We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel!”
Review of Hotel San Moise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel San Moise
Ranked #191 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Hotel!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of April for 3 nights.

A fantastic little hotel, right in the heart of the city. A very short walk from St Marks square and to the vaporetto stop.

The room was really spacious and clean. We had a room with a balcony right onto one of the canals, where we could see the gondolas going by.

Breakfast was basic, but staff were helpful.
Would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenc299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    243
    105
    50
    60
See reviews for
156
278
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of Globus Italian Mosaic tour. This was not the hotel in the tour info and not even the one that the Tour Director expected (Ca Alvise - which apparently was fully booked and so a few of us were sent to San Moise about 5 min walk away). There was no reception at San Moise and any requests made went to Ca Alvise and the staff had to walk over to us - which they did a number of times. We stayed in room 107 - very large with a double and a single bed, quite a big bathroom and two windows which looked out onto a canal which seemed to be one of the main gondola routes. No tea and coffee making, no air conditioning (but we didn't need it). The room had high ceilings and very flamboyant and ornate blown glass light shades and lamps - bit over the top really. Overall, the room really looked quite tired and in need of a bit of a revamp. The shower sprayed on to the floor a bit and the floor became very slippery from this and the steam of hot shower. We were given a bottle of sparkling wine which we thought was to 'apologise' for the inconvenience of being in a different hotel, but we later discovered that everyone in the tour group had a bottle of sparkling in their rooms! Free wifi and reasonable strength. Breakfast room was downstairs - very cramped and very, very poor selection of food and quality of food. On our second morning we had to go to Ca Alvise for breakfast - a little better, but not great. San Moise is about 5 minutes walk (if that) from St Mark's Square, with a lot of top-end stores on the way. Very good location to get around Venice. I'd actually stay here again just for the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pidge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Hotel was vey nice.It was located very close to ST. MARK'S SQUARE and the surrounding area was vey beautiful.I would certainly recommend to anyone to stay in this lovely hotel.The bathroom was new ans quite big in comparison to the rest room, which was a little small.For my two nights stay was fantastic, but if my husband and I had bigger lugage we would not be able to walk in there.That was the only flaw. The breakfast was good as well.

Room Tip: We staid in room 12.The bathroom was new and clean but the rest room was not very spacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evangelia-haris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A large and flamboyantly decorated room - high ceiling, glass chandelier, tall windows on 2 sides, view of canal, huge bed, day bed. However, the en suite bathroom was uncomfortably small. They had tried to squeeze everything in, but there was barely room to get past the sink into the shower. Short sitting bath only. Everything very clean.
No tea and coffee making facilities. There was wi fi available free but we had to ask as there was no information of any sort in the rooms. However, these are minor quibbles.
On arrival the receptionist launched into speaking French, but also spoke pretty good English when asked!
Breakfast was comprehensive and plentiful. You have to go outside to access the breakfast room, which is partly below canal level with views of gondoliers going past at head height!
Fabulous location next to quirky buildings and canal and less than 10 minutes walk from San Marco.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Me and my friend stayed here on the end of January 2014. They didn't speak much English at the reception but at least they tried...
For health and safety reasons there are no kettles in the room and there is no iron available.
There was a safe in the room but we couldn't set up our own code, we had to use the code the hotel gave us. I know it doesn't sound the safest but there was nothing missing.

There is free 24 hour WiFi at the hotel, all you need to do is ask for the code at the reception.
It was pretty rainy for a few days so the city was flooded, but at the reception we had been given a pair of wellies for a £10 deposit.
There were free umbrellas for us to use, too.
The breakfast is buffet and was really good, although it was next door. The lady who is in charge is pretty loud but we just ignored her.

The location of the hotel is great, it is pretty close to everything. Once you find the Gucci store you are pretty much there.
I loved the vintage design, it gave me the feeling I wanted - I AM IN ITALY!
This hotel is not a posh one, but if you are after the 100% authentic Italian feeling I do recommend this one. :)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chilykee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

First of all, this hotel has a really nice price for this location, as it is in the very center of the historical city. Second, it is clean - an important moment. Third, people in the hotel were very kind. We forgot our keys, they quickly solved the problem and sent it to my home.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelgaRadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Spent a few days at San Moise Venice, the location is fantastic in that it is very close to Piazza San Marco and just a few meters from the high end fashion outlets. Breakfast is served within the building however you have to go outside the main entrance, around the corner and into another courtyard to go into the breakfast room. There you will be met by an energetic but extremely unwelcome maid/waitress who is supposed to look after you, we didn't let her spoil our breakfast - stand firm!. Thank God its a buffet and not bad at all considering the price. The rooms are kept very clean but not much room, in fact hardly any room for the luggage, no elevator either!! Considering the price, I believe we got our monies worth.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#209 of 386 in Venice
372 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#153 of 386 in Venice
580 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#186 of 386 in Venice
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#123 of 386 in Venice
549 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#114 of 386 in Venice
821 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Moise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Moise

Property: Hotel San Moise
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2058 | Piscina San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Moise 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Moise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Moise Venice
San Moise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing