We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location location etc”
Review of Hotel Pausania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Pausania
Ranked #164 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Wales U K
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“location location etc”
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Superb location in a great part of Venice
Lots of characterful bars and restaurants nearby
Situated on a very attractive canal and close to lots of interesting sights
Friendly multilingual staff
The breakfast was not great and the garden could be improved at minimal expense
We booked a package with British Airways which was great value
I was concerned that we would end up staying in charmless hotel with poor service......I was wrong
Like another reviewer my wife and I enjoyed the bar ai pugni just along the canal...perfect for a nightcap

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyfreithwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    218
    64
    21
    13
See reviews for
95
249
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I got this place booked through a Groupon deal and we were so happy with it! We loved the location (it's near some great cute restaurants and bars and not touristy at all) and the decor is beautiful and the customer service was absolutely amazing! Everyone was so kind. We experienced "aqua alta" our last day they were prepared for it as well as cleaned everything up as soon as possible. Everything still kept running smoothly as well. Our flight home wasn't until the evening so we were able to leave our bags in the lobby to explore some more.
The only bad thing was that the free wifi didn't reach our room but all we had to was go into the public room just outside of our door to get a better signal. But we didn't mind it so much.
I can't say enough good thing about this hotel! I would definitely go back!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We have just come back from 3 nights stay at this hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again myself, the Staff were very friendly and happy to assist us with information and how to get to places. There english was very good and could answer all our queries. Our room was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean and after hours of walking around venice it was lovely to come back and run a hot bath daily to soak our feet. The hotel is situatied in a nice area out the way down the canal but close enough to get to everywhere on foot great location! Breakfast was just your standard continental but was kept topped up all the time and enjoyable!! All in all really enjoyed our stay here, lovely Hotel!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RedHotSugarMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We enjoyed a 3 night stay at Hotel Pausania in rainy January.The hotel is lovely, in a quiet location away from the bustle of the main tourist areas but with easy access to all the main attractions. It is decorated in a grand, traditional style with brocade drapes and Murano glass chandeliers, the bedroom (in the same style) was very clean and comfortable and it was nice to have a hospitality tray in the room with tea and coffee.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, happy to assist us with information on vaporetta tickets, routes etc. As the weather was so wet we bought 36 hour vaporetta tickets ( from the tabac in the square) which covered travel around Venice and to the islands, we had a very interesting day in Burano and Torcello despite the rain.
This charming hotel is really good value in a city where prices can be eye watering, we would happily return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for 4 nights in January. The staff were welcoming and friendly and spoke very good English. The hotel was well-decorated throughout, with lovely lounge spaces (especially on the first floor), and also had free WiFi and computer access.
I'd requested a room with a canal view, so our room was on the second floor and overlooked the gorgeous front courtyard - with spiralling stone steps to the first floor - and part of the canal. The room was clean, spacious and well-decorated; we enjoyed making use of the bath and the never-ending supply of hot water; ideal after long days exploring the length and breadth of Venice!
The district seemed pretty peaceful in January; the hotel was an easy walk from the Grand Canal stop, Ca' Rezzonico, but we enjoyed the longer walk through the streets to San Marco.
Breakfast was nice - the usual continental fayre, which they kept well-stocked up.
They very kindly looked after our bags for us after checking out for no extra charge.
The hotel definitely exceeded expectations, the historic and well-thought out setting added to the romance of Venice. There's also a great little bar down the street - Osteria ai Pugni - with a great range of Italian wines, friendly staff and a great vibe.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Transcenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Beautiful hotel in a perfect location. We arrived by waterbus (Ca Rezzonico was the closest stop to the hotel - 5 min walk to hotel, 15 euro per person), and left by train (about a 25 min walk, seems longer when hauling heavy bags over the numerous bridges). An easy 25 min walk to San Marco Square. Our room was on the 1st floor (no elevator), was small but adequate for our needs and was beautifully decorated. Wifi was hit and miss in our room, and we found we had more success with it in the common seating area on the 1st floor. A good/varied selection of bread/cheese/meat/yogurt/cereal was provided for breakfast and the staff friendly and professional.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanEB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, and absolutely loved it - it's a great looking building (think rustic Italian rather than marble pillars etc), the room was beautifully decorated, spacious and comfortable, with everything we needed. Breakfast is a generous continental spread, to prepare you for a day of wondering the streets, and the hotel is within 5 mins walk of the Ca Rezzonica water bus stop, and within about 15-20 mins of the main bus terminal, plus it's not too much of a trek to St. Mark's square either. If returning to Venice I'd be more than happy to stay here again. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful too, and they were happy to look after our luggage on our last day there so that we could wander the streets unhampered until we had to head to the airport.

Room Tip: There is no elevator in this hotel, and the stairs are quite steep/awkward - no problem to us, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#73 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#154 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#131 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#174 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#123 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pausania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pausania

Property: Hotel Pausania
Address: 2824 Dorsoduro | Fondamenta Gerardini, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Family Hotel in Venice
#131 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pausania 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This palace was a rich and magnificent residence of an aristocratic Venetian family, now it is an elegant and refined 3 stars Hotel, completely restored. The Hotel enjoys of an interesting position, preferred by the intellectuals and artists, searching for quiet and inspiration. Inside the Hotel, at the entrance, there is a stoned staircase that goes from the lobby to the second floor, once called "piano nobile", where there are some rooms. The intelligent restoration has effected a correct and balanced compromise between aesthetical demands and the non-renounced functional requirements, essential an hotel that wants to keep step with the times. The rooms, in typical Venetian style,are furnished with elegance and good taste, with all comforts (private bathroom with bathtub, hairdryer, cable TV, direct dial telephone, mini-bar, air-conditioned, coffee and thea machine). Our clients can also enjoy of a lightly and roomy sitting-room on the second floor, a bar on the ground floor with a free internet point, and a nice and big veranda overlooking the garden, where the buffet breakfast is served in the morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Pausania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pausania Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing