakfast al fresco. The rest of the hotel is wonderful and both our rooms had good bathrooms and comfortable beds. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocDoubleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#69 of 384 in Venice
509 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#128 of 384 in Venice
910 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#124 of 384 in Venice
510 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#99 of 384 in Venice
489 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pausania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pausania

Address: 2824 Dorsoduro | Fondamenta Gerardini, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#96 Family Hotel in Venice
#130 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £60 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pausania 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This palace was a rich and magnificent residence of an aristocratic Venetian family, now it is an elegant and refined 3 stars Hotel, completely restored. The Hotel enjoys of an interesting position, preferred by the intellectuals and artists, searching for quiet and inspiration. Inside the Hotel, at the entrance, there is a stoned staircase that goes from the lobby to the second floor, once called "piano nobile", where there are some rooms. The intelligent restoration has effected a correct and balanced compromise between aesthetical demands and the non-renounced functional requirements, essential an hotel that wants to keep step with the times. The rooms, in typical Venetian style,are furnished with elegance and good taste, with all comforts (private bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, cable TV, direct dial telephone, mini-bar, air-conditioned, coffee and thea machine). Our clients can also enjoy of a lightly and roomy sitting-room on the second floor, a bar on the ground floor with a free internet point, and a nice and big veranda overlooking the garden, where the buffet breakfast is served in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Pausania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pausania Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing