We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suite with Canal View”
Review of Pensione Seguso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pensione Seguso
Ranked #272 of 471 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2012

The Pensione Seguso is a marvelous little place to stay in Venice. It is a small pensione (hotel), located with a canal view in a great location. We stayed in room 21. It had two small balconies. When we checked in, a street musician was playing an accordion just beneath our room. If you take the water taxi or water bus (Ali laguna), the pensione is visible just before reaching the stop "Zattere". Even my wife was impressed, and she is almost never impressed.

A nice continental breakfast is served. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and speaks English.

Room Tip: Room 21 is a premier room with a private bath and bathroom. Some of the smaller rooms share a toile...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Pensione Seguso
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

The building has lots of charm, the staff is attentive and friendly. It isn't a modern building and lacks some amenities. None of that bothered us, but the mosquitoes and the noise from the traffic in the busy canal sure did. During the daytime, we loved our room, but when the lights went out the bugs appeared. Screens on the windows would be a good idea since without A/C it was necessary to leave them open during the warm nights. If we return to Venice we will look for another place to stay.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nrnpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Venice (island) isn't cheap, specially in high season. So, i considerer that the price that i paid is very good for what i got: good location, nice view (doesn't everybody wants to have a room with a window to the canal??), traditional venetian decoration, quiet, clean. I dont really understand people that go to a 2 star pension wanting it to be a 4 star hotel... It had some mosquitos, but it was august! Mosquitos are not responsability of the pension! Some people here claimed also about noise. It was probably the quieter place where I've slept. The only noise that i heard at night was the normal noise of the canal: some boats passing by... for me that was nice; it reminded me that i was in Venice! There were some cracks on the floor, but it is a 17 th century building! If you need modern and renovated facilities, with air conditioning, internet in the rooms, modern decoration, Pensione Seguso is not the place for you. But for me it was just great!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank OMPAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This hotel is in a pleasant location, away from the main tourist roads. It looks out over the lagoon. We stayed for 2 nights. We were told it is a fifteenth century building; inside there is a lot of wood & glass & it feels old fashioned but quite quaint. Our room did not have an ensuite bathroom, but this was not a problem as there was a bathroom directly opposite our room which was never busy. Our room was fairly large but was dark & quite humid & stuffy as there is no airconditioning, & it was a little uncomfortable for sleeping at night. Breakfast was satisfactory - cornflakes & yoghurt & tinned fruit as well as some panettone-type bread with jams. The staff were polite & friendly, but I wish they had asked us for the tourist charge or told us about it when we checked in, as we hadn't been aware of such a charge & it kind of put a slight negative on it as we left.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SWtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

If you're looking for a modern hotel then this is not for you. Visiting Pension Seguso feels like travelling back in time to the 1930s. The rooms have a charm to them but the hotel ultimately misses out on modern convenience. Our room had a double bed and sink but no en suite. We appeared to be the only people on our floor so walking across the landing to the bathroom was not too much of an inconvenience, and a price worth paying. However, the rooms had no air conditioning or fans. It was almost 40 degrees C when we visited in June 2012 and this was the biggest draw back with the hotel.
En suits are available and the rooms at the front of the hotel had amazing views over the lagoon.
The location is near perfect. It is around a 25 minuet walk to St Marco's square and the rooms are quiet.
Service was good and breakfast what you would expect: cereal, fruit and toast.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel had amazing views over the lagoon.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveOldhamCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

On the first day, a staff member showed us how to open the windows. I noticed that there were no screens, and asked about mosquitos; the staff member assured us that there were none.

Riiiiiiiiggggggghhhthhttttt

Then kindly please explain that buzzing in my ear at night. And in my wife's. And please explain all these bites - oh, wait, maybe I don't want to know. These other reviewers are saying "bed bugs". Hmmm....well, the symptoms match! Dozens and dozens of tiny bites, close-spaced.

The noise from the side-canal was amazing, both in volume and in how late it went.

The heat was excruciating. Not the hotel's fault that Venice is having a heat wave, but sleepers should not have to choose between heatstroke and being eaten!

Room Tip: If you must stay here, insist on a "quiet" room -meaning not facing the side-canal.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ImaPseudonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Where do I begin? Breakfast sucked, the beds were uncomfortable, the toilet broke repeatedly, the bathroom flooded, the shower had no curtain, the handle for the shower sprayer was cracked, the shower head was clogged so the water dribbled out, the door to the room would not shut without slamming, and they charge for extra towels to clean up the flooded bathroom.

But the real joy of this hotel? BED BUGS!!!! Came home full of bites and had to disinfect our luggage and clothes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Toujourstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#250 of 384 in Venice
855 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Domus Cavanis
Domus Cavanis
#318 of 384 in Venice
267 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pensione La Calcina
Pensione La Calcina
#37 of 471 in Venice
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
La Residenza 818
La Residenza 818
#213 of 471 in Venice
28 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Guardi
Palazzo Guardi
#101 of 471 in Venice
567 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
B&B Dorsoduro 461
B&B Dorsoduro 461
#189 of 471 in Venice
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Seguso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Seguso

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 779 | Zattere, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 471 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £105 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Seguso 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Pensione Seguso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Seguso Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing