We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse 4 stars hotel i ever been to”
Review of Palazzo del Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo del Giglio
Ranked #81 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Even the hotel itself is perfectly situated our room was totally different from the pics on booking.com. the smell was like they were smoking in the room for last 20 years. the bathroom was very old and quite dirty as well as the room itself. the breakfast was too modest for 4 starts hotel. if you are ok about getting 2 stars paying for 4 this option will suit you perfectly

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ekaterina012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

The hotel was nice, clean, friendly. Typical for Venice, it is a conversion from a some other use many years ago. Some rooms are small, others more spacious. All the rooms are different. We had a small 2 Rm junior suite w ktichen to fit 2 adults + i 11 yr old. Good location. Spent 4 days. Its a short distance walking from the water taxi drop off to the hotel. (we took a water taxi to and from the airport) That made it real easy, quick, and a bit of fun going down the canals to get there. Breakfast room very nice. Good food. Many choices. Continental. Friendly, helpful staff. Bit of a hike to the Biennial Art area (to the east). But not far by Venice walking standards. Many other art venues nearby. Away from the huge crowds that come off the tour boats. Overall, good location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChuckOldBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We get a small room (Number 103). I guess the other rooms are bigger (because of the 4 stars ranking). Our room was located on the backside (very quite) and we could enjoy a nice terrace. The bathroom has a lack of space for our private items. A good idea: remove this useless bidet and install a little commode for this purpose. Good breakfast, but why cheese slices in Italia???
The place is romantic, the hotel staff is perfect and the location is great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agni1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This year it was a second time to stay in 'Giglio'. Hotel is very close to Piazza San Marco but still in very quiet area. It is also good conected with vaporetto and surrounded by some good restaurants and shopping. The hotel is charming and it is a welcoming place with very helpful staff. Breakfast is simple but fair enough.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

This is a beautifully stylish and discreetly efficient hotel in as good a location as one could wish in the San Marco district of Venice. The hotel is on the Campo del Giglio, directly off the Grand Canal and right between the two important "squares" of San Marco and San Stefano. It is ideally situated for easy access to the many of the most important attractions in Venice - including St Mark's Cathedral, the Doge's Palace, La Fenice and the fascinating stretch of the Grand Canal from St Mark's to Rialto.
Despite being near to these major tourist attractions, the area is home to many Venetians with local restaurants, delicatessens and bars serving splendid food at local - rather than tourist - prices. Even better in January, when the crowds are fewer and every sunny day has exactly the smog-free depth of light reflected in Canaletto's paintings.
I enjoyed a beautifully furnished suite in the hotel; but I peeked into a few of the other rooms, which seemed as tastefully and confortably furnished. The staff were friendly and really helpful and made my stay feel like a home-coming. I can unhesitatingly recommend this hotel as a way of treating yourself to the very nicest side of Venice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeonFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

We stayed in 4 hotels this October during our visit to Italy, and this was by far the best hotel. It was such a great find in Venice!! Reason's we loved it:
1) It's so easy to get to. One stop off the Grand Canal Vaporetto and you're there. No complicated walks down Venice alleys. Also, minutes from St Marks Square so very accessible to everything.
2) Large room for Italy. Decent bed, clean, great closet space, and really nice big bathroom. We also got a nice patio deck that we sat on at night drinking wine.
3) Great customer service, and little perks. The staff were so friendly (way above what we experienced in other places), and helped us with everything. They also included Palazzo del Giglio slippers in the room, free wi-fi in the room, and brought up a complimentary bottle of champagne on the last night we were there. Additionally, when we checked out, they gave us a Bach CD, which we listened to as we drove all throughout Tuscany.

Breakfast was the only draw back as it was really basic, but my husband still enjoyed it. They served fresh croissants with nutella and various spreads, as well as coffee and cappuccino.

Overall, you really can't beat this hotel in Venice. It was also amazingly priced for the room and the location. We absolutely would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriGirlD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Palazzo del Giglio was sold as a 4star hotel and it was as really nice comfortable place to spend a few days in Venice. The rooms were fine, but there wasn't any facilities for having a drink, not even a glass provided! The air conditioning had been turned off at the beginning of October (not advised at the time of booking!!) and the heating turned on regardless of the weather. The bedroom became too warm during the night to sleep in. Opening the windows resulted in my partner and me providing the mosquitoes of Venice with the perfect meal three nights on the trot. The hotel management didn't seem to understand what the problem was, but said they could provide us with a 'machine' which turn out to be a plug-in vapouriser which didn't work - all very disappointing!.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RJGGJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2462, Direttore at Palazzo del Giglio, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2010

The hotel's mission is to ensure that all our guests confortably spend their stay at Palazzo del Giglio.
We regret to say that these guests' criticism is unfounded. Firstly, each room has climate control, therefore guests may adjust the temperature to their liking and individual needs. Secondly,each room and suite is equipped with plenty of glasses and various crockery. During these guests' stay the issue of glasses was never raised. Had they asked, they would have been shown in which cupboard glasses are stored.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
749 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 385 in Venice
901 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#39 of 385 in Venice
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#142 of 385 in Venice
619 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo del Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo del Giglio

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2462 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Venice
#55 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#66 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £131 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo del Giglio 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Palazzo del Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Giglio Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing