We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and Accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensione La Calcina
Ranked #34 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming and Accomodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

La Calcina is a delightful hotel in a great location. The staff was extremely kind and helpful with any of my many questions. The room was comfortable and had a nice view. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful with many choices. The laundry service was efficient and reasonable as to price and my items were ironed beautifully.
I really felt that the staff cared about my interest in Venice and helps me with maps, guides and reservations. I would most definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Helpful?
Thank violincpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    470
    257
    48
    16
    13
See reviews for
86
396
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We just came back from 4 days at La Calcina. It is the very best location, you can walk easily to San Marco, use the water buses, I would stay here again. The rooms are small and musty, and our room had a view of a wall. The breakfasts are great. The restaurant is also great and the person I remember best with the greatest love for his job is the head maitre 'd. He goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome. The rest of the staff while always polite are very reserved, seem uninformed about tours, etc and can not be used as a concierge. Despite all this, I would go back again, because the location is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Helpful?
Thank FemelWita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

A delightful hotel in the perfect location, quiet, comfortable and a short walk or boatride from everything Venice has to offer. The view of Giudecca across the water from the rooms with a view is stunning.

Breakfast is very missable, but there is a cafe a few doors along the Zattere that does the ideal 'stand at the counter, slugging back excellent coffee among a crowd of locals on their way to work' thing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonWanderingStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed in room 8. No view which is fine as we spend very little time in our room. Bed comfortable, room clean and bathroom spotless. 2 fold out luggage stands which we appreciate. I hate having my bag on the floor. Hanging space in a wardrobe and a desk and chair.
Staff friendly and always helpful. Hotel convenient to vaporetto and airport ferry. Area quiet at night and we slept undisturbed. Didn't have dinner here but breakfast simple but very good. A boiled egg only cooked option but lovely bread, ham, cheese and pastries. Also cereal and yogurt.

Had tea on outside deck over the water every afternoon. Served yummy shortbread cookies and great to just sit and enjoy the view.

Reception will lend plastic overshoes so check with them if you need them on high tide days.

Only downside is that I like to open window for fresh air but the extractor fan for kitchen is directly below the window so a bit noisy and kitchen smells.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluenanou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stocbridge
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I'm astonished that the reviews are so good! We loathed it. We had a second floor room overlooking the Guidecca, pretty view, but tiny room with rubbish shower, not redecorated in YEARS it seems, and tatty furniture that reminded me of boarding school. No lift and no help up or down with luggage.

Price outrageous at Euros 330/night and we bitterly regretted not having booked enough months ahead to have been able to stay on in the Hotel Flora (same price) in San Marco district. Convenient for Zattere but the vaporetti ran to the stop only 80 yards away until 2 a.m. and restarted at 6 a.m. so it was like dossing down in the engine room! Never again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

La Calcina is a wonderful place with much to offer the weary traveler. To begin with, it is well-located, just a short & interesting stroll to the Vaporetto. Altho the rooms are somewhat small, they are bright, clean, comfortable & well-appointed. Our corner room had a truly wonderful view of the Giudeca & the passing boats, which offered additional delight & indeed reward. We were also most pleased with the restaurant: its service, attention to detail, & its delightful menu (breakfast & dinner). We were never rushed in any way. Service was excellent, as was our stay. We will return.... And, oh, by the way, how marvelous to have stayed in the once home of John Ruskin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agolfpro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great location with our room having views over the Giudecca and looking down on the dining area on a pontoon. It is very convenient with the vaporetto stop close by and easy walk to the Accademia gallery and bridge. Great way to start the day with breakfast on the pontoon looking out over the Giudeca with nice buffet although the omelet I ordered was not good. We were also a little disappointed with dinner in the restaurant but you don't go to Venice for the food!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregK2A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#33 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#19 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#6 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#145 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione La Calcina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione La Calcina

Property: Pensione La Calcina
Address: Campiello de la Calcina Dorsoduro 780 | Zattere, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensione La Calcina 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also 5 apartments available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pensione La Calcina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione La Calcina Hotel Venice
Venice La Calcina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing