We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, ideal hotel for our mini break”
Review of Hotel San Moise

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Moise
Ranked #186 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed at the Hotel San Moise for 2 nights, earlier this week. The location was perfect! Venice isn't huge to navigate around but the distance of the hotel from the main sights was ideal. It's reasonably easy to find in the maze of streets too, just look out for the Gucci shop and turn right. Our room served its purpose well, cosy for the two of us but what else do you expect in Venice! The bed was firm and the room and bathroom were clean. The decor was very authentic, traditional Venetian that would look outdated anywhere else in the world but here it was spot on. Enough towels were provided and there were extra pillows and a blanket in the wardrobe. The TV and safe worked fine. The key slots into the wall for electricity. Only issue we had was the hair dryer not working. Breakfast was good; a decent range to meet different tastes and enough to fill us up until gelato o'clock! I found there was a little bit of noise during the night of people coming and going, but nothing that caused a problem or that you wouldn't expect in a hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KatieJayyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had booked another hotel (actually a 3 room B&B (Ca Maria Callas)) but when we arrived there the place was undergoing exterior renovations that obscured the canal view that we had wanted. We decided to look elsewhere and after a brief search found the Hotel San Moise. Not only did it have a wonderful view of a canal, but the price of the room was actually less than the Ca Maria Callas. We could not have been happier with the service, buffet breakfast, view from our room, and location (one block from the high-end shopping area, and two blocks from the Piazza San Marco). We spent afternoons just watching the gondolas and water taxis passing our windows while we were enjoying wine and cheese. When we visit Venice again, we will book here first!

Room Tip: Room #4 has a great view of the canal that many of the gondolas use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlowersBurke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We spent four nights in the hotel San Mosie. Very good location. Close to the Saint Mark Square. Our windows opened onto the Canals. There was big traffic with gondolas and motor boats. It started at 05.45 and ended around 24:00. There has been transportation of construction materials, food and everything near to our windows. If you like guitar and accordion music and singing, it is the place for you.It is very romantic..... Of course, there has been a construction work nearby us. Lively atmosphere... Otherwise it is a nice place, the staff was welcoming. But not the best place to have a nap or a quiet night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Budapest2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here at the beginning of April for 3 nights.

A fantastic little hotel, right in the heart of the city. A very short walk from St Marks square and to the vaporetto stop.

The room was really spacious and clean. We had a room with a balcony right onto one of the canals, where we could see the gondolas going by.

Breakfast was basic, but staff were helpful.
Would definitely return to this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenc299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of Globus Italian Mosaic tour. This was not the hotel in the tour info and not even the one that the Tour Director expected (Ca Alvise - which apparently was fully booked and so a few of us were sent to San Moise about 5 min walk away). There was no reception at San Moise and any requests made went to Ca Alvise and the staff had to walk over to us - which they did a number of times. We stayed in room 107 - very large with a double and a single bed, quite a big bathroom and two windows which looked out onto a canal which seemed to be one of the main gondola routes. No tea and coffee making, no air conditioning (but we didn't need it). The room had high ceilings and very flamboyant and ornate blown glass light shades and lamps - bit over the top really. Overall, the room really looked quite tired and in need of a bit of a revamp. The shower sprayed on to the floor a bit and the floor became very slippery from this and the steam of hot shower. We were given a bottle of sparkling wine which we thought was to 'apologise' for the inconvenience of being in a different hotel, but we later discovered that everyone in the tour group had a bottle of sparkling in their rooms! Free wifi and reasonable strength. Breakfast room was downstairs - very cramped and very, very poor selection of food and quality of food. On our second morning we had to go to Ca Alvise for breakfast - a little better, but not great. San Moise is about 5 minutes walk (if that) from St Mark's Square, with a lot of top-end stores on the way. Very good location to get around Venice. I'd actually stay here again just for the location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pidge51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Hotel was vey nice.It was located very close to ST. MARK'S SQUARE and the surrounding area was vey beautiful.I would certainly recommend to anyone to stay in this lovely hotel.The bathroom was new ans quite big in comparison to the rest room, which was a little small.For my two nights stay was fantastic, but if my husband and I had bigger lugage we would not be able to walk in there.That was the only flaw. The breakfast was good as well.

Room Tip: We staid in room 12.The bathroom was new and clean but the rest room was not very spacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evangelia-haris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A large and flamboyantly decorated room - high ceiling, glass chandelier, tall windows on 2 sides, view of canal, huge bed, day bed. However, the en suite bathroom was uncomfortably small. They had tried to squeeze everything in, but there was barely room to get past the sink into the shower. Short sitting bath only. Everything very clean.
No tea and coffee making facilities. There was wi fi available free but we had to ask as there was no information of any sort in the rooms. However, these are minor quibbles.
On arrival the receptionist launched into speaking French, but also spoke pretty good English when asked!
Breakfast was comprehensive and plentiful. You have to go outside to access the breakfast room, which is partly below canal level with views of gondoliers going past at head height!
Fabulous location next to quirky buildings and canal and less than 10 minutes walk from San Marco.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#177 of 387 in Venice
680 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#211 of 387 in Venice
390 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#170 of 387 in Venice
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#126 of 387 in Venice
569 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#104 of 387 in Venice
896 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#156 of 387 in Venice
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Moise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Moise

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2058 | Piscina San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £47 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Moise 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel San Moise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Moise Venice
San Moise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing