We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Paganelli
Nearby Hotels
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$409
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$418
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$384
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$347
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$313
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,013)
Filter reviews
1,013 results
Traveller rating
406
457
106
24
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
457
106
24
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingperfect locationgrand canalsan zaccaria stoplagoon view roomrooftop terracewater taxibridge of sighsst mark's squareriva degli schiavoniseparate buildingdoge's palacewhere breakfast is servedblue lineside streetcroissantsroom number
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 1,013 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed in the annex building around the corner from the main hotel, our room was nice and modern but very small. The shower was very powerful and the room was quiet (except for the church bells!) because our windows looked out onto an alley off Schiavoni as opposed to the main street itself. Breakfast was good although no hot food options and not quite enough seating for all guests by about 8.30am. Drinks in the bar on the ground floor of the annex building were reasonably priced and there is a terrace in the main building with a good view. On the first night the receptionist kindly made a dinner reservation for us at a great restaurant with a lovely outdoor terrace. We would probably try a different hotel next time but we did have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissDMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Superb location - as everyone states, walk straight off water bus or taxi and its right in front of you! Rooms clean, rustic but modern. Can see why some reviews say on the small side but quite ample for what we required out of a hotel room! Only thing to say - no coffee/tea making facilities in rooms if that bothers you! Otherwise faultless. Reception staff pleasant, courteous and informative, couldn't have been more helpful, e.g suggestions of places to go, directions to specific restaurants, getting around, local information, storing luggage on departure day etc. Tasty breakfast served in annex - basic continental.
Lovely hotel and very good value for it's location, made our stay in Venice very easy, stress free, enjoyable and a city break to remember for ever!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

As others have noted, the location is great. There is a lot to be said for being able to see the hotel from the vaporetto and walk right to it. Breakfast in the annex was good. I liked the self-service coffee machine with several coffee options. The bathroom was very modern and a good size. But, I'm only giving it a "4" due to the size of our bedroom. Yes, I know "hotel rooms in Europe are small" and "we don't spend much time in our room anyway", but we had to remove all items from the desk and stow the chair completely under the desk in order to have room to open our luggage. Also, there was about a foot of room at the foot of the bed and maybe slightly more room on the other side of the bed. We found ourselves crawling over or walking on the bed to get to the other side, and we are not large people. I will admit, though, that I booked the cheapest room category. Surely the other room types are larger.

Room Tip: # 601 is extremely small, on the first floor and with virtually no view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaGail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We decided that because we were not going to spend much time in the hotel and be out walking around we were going to save a few dollars and stay at a 3 star hotel in a good location. I found this hotel and it appeared to have some good reviews here and elsewhere.

As we entered the hotel, my wife (small in stature and usually very coordinated) happened to slip and fall on the entry step into the hotel. No staff member acknowledge it, attempted to help her, or assist with her bags. That didn't start our stay off very well. You would have thought someone would have at least acknowledged the event. She was sore but okay.

See notes below about the room and crowds, but with our initial impression of the room, the crowds and the event above, we actually spent our first couple hours walking around the area, taking in the sites and checking out several nicer hotels (granted some were 4 and 5 star) where we checked to see if they had availability for the time we were in Venice. They were all booked as it was heavy tourist season. Had any of them been available, we would have switched. That wasn't an option, so we sucked it up and stayed for the weekend.

Here are our comments:

Location
Hotel Paganelli is right off San Marco-Zaccharria stop on the Vaporetto. It's an main stop on the Canal and direct routes straight to and from the Train station and Murano. It's also a very short walk to Palazzo San Marco, shopping, 15 mins to Rialto or 20-30 minute stroll up the much quieter neighborhoods around and Ca D'Oro, Fondamente Nove, and Ospedele stops. Walk, water taxi, vaporetto or gondola, you can easily get wherever you want to go. Because of it's location there are tourist crowds flooding the piazza directly outside the front door of the hotel and restaurant. It's a very busy spot, especially for large tourist groups and vendors peddling useless $%#!. If you're looking for location and don't mind the mayhem, this is a great location. A couple commenters have noted difficulty finding the front door. It's a bit obscured by the surrounding tables to the restaurant but it is under the large sign. And lastly, the hotel is located where the cruise ship enter Venice. They pass by right outside your window. Some may enjoy it, but next time I'd prefer to stay further up the Grand Canal or in off the canal.

Room
We stayed in room 207 located at the front of the hotel with a very nice view of the water across. As noted, because the room has a direct water view, it's also just a couple floors up and the crowds are right outside your window. It is not a quite room with a water view. That said, the windows closed up pretty tight and we slept well. Upon entry of the room it felt a little tired, musty and almost a little dirty. And the beds appeared old and tired. We quickly removed the bed spread. It was sufficient in size with the basic closet, safe, bathroom and shower. Shower head was broken but worked and half the shower door is missing, so it made showering a little difficult without spraying water all over the floor.

Service
It's pretty much a self service hotel. No baggage assistance. Make your own dinner reservations. Note: We asked about making dinner reservations and that we had a list of places we were looking to go to. We were told that most places opened between 6p and 7p and it was best to call then. We asked if they would make a reservation for us and were told they do not provide that service, it was up to us to make our own reservations. Yet another surprise, even with a 3-star hotel. They changed the sheets (we think) and the restaurant did deliver a couple glasses of wine to the rooftop terrace, which was nice. For that, I give service a 2. Other than that, there wasn't any service.

Restaurant(s)
Because we wanted to get out and explore, we only had breakfast one morning. While it's not directly in the main building, it's only a few steps around the corner – certainly not an inconvenience. The food was simple and okay. Unremarkable, but nothing to complain about.

We followed a tip from our chef friend who grew up in Lucca and told us the food in Venice can be really bad because of all the tourists, only go in places where most or all of the people are speaking Italian. It was good advice and we had great food experiences. The restaurant at the hotel did not fit the description, so we didn't even try it.

Tip: Reservations are needed to get into some of the better locals restaurants like Osteria alle Testiere, Al Mascaron, Vini da Gigio, Da Fiore and Al Covo. Some are booked out a week or more. Make a reservation at least one week ahead to ensure you get in.

Miscellaneous
Wifi did not work in the room, but did work on the rooftop terrace. On Friday evening wifi went down and was not going to be repaired until Monday, so that was a little annoying. These days, free dependable Wifi should be a standard in a 3 star hotel. As others have stated, bring a LAN device to get connected.

What pretty much summed it up was the nice black leather information book on the desk…that was empty, no information.

On our last day, we packed up and brought our luggage down to the front desk. As I approached I asked if there was somewhere we could store our bags for a few hours while we were out. The response was "do you have cash for the city tax?". Our bags were eventually taken to a closet behind the front desk. Then we asked if there was a place close by where we could buy a couple quick nice gifts of wine, pasta and olive oil. We were sent to a Coop – essentially a supermarket – about 10 mins walk away. On our way back we noticed a very nice little wine shop that also sold olive oil and pasta right around the corner from the hotel. Literally steps from the place.

Overall, this place frustrates me because they just don't seem to care about what they have. They seem to sit back on their location. It's got the bones of what could be a great place. With a very small investment in time, money, and care this could be a very nice little hotel in a great location.

Unfortunately, I could not and would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gk01970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

A small friendly hotel in a wonderful position. We shared the 4 bed family room,overlooking the internal courtyard. The room was very clean and the bathroom spacious. Breakfast was taken in the annexe to the hotel and was surprisingly good with plenty of choice,and far better than we expected. The staff were pleasant and very helpful and gave us details of good restaurants and made the bookings for us. The cherry on the cake was the lovely little rooftop terrace which had stunning views across the lagoon. Would not hesitate to rebook the Paganelli,as the price was very reasonable and the location (only a couple of doors down from the Danieli) was fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grannyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews