We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced hotel”
Review of Hotel Spagna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Spagna
Ranked #218 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 17 June 2013

First, for the few things I liked in this hotel is the location. It's near the shops, restaurants, water bus station and Sta Lucia train station. It is quite far a walk to go to Roma Plaza if you need to go to Cruise ships or catch a bus to the airport. You'll have to cross the flight of cemented stairs in the street which could be hard if you have luggages. Now, with regards to the hotel itself, it is in the 2nd floor of the building. You have to climb up 15 steps ( I really counted it) to reach the receptionist. No elevator! The Hotel sign is tiny and you'll easily miss it if you don't read the signs of every building as you look for it. The Wi FI is free but only in the lobby, You'll get 10 hours free wi fi if you sit in the reception area. There is NO wi-fi connection inside any of the rooms. You could see people sitting in the small reception area sofas with their i-phones and lap tops to check their emails because that is where you can only get wi-fi connection. The AM reception guy was not that friendly. Breakfast is free but very simple, you'll be served (not buffet) bread/rolls, butter, cheese and some wrapped pastries and juice/cocoa or coffee. B-fast starts late at 8 am to 10 and for those with early flights, better just eat the airport. THe breakfast lady was nice. THe room we got was large enought for our familky. We asked for extra pillows but there's none. The cabinet door keeps sliding to the right. The bathroom is ok but the shower area is so tiny, it just fit the size of one person standing upright, it's hard to move inside it. This hotel is ok for just a one night stay if you're not picky.

Room Tip: If your room is near the street, which we had, you can hear people outside talking and the vendors s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illinoisresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 206 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

The Hotel Spagna was an excellent choice for a Venice Hotel because it was so close to the train station. One bad thing was no elevator so it would not be a good choice for handicap or older people, although my husband is 83 and he made it. The hotel was clean, breakfast adequat. Very good warm croissants, cereal, delicious orange juice and coffee any way that you wanted it. Staff was friendly and the breakfast room was a friendly place because it was so small. The shower was quite small which was not great, but it worked. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Probably not a good idea to have a room overlooking the street if you are a light sleeper. I never...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carmelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This hotel is very close to railway station and vaporetta points, however we arrived by bus, we had to negotiate our luggage over a couple of quiet large bridges with shallow steps which was a not the best, we fortunately had pretty small bags, but only 5-10 minutes walk.
If you do arrive here by bus, there is one that stops off many times on the way in from the airport, or a direct bus that is so much quicker, I would definitely go for this one.
On arrival we were super impressed by the helpful friendly staff here, on reception the gentleman that greeted us gave us all the info we needed, recommended fabulous places to eat, one very close to St Marks Sq, and so good we went back again. They gave us maps, drew directions and place names on it, we couldn't have had more charming staff, including the ladies serving breakfast. The breakfast was typical Italian, pastries, bread and cereals, juice, tea and or coffee.

Wi-fi was available in reception situated on the first floor, our bed linen was changed every day, the room was a good size and although next to reception we never heard any noise. The light in the room was a little inadequate and with 3 of us sharing, the only place to make up was the bathroom, this was a little inconvenient, but didn't spoil our trip.
We couldn't fault the helpfulness we experienced here, and for a budget hotel it surpassed our expectations.

Room Tip: We didn't have much choice as we needed a room for three!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mead186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Me and my friends had an evening flight, we were tired and exhausted with our heavy luggage, (the bridges in Venice give you one heck of a work out). Firstly it was a blessing that the place was so close to the station and bus drop off point, took us five minutes to get there. Secondly the staff were absolutely fabulous. Sometimes all it takes is a little smile and hello and you get all the help you need. The staff were more than happy to help us at all times and we never had any issues with the service they provided. I would 100% recommend this place to people who are going to Venice to explore the city inside out! A more perfect and convinient location you will never find! xxx

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suraya21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

The best thing about Venice? - The canals. The toughest thing about Venice? - Crossing bridges on foot. Especially when carrying luggage. So, best location for your hotel in Venice? - One that is right next to the Venezia station and doesn't necessitate you to drag your luggage over bridges!
Stay at Hotel Spagna is my recommendation.

The hotel is located bang on Rue Lista Di Spagna which is the street leading up to the Venice railway station. The hotel is a mere 5 minute walk from the station and no bridge crossing :)

A little problem with most hotels in Venice - no lifts. If you're traveling light, great. If you got loads of luggage, all the best. Spagna's reception is on the first floor and has couple of more floors of rooms. The check-in was super smooth and the lady at the reception helped us out with all the necessary info on Venice - the vaporettas, the taxis, the day long pass, places to visit - St Marks' Square, Rivolta bridge and the works.

The room was fairly large, extremely clean and very well furnished. The windows opened to a view of the main street.. bustling with people on their Venetian retreat. Just behind the hotel was the grand canal and we spent quite some time just sitting around with our feet dangling in the canal and watching the vaporettas drive past.

Breakfast is served in a tiny restaurant on the first floor but is a good assortment of cakes, croissants, breads, fruits and coffee. I had my best sleep of the entire trip at Hotel Spagna. Could be attributed to the amount of walking we did in Venice too :)

The front desk guys helped us keep our luggage at the reception after we checked out. Post lunch and another stroll along the grand canal, we picked up our baggage and walked the 5 minute walk to the station to board our train to Milan. Definitely coming back - and staying at Spagna, I guess.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RavDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This quaint little hotel is a very short walk from the train station. I got to Venice very late at night and had hoped I didn't have to walk far with my luggage. Venice can be a bit confusing to get around so I was pleased that it was very close to the train station. The room was the biggest room I had stayed in while in Europe. The bed, however, was the least comfortable. Venice was my last destination in Europe and I stayed there 3 nights. I wouldn't recommend staying there for long periods, but for the budget traveler who wants a decent and safe place to stay for a couple of nights, this hotel was worth it. The breakfast was subpar, but all in all it was a decent stay. I probably won't stay there again if I go back to Venice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 904NicoleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

The best part about this hotel is its location. It's only about 5 minutes from the train station and Vaporetto, so getting around is very easy. It's on a busy street full of hotels, shops and restaurants. The staff was helpful in providing information and they also made a dinner reservation for us.

The AC in the room was not pumping out cool air, so we had to open the windows to make the room less stuffy (at the risk of letting in the mosquitoes). On the first night there was no hot water. This is totally unacceptable for any hotel establishment.

They also charge $$ for Internet access. Don't go for it! Just go the the nearby self-serve Brek cafe/restaurant to get free WiFi. It's located right between the hotel and the train station.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djc2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#250 of 385 in Venice
426 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Caprera
Hotel Caprera
#170 of 385 in Venice
452 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#186 of 385 in Venice
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#189 of 385 in Venice
980 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#161 of 385 in Venice
441 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Malibran
Hotel Malibran
#213 of 385 in Venice
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spagna

Address: Lista di Spagna, 184, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £76 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spagna Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing