We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit messy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Messner Palace
Ranked #322 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
694 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 801 helpful votes
“A bit messy”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Apart from the constant mess in the hallway to our room all morning (see photo), it´s a good location if a little over priced. We paid EU408 for three nights, breakfast included. We stayed in room 9. It´s a small corner room with two windows facing two different canals (see my pics)... pretty cool really if you can handle the decor. The walls are lined in a red and yellow striped fabric with red carpet, red bed spread and red curtains to match. To complete the effect they installed an intricate glass chandelier on the ceiling. It feels a bit like staying in a bordello, which I didn´t mind..lol. Water pressure is OK and the lighting is excellent.

The continental breakfast was pretty good as far as continental breakfasts go. Great croissants, nice grapefruit juice, good natural yoghurt and a cuppachino machine to die for. For dinner the restaurant was popular, probably because there are few other choices in the area of an evening. We found it overpriced and food badly cooked.

The hotel would have been relatively easy to find if we had been given some directions. That´s why I will give you some now, just in case you decide to stay there. From the station (or wherever you are) take a boat bus number 1 to Salute (EU7). There is a big domed cathedral at this stop (Saint Maria de Salute), which later you can use as a landmark when finding your way back to the hotel. Now you just walk about 100 metres up the small canal alongside the cathedral until you come to a little bridge crossing the canal. Drag your suitcases over the bridge and keep walking another 100 metres more or less and the hotel appear in front of you.

Don´t wait to be greeted when you walk through the door.
When finally I walked through the door with my two suit cases, I found two surly men behind the counter. One was on the phone and the other had his head buried in paperwork. I stood quietly waiting for some acknowledgment of my arrival. Then my girlfriend came in with her suitcases, but still these two men appeared not to have noticed our arrival. I´d guess that we stood like this for a full three minutes before the man with his head down finally acknowledged us... even more incredible because there was no one else in the room. One of the men later turned out to be fairly friendly and tried to be helpful. The other, a thin younger man with glasses is quite short, almost to the point of being rude.

The free internet turned out to be quite problematic. It required a new password every 48 hours, and was good only for one computer. It didn´t work in the room and kept resetting itself. A bigger problem for us was the crack in the bed, between the two single mattresses they used to make up a queen size. Oh yes, and the TV. When I asked at reception if there were any English speaking channels, I was told they had BBC and one or two movie channels. We spent over an hour surfing through the hundreds of Italian channels but never managed to find one channel in English. They could have saved us this agony if they´d just told us the truth.

Although the location is good, I believe there is better value out there. My tip is not to leave your booking too late. At least for the summer season you should try to book several months ahead, or you might end up in a messy place like this, as I did.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    252
    139
    59
    86
See reviews for
163
301
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The hotel is strangely split into 2 buildings so if, like us, you are in the annex 2 doors down, you feel a bit detached from the hotel. The rooms are a good standard for the price and very clean. However, we asked for twin beds and were given 2 beds which were joined together so that we could not separate them and I therefore ended up on the couch! Breakfast was quite reasonable but no waiting staff present so impossible to ask for anything you needed. Our main gripe was the lack of hospitality - we arrived in Venice at 9pm and were checked in by the manager. The Hotel has a restaurant and we asked for a table but were told they were now closed. As many diners were still there and the advertised closing time is 9pm we were only minutes too late - I don't think this was a good start to our holiday! He could have offered at least something, and for this reason we did not return to eat there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniebrook
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel is in a lovely little canal off the Grand Canal just one stop across from St Marks Square and is a lovely quiet spot. Breakfast was good quality, the room was small but we were in the annexe but was clean and we were only in it to sleep as there was just too much to see and do around Venice. The restaurant also served lunch and dinner which was of a good standard. Would definately stay here again just for the location.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel if you want a better room but you will pay more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We spent three days at the Messner during a really freezing cold few days, our room was always warm, clean and tidy,the only good points really. The breakfast room was cold in the mornings, one afternoon we asked for coffee which seemed to be a chore for the employee as she wanted us to wait while she finished her hoovering, no interest seemed to be shown towards the guests, a few times we walked through the reception and no-one even spoke to us, other times with Italian hotels we have found people to be friendly and interested in what was going on, on reflection we see why this hotel has only two stars. We stayed in room 1; the room to be avoided! it is right above reception, we heard everyone coming and going and from around 6.30am reception staff could be heard talking and banging around, all in all a big disappointment on previous Italian trips. Hotel Messner needs to up its game!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimandJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Very good location for the price offered. Pleasant stuff, free WiFi access (unless stated 2E/hour). The walls design in the room is quite impressive and looks like stylish 19-th century one :)

WiFi hardly accessible from corner room. No signs of the Hotel in the near streets, only one outside of the entrance on the building - the coordinates from booking.com were useful for our navigator.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dombrik81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Hotel Messner is a nice hotel in a very nice and quiet Dorsoduro area of Venice.
This relaxing and artsy neighhourhood makes a nice escape from the many tourists in San Marco without being very far from the action. The hotel is located a short walk from the Salute Vaporetto stop as well as close to the Traghetto stop that will take you across the Canal Grande. We had a room in the Annex that was average size and was clean. Breakfast was included and had a good selection of food including cereal, yogurt, meat and cheese. We had dinner at the hotel on one evening that was very good. I had sausage and polenta and my wife had spinach and ricotta cannelloni. Price for the room was also very reasonable, especially for Venice.
The best part of being in Venice is getting lost while walking through the many neighbourhoods. We would stay at Hotel Messner again, especially because we enjoyed being in a neighbourhood away from the tourist scene.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We found this hotel in our search for a last-minute room in Venice.
The hotel is conveniently located five minutes walking from La Salute church, where there is also the boat stop. We arrived directly from the train station (line 1).
We realized that there is a three stars hotel in the main building, while the cheaper rooms are located in a near structure. Room was ok, overlooking a garden. It was silent and extremely clean. Heating was ok as well. Bathroom was tiny, but water was hot and good towels were provided. We couldn't make the TV work though.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant in the main building. There was a good selection of pastries, fruit, jogurt, teas etc..
The staff was kind and extremely helpful, we had an enjoable stay at Messner.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Salute Palace
Hotel Salute Palace
#241 of 385 in Venice
94 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#151 of 385 in Venice
638 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#226 of 385 in Venice
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Domus Cavanis
Domus Cavanis
#268 of 385 in Venice
254 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#331 of 385 in Venice
241 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Tre Archi
Hotel Tre Archi
#243 of 385 in Venice
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Messner Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Messner Palace

Property: Hotel Messner Palace
Address: Rio Terra Catecumeni, 216, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Messner Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Messner Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing