We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, pleasant hotel between S.Marco and Biennale”
Review of Hotel La Residenza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Residenza
Ranked #230 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
“Good value, pleasant hotel between S.Marco and Biennale”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is our second time at La Residenza and the staff is always very nice and the hotel is clean and spacious by Venetian standards. For us it's perfect because it is easy walking distance to the Arsenale and Giardini is not too much farther while at the same time you're not too removed from S.Marco and the rest of the city. The only downside is the coffee at breakfast is terrible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TMIAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    98
    33
    23
    19
See reviews for
58
123
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Was great location, quiet and is a beautiful building.

Only downfall was our first stop in Italy on our honey moon and requested if we could have a room looking the gardens if possible instead ended up getting a room on the reception floor where the also serve breakfast.Well was a little uncomfortable coming out of your room when there is guests having breakfast next to your door.Could have at least moved the tables away from the door as its a big dining room.Think even the guests eating felt uncomfortable as they could see in the room.

Apart from that a nice place.

Room Tip: Dont take the reception floor room unless you want to have a breakfast table at your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pauls019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Hotel La Residenza is situated about a 10 minute walk from the Piazza St.Marco but in a much less busy/touristy square just up from the water front. Its a beautiful old palace, with a spacious lobby with all the original architectural detail.
The hotel is of a very good value considering its situation, we payed around 100 euros a night including breakfast for two people in one room. The room was really clean and had everything you would need including wifi - which I think is great considering its quite a simple hotel.
I saw a lot of people had complained about the AC, because it was switched off during the day. I didn't find that this was a problem, and the room was always of a comfortable temperature. The beds were also very comfy - I slept like a log all four nights, even though we looked onto the square (something I saw people had also complained about).
The staff were very friendly and always happy to help.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone going to stay in Venice, it will be my go to hotel if ever I am in Venice again.

Room Tip: Room 221 has wifi as it is on the same level as the lobby, which I believe some of the other rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This pensione was recommended by a local Venetian guide, the friend of an Italian friend. It is a gem: it appeals to those who want a traditional Venetian palazzo-style hotel and a quiet and elegant base. The salone which doubles as a reception room and dining-room is astonishingly beautiful; the rooms are very clean but plain and simple. It is very close to San Marco but tucked away in a quiet square.

Room Tip: The front rooms overlook the square; they cost a little more but are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClassicalBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband & I and 2 friends spend 3 nights at the Hotel La Residenza last week. While the hotel is in a great location, the facilities very nice, it was warm in Venice last week. We asked if we could turn on the air conditioner but they said no because it was "not time yet." So, to sleep comfortably, we had to keep the windows open at night - a mistake! The windows have no screens and due to the location Venice (all that water!) our room filled with mosquitoes. As a result, we returned to the U.S. covered by mosquito bites. Our recommendation is to use this hotel either in the winter when you can keep your windows closed or in the summer when you can turn on the air conditioning!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I went to Italy a weekend ahead of business meetings. Decided on 1 night in Venice. Found this hotel online and it was a real bargain..only 115 Euros, just off the Grand Canal but tucked away on a little courtyard opposite the church where Vivaldi was Christened. It's a 15th Century palazzo with enormously high ceilings, an amazing common room with paintings dating to the 17th century and old Venetian furnishings. A welcoming hostess was more than happy to have me join her in the living room, where her reception desk was set up, while I munched on some cheese and fruit and baguette I'd brought in with me late in the afternoon when I arrived tired and hungry. It felt as though I'd walked into the past but the room was well equiped with a strong shower, comfy bed, a Murano glass chandelier (!) and a beautiful deep window that opened to the courtyard down below where old ladies sat gossiping in the sun under a tree and kids kicked a soccer ball with their grandpa...it was away from the commercial hustle and bustle and I really loved the relaxed peaceful vibe. I didn't eat any breakfast there as it seemed pretty basic so can't comment on that but it was included in the rate. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: facing the courtyard on 2nd floor for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My teenage daughters and I loved staying at this charming palace from the 15th century. The main salon brought you right back to centuries past and made you feel as if you were guest at a grand home. From the minute you enter the charming plaza and open the huge wood door you are transported to another time. The breakfast was ok but the coffee was great. The room they gave us was one floor down from the main salon and had a bit of a low ceiling. I would suggest requesting an upper floor. Overall it was a lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#93 of 385 in Venice
823 reviews
Castello
Nuovo Teson
Nuovo Teson
#135 of 385 in Venice
424 reviews
Castello
Hotel  Fontana
Hotel Fontana
#95 of 385 in Venice
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#45 of 385 in Venice
1,178 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ca' Formenta
Hotel Ca' Formenta
#124 of 385 in Venice
628 reviews
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#92 of 385 in Venice
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Residenza

Property: Hotel La Residenza
Address: Campo Bandiera E Moro Castello 3608, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#154 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Residenza 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the poetry of Venice staying at an elegant Historic Residence, in the vicinity of San Marco Square, just a short distance from Riva degli Schiavoni and the ancient works of the Arsenal. Located in the characteristic Castello district, the Hotel La Residenza offers refined, comfortable lodgings at convenient prices.The rooms at this 2 star Hotel in Venice are quiet and attentively renovated, located in the prestigious 15th century Gritti-Badoer Palazzo. This residence, which once belonged to noble Venetian families, stands out for its elegant Gothic-Byzantine architecture and finely restored interiors, featuring period furnishings and 18th century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residenza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing