We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, clean and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Messner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Messner
Ranked #254 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Paris, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I was looking for a hotel inside the city and close to central district. Reading the comments, I was a little bit afraid to stay in the annexe. Forget everything, the annexe are really a good place to stay, of course, you do not book a room for a romance, at 40€ it's a amazing deal in Venice where everything is skyrocketing on summer. Rooms are small, but you can still put your luggage, everything is clean, quiet, of course, just a small window heading the next apartment 3m away, but really central and I would definitely recommend to stay here

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    225
    126
    50
    73
See reviews for
138
269
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baselgas, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Me and y friend book this hotel by booking.com, one single and one double, The single room was provided up to the far on the second floor and the double room was on the ground floor. the hotel has two or three building. The room was clean but I hardly can open the window becasue there was cannel behiend, brakfast was supper, the guy from reception was very helpful. while checking out the staff said there is a city tax 1 Euro per person, it is nothing but they should have to inform while check in. The room was small but supper clean and the toilet and bathroom was excllent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranf e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

This was the second time our family group of 7 (3 parents and 4 adult children) stayed at Hotel Messner. We originally chose it because the reviews on TripAdvisor and other sites were quite positive and the price was very good. We arrived in the morning, so our rooms were not ready, but they willingly stored our luggage while we explored Venice. When we returned to the hotel later, we were very pleasantly surprised by our rooms, which were in the annex. Both rooms (40 & 43) were very clean and nicely decorated; 40 overlooked a small canal and 43 overlooked a very pretty garden area. The location is great--very close to the Santa Maria della Salute Church which is one vaporetto stop from San Marco. It's also a brief walk from Accademia Bridge. So it's close to the action but actually in a very quiet neighborhood. The next morning when we had to leave early for the airport, we went into the hotel's restaurant around 7:30 am (breakfast is included). Although it did not officially open until 8 am, the woman working there very kindly let us sit and brought us coffee, tea, orange juice, croissants, rolls, jellies and yogurts. We all left very satisfied! If we return to Venice again (which we certainly hope to), we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms 40 and 43 in the annex were clean, nicely decorated and had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newjerseytraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

stayed in this hotel as location seemed to be close to most attractions. When we arrived, l had asked for early check in but room was not ready. This really was n it a issue but also asked for main hotel and we got put in the annex. After reading reviews l was a but worried what we were going to end up with but pleasantly surprised. Big room, very clean. Shower was hot but there was no hook so had to hold it. Breakfast was ok, if you were not first then the food was away and not getting replaced but for what we paid for 3 nights we did not complain. The annex was quiet and not alot of noise so really happy over all with hotel. Ir is tucked away a bit but we found it no bother with a map. Would go back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chic-sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baumholder, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The staff was helpful, the location was excellent, the price was wonderful, the rooms were spotless. My only complaint is the shower, it was in very poor condition. Overall great experience and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I had an amazing experience in Hotel Messner. The room was good and really clean. The shower a little small but that didn't bother me. The A/C worked really well. Location was a but far from the train station but close to a water bus and tourist attraction. The staff were extremely helpful and kind.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited as a family during the half term break. It was a return visit to Venice and this hotel for my husband and I, but for our adult children it was a first visit. The Hotel Messner is perfect if you want a quiet place to retreat to after the hubbub of the tourist trail.It is based near the 1& 2 Vaporetta stop at Salute making it a joy to walk to and from the bus.This also proved handy for an early departure on the Saturday as the No. 2 terminates at the bus depot. The staff are very friendly, the breakfast more then adequate and the rooms comfortable and clean with Morano glass,brocaded walls and marble very much in evidence in the old part. The Messner is based a short walk away from the old gondola boatyard on S.Trovaso. I can honestly say we would all go back both to the city and this hotel tomorrow. Enjoy Venice!

Room Tip: Ask for the old hotel if you want the authentic Venetian shutters with muslin hangings and either g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#144 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#327 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Salute Palace
Hotel Salute Palace
#238 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Domus Cavanis
Domus Cavanis
#266 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#233 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#161 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Messner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Messner

Property: Hotel Messner
Address: Rio Terra Catecumeni, 216, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Messner 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Hotel Messner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing