We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Palazzo del Giglio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo del Giglio
Ranked #89 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but.........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

Palazzo del Giglio was sold as a 4star hotel and it was as really nice comfortable place to spend a few days in Venice. The rooms were fine, but there wasn't any facilities for having a drink, not even a glass provided! The air conditioning had been turned off at the beginning of October (not advised at the time of booking!!) and the heating turned on regardless of the weather. The bedroom became too warm during the night to sleep in. Opening the windows resulted in my partner and me providing the mosquitoes of Venice with the perfect meal three nights on the trot. The hotel management didn't seem to understand what the problem was, but said they could provide us with a 'machine' which turn out to be a plug-in vapouriser which didn't work - all very disappointing!.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJGGJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2462, Direttore at Palazzo del Giglio, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
The hotel's mission is to ensure that all our guests confortably spend their stay at Palazzo del Giglio.
We regret to say that these guests' criticism is unfounded. Firstly, each room has climate control, therefore guests may adjust the temperature to their liking and individual needs. Secondly,each room and suite is equipped with plenty of glasses and various crockery. During these guests' stay the issue of glasses was never raised. Had they asked, they would have been shown in which cupboard glasses are stored.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    93
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
96
151
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

This small exquisite hotel sits behind the Gritti; not too surprising since a while ago it served as an apartment facility for the guests of the famous hotel who required more space and perhaps peace. And that's exactly what the Giglio offers. Over the last twelve years I've made it my destination four times and each time I've found the welcome and service never varies.
Let the hotel book the water taxi and the driver phones the desk and a porter is awaiting you at the Vaporetto stop that serves the area of S.M. Gigilio. Only Vaporetto No 1 stops there but it's the best route taking you to the Lido or the other way under the Rialto to the railway station. The campo is quiet but inside 5 minutes you are in the centre of San Marco. Another 5 minutes and you are over the wooden Accademia bridge and into the more leisurely Dorsorduro. If noise and bustle is what you want stay away from this small superb apartment hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brutus02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

This atmospheric hotel is ideally situated near Piazza San Marco and is surrounded by some good restaurants and shopping. It is also a quiet area with very good vaporetto and water taxi access. The hotel is slightly old fashioned but I found this charming and it is a welcoming place. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast simple but good. My room faced onto a laneway at the rear which was quiet, but a room at the front facing the small square would be preferable. I would happily stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nat_library
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

The hotel itself was beautiful and such a GREAT location. I wish I could give it two different ratings, one for the hotel itself and one for the staff. It was missing appliance to have your own hot tea, coffee and didn't have a microwave. When we checked in the staff member who spoke pretty good English told us to fill out the breakfast sheet. The left side he told us was included with the room and anything on the right side would be extra. We opted only for (the left side of the sheet that "came with the room") which was bread, tea or coffee for the week not wanting to spend any extra. At the end of the week, they told us we owed them 240 Euros (almost $300) for breakfast. When we told them that the staff member told us it was included with the room the manager didn't care at all that it was a mistake that we had to pay for. My husband and I left there baffled and sick to our stomachs to pay almost $300 for bread and hot tea. We will NEVER stay there again, it was obvious they only cared about money and not the customer. It's a shame because it was a beautiful hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2462, Direttore at Palazzo del Giglio, responded to this review, 9 June 2010
Whilst breakfast is included for clients that book rooms and suites with the formula accomodation and breakfast, clients such as this guest and his family, who stayed for FREE as part of an exchange system, are entiled, as part of the standard agreement, to ROOM ONLY.
Upon requesting breakfast, on the breakfast request form compiled by the client, the breakfast cost, per person, is CLEARLY stated and the client signed for acceptance.
A full continental breakfast with room service free of charge costs 10 Euro per person.
The reception desk staff cares about the customers and their satisfaction but must also collect payment for services provided as requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beloeil
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We went to this hotel for 3 days and were very pleased. The location is perfect, 5 minutes to San Marco, Theatro La Fenice (tip: get tickets in advance, it's really worth it) and just a few steps from the vaporetto exit so you don't have to roll your luggages a long way like many other hotels. The staff is very welcoming, they speak excellent english and are very efficient. Rooms are elegant and very clean and bathrooms include bath, good shower and clean ceramic tiles. The rates are very reasonnable. Breakfast is ok with croissants, pastries and good coffee. Very very quiet at night and in the morning. We will return there on our next trip to Venice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudeBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

The location was great. It was just a short walk to Piazza San Marco and major other attractions! The rooms were very clean and quite spacious for European standards. The bathroom was impeccable, which is a must for me. I never knew staff could be so helpful. All hotels in every country should base their customer service off this hotel. The breakfast was amazing and I loved how it was delivered to my room at the time I requested. This hotel had a lot of charm and character! The price was reasonable. Even though there was no AC, it wasn't bad. I had one hot night where I had to keep my windows open. I could here the drunks on the street, but it wasn't a big deal especially considering everything else. Don't forget to ask about the group gondola discounts. It saves you a fortune!!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitnsaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechanicsburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2009

Easy access. Bus from airport to Piazzale Roma or train to station. Or, walk up to Piazzale Roma from cruise ship. Then, inexpensive vaparetto, with easy roll-on of luggage, to Giglio stop, just after Ponte Accademia. Fifty meters straight to campo; hotel is on right. Reasonably priced. Good and friendly service and help for enterainment reservations, as well as a nice surprise delivered to our room. Room and bathroom were large. Bathroom amenities were excellent. Safe and lockable cabinets allowed us to secure everything, even luggage. Great location, with short scenic and shopping walks to Piazza San Marco, Ponte Accademia, and Ponte di Rialto sights and venues. We were happy to have our light but good breakfast in the large "bar" area. We recommend this hotel if you want all Venice has to offer, at a little less expense. Pay more elsewhere to be on a canal or for luxury.

  • Liked — Reasonable
  • Disliked — Twim Beds Combined for Queen Bed
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelOften_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#66 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#127 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo del Giglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo del Giglio

Property: Palazzo del Giglio
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2462 | Campo Santa Maria del Giglio, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Venice
#56 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#67 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo del Giglio 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Palazzo del Giglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Del Giglio Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing