We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Spagna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Spagna
Ranked #219 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hotel is a five minute walk from the train station and many vaporetto lines so the location is exceptional. Hotel is on a very busy street but if you close the windows it is quiet but then the room is warm. Room is basic and somewhat worn, but clean. Staff is excellent, internet is good and breakfast is basic continental - coffee, orange juice, croissant, cold cereal and some rolls.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ez2ctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Since the hotel is very near to train station it is very easy to find. Rooms are big and clean. Noisy but i liked to hear the city sound :). You can walk to the san marco from different routes app in 20 minutes, also close to vaporetto for murana

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Derya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed recently at this hotel in August 2013, we had a large triple room, the shower was a bit small but it was clean and worked. No fridge in the room but there is a vending machine near reception. It is very close to the station, boat bus station and buses to the airport. There are no lifts at this hotel so be prepared to carry your cases up stairs. There are good shops and restaurants very close by. Breakfast was ok basic but ok, the staff were helpful and explained everything to us clearly.

I would stay here again it is in a great place there are so many steps and bridges in Venice it is nice not to have to lug your luggage everywhere.

Room Tip: View of the street below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hlucasuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This hotel tried to authorize a pre-payment in a booking and this kind of operation was not authorized in the web site where I have made the reservation (I read the politics of booking in this hotel before eveything). I have made a complaint, I wrote to the hotel saying that I will be paying only during my check-in and, even after that, they disrespected me trying to pre-authorize my credit card again (for the second time!).
I will never ever stay in this hotel again. I was there for the first time 2 years ago, and even in that they commited the same mistake. But it was very nice and I don't regret because I could find a very nice hotel in Venice, cheaper than this awful place and the staff was wonderful..very worthy! I recommend the Hotel Il Moro di Venezia and I surely will be back there.

Room Tip: Just don't stay at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank princessdanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M H, Manager at Hotel Spagna, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013
Google Translation

Signora,
questo è il secondo commento che Tripadvisor pubblica nonostante Lei non abbia soggiornato presso il nostro Hotel Spagna.
Il primo commento è stato cancellato in seguito a nostra segnalazione; di questo secondo, ora, non capiamo la pubblicazione.
Tra le condizioni di prenotazione sul sito Booking.com, è chiaramente specificato che l'hotel si riserva il diritto di controllare la validità della carta di credito prima dell'arrivo.
La preautorizzazione sulla Sua carta di credito è stata negata; ne abbiamo richiesta una valida tramite il sito e anche via mail, attendendo risposta entro i termini comunicati.
Nessuna risposta.
La prenotazione, di conseguenza, è stata cancellata.
A questo punto, avendo rifiutato le condizioni di prenotazione ed avendo facoltà di prenotare con altre modalità presso altre strutture, ci chiediamo molto semplicemente che cosa Lei, Signora, pretendesse da noi.
Buone vacanze,
La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Positives: The hotel is located only 100 meters from the train station and approximately 250 meters from the main bus terminal that leads to the airport. Breakfast was nice/free each morning. Great price for the European amenities. Negatives: The key must be turned into the front desk each time you leave. If you come in very late or leave very early, you must ring the bell to have the front door unlocked. Small rooms by American standards, but not bad for the price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 202JoeH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I have never stayed at this hotel, but i thought that travelers should be aware of this hotels policy of not returning deposits. I made the mistake of reserving a room for one night directly on the hotels website,but when i realized that a booking agency had a better rate i cancelled the reservation on the same day. When i received the credit card bill the charge for the one night was on it. I thought that it was the charge from the booking agency, but it turned out to be from the hotel. They refused to charge back the one night deposit and i referred it over to the credit card company. I've had this trouble before with hotels in Italy who try to pull this swindle on unsuspecting travelers and will go as far as they can to put obstacles in your way. I have seen them even write to advisor sites and lie through their teeth about what happened. I finally chose the Best Western Olympia Hotel and was very satisfied with everything about the hotel.
Beware of the Hotel Spagna!!!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M H, Manager at Hotel Spagna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013
Google Translation

Il nostro Hotel Spagna, come quasi tutti gli hotel, dispone di un proprio sito attraverso il quale i clienti possono prenotare.
Nella fattispecie, dal nostro sito abbiamo ricevuto la prenotazione n. 954670, a nome del Sig. R.R., per una stanza doppia, dal 21 al 22 maggio 2013, per 1 notte.
Il Sig. R.R. NON si è presentato.
Il portiere ha aspettato il suo arrivo tutta la notte e la stanza è rimasta a disposizione del Sig. R.R. tutta la notte.
Abbiamo chiamato i gestori del nostro sito per chiedere se casomai, fosse intervenuta una qualche cancellazione e loro ci hanno confermato con assoluta certezza che nessuna cancellazione era intervenuta.
Pertanto, crediamo di essere nel giusto nell'aver applicato la penale di no-show sulla carta di credito mandata a garanzia della prenotazione, altrimenti non si capirebbe come e perchè i dati della carta di credito con relativa data di scadenza siano considerati, secondo le leggi che regolano la contrattualistica alberghiera, un requisito fondamentale a tutela del cliente da una parte e da chi gestisce la struttura ricettiva dall'altra.
La Direzione.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

The one thing about this hotel is its location. Being so close to the train station with big suitcases is a life save! The front desk have been manned by 4 different people during our stay and only one of them can summon a smile. Decor is dated as are fixture and fittings but not in a stylish typical venetian way. No antiques here. Breakfast lady is lovely though it's far from an extensive meal. Croissant and orange juice. That's about your lot! But everything said, it's location is brilliant. You're right near a water bus stop also, giving you easy access to San Marco, the hotel is clean and the price is reasonable for Venice. You'd get a hell of a lot more for your money in other cities but not Venice. If you're on a budget and you coming in by train, then you will be happy here.

Thank Churmie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Antica Casa Carettoni
Cannaregio
Hotel Caprera
Hotel Caprera
#169 of 385 in Venice
446 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#246 of 385 in Venice
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#196 of 385 in Venice
961 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#261 of 385 in Venice
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spagna

Address: Lista di Spagna, 184, 30100 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £77 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spagna 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spagna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spagna Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing