We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, nice views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pensione La Calcina
Ranked #35 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
182 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, nice views!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights in July, 2014. Our room was #34, which provided great views of the incredible boat traffic in the lagoon.

The room was small, the bathroom was adequate, the shower was tiny, and as another reviewer noted, why do these places keep the bidet? FYI, the wi-fi worked well in the room.

This place has a 5th floor terrace that you can "reserve" for a period of time (hourly, maybe?). The terrace has excellent views, and on a fair weather day, it can't be beat.

The breakfast was nothing special.

Lorella at the front desk was great, and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 82-ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    258
    49
    16
    14
See reviews for
87
400
87
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

La Calcina is the perfect home base from which to explore Venice. The best part was having a water taxi deliver us from Marco Polo airport right to the front door. Transfering our bags couldn't have been easier. The staff were attentive and helpful and the restaurant a great place to have breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you like a hotel that is not soulless but has a feel of being family owned(I don't know whether it is!) you can't do better than this. It is perfectly situated away from the hoardes of people but with fab views and right on a large canal. The restaurant is on a floating deck on the water and to sit and watch all the boats going past could leave you sitting here very happy for a few hours. I had a very small room but it was so charming with a little balcony that I was very happy. Wonderful helpful staff and I will definitely go back there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We chose La Calcina as I had stayed there previously with my children and was impressed then; and so had no hesitation in going ahead and booking again. The rooms are classic Venician in style, utilising vintage furnishings and are clean with a good size bathroom. All of the staff both front of house and behind the scenes are welcoming and very friendly; and willing to give any help and advise on any topic. There breakfasts are sufficiently varied to cater for all needs and it is excellent to be able to use the floating restaurant in the morning sun. The menu for an evening meal isn't cheap but the food and wine selection and well worth the expense. An excellent choice as it is within easy walk of the centre of Venice, and within 2 minute walk of a bus stop and a great view over the Giudecca canal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

La Calcina is at an excellent location, as it is removed from the hustle and bustle of the more touristy parts of Venice, while it still fairly close to everything (via the Zattere station, which is less than a minute's walk away). It boasts a beautiful on-the-water terrace, where you can enjoy your breakfast (and lunch and dinner, if you choose to do so) by the water with breathtaking views of Giudecca across the canal. The entire building is very traditional in style, which makes you feel more as if you're staying in someone's home than in a hotel. We were lucky enough to get the last room available (we booked last minute), at the top floor (4th), with two large windows overlooking the canal. Although somewhat horrified upon arrival (late in the evening) by the absence of an elevator (for future reference they have informed us that they are in the process of installing one), we found the "climb" much less daunting than initially perceived. I can imagine it being an issue though for some guests, so before reserving a room, make sure to inquire what floor you'll be on and whether they have installed the elevator yet. Overall, it was a very pleasant and comfortable stay (the staff was also very accommodating and friendly), so I would be happy to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: I am guessing not all rooms have a view of the canal, so be sure to request one. And book well in ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Hotel rooms in Venice are simply expensive - very expensive; and Calcina is no exception. As a room we felt we had gone back twenty years - brown, small room limited bathroom space (who today has a bidet and a nylon shower curtain?), tiny tv on a shelf, great view of a wall. At 230-250 euro per night it is pretty obvious where the profits are going.
On the plus side - cleanliness was excellent, bed very comfortable, breakfast on the canal pavillion was excellent and the location was very very good.

Venice itself was just fantastic - we will be back for the next special occasion. Would we stay again at the Calcina? Probably not. Look for a similar centrally located hotel or pension with bigger and more modern rooms, or even pay a little more for an out of the way larger-chain hotel such as the Hilton. Better still, hang on the web and snap-up any room on special offer. We might even include Airbnd or similar to find the right spot.

Room Tip: Do waht you can to beat down on exhorbitant prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antiblackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We enjoy visiting Venice for short breaks, and after 3 years it was time for another. Once again we chose La Calcina for its location, its comfortable ambiance, and the sheer quality of the experience. We again selected a room with a view up and across the Giudecca canal, and although the room seemed smaller than we remembered, we again enjoyed the views in air-conditioned splendour. But to get that room we had to book 9 months ahead - this place is that popular! Dorsoduro seems far removed from the usual frantic tourist areas, but with a ticket for the vaporetti which stop just outside La Calcina, anywhere is in reach. The staff are of the same high quality as before, being friendly and helpful despite my appalling attempts at speaking Italian, and the breakfasts remain as good and comprehensive as ever.
La Calcina is described as a 'pensione' - a guest house. It is far more than that!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#35 of 385 in Venice
1,542 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#7 of 385 in Venice
628 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#154 of 385 in Venice
638 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pensione Accademia - Villa Maravege
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pensione Seguso
Pensione Seguso
#270 of 457 in Venice
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione La Calcina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione La Calcina

Property: Pensione La Calcina
Address: Campiello de la Calcina Dorsoduro 780 | Zattere, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensione La Calcina 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also 5 apartments available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Pensione La Calcina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione La Calcina Hotel Venice
Venice La Calcina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing