We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location;friendly staff and very clean and tidy”
Review of Hotel Orion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orion
Ranked #107 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location;friendly staff and very clean and tidy”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed for two nights in February. Friendly welcoming staff who speak excellent English. Hotel is in a fantastic central location with St Marks Square just a few metres away. Room was very nice; spotless and very clean. Everything worked as it should. And despite being in a central location the room was completely silent with no noise at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pumps100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    376
    106
    21
    13
See reviews for
161
429
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is just a few metres from St Marks Square and a short stroll to the Rialto Bridge. Usually Hotels in this vicinity would cost a packet - the Orion was an absolute bargain! It isn't a luxury Hotel by any stretch of the imagination but it was clean and comfortable and after all Venice is so beautiful, we would never spend much time in the room! We were in room 25 on the first floor - unfortunately this was quite noisy - we had a bar outside our window and early each morning we heard the breakfast preparation - the dining hall directly above us.
The staff were all friendly and helpful and we were especially grateful to be able to use the hotel umbrellas! Wifi signal isn't great but useable, 1 hour free. We regularly visit Venice as we have family there and will certainly stay at the Orion again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights at hotel Orion at the end of our trip to Italy. It was hard finding the hotel because we didn't want to pay 2 euros for a map at the tourist info counter. We were able to find it once we asked some locals and provided the street name. It is very close to St. Mark's square indeed. I was glad since it means you don't have to carry your lugguage very far after taking the water bus (a hellish experience indeed!)

If you are travlling with alot of luggage, be prepared to climb up some stairs since there is no elevator. Me and my husband were ok since we travelled light.

Our was small, which didn't bother me and cleanliness was average. Other than the area rugs they had in the room which were pretty soiled and they should have gotten rid of those. The only thing that really annoyed was that there was no enclosed shower. So whenever you take a shower, the entire bathroom gets wet (ending up in soggy toilet paper, toileteries, toilet etc). This also means they floors were super wet.

The breakfast is pretty average, so don't expect too much. But it's enough for you to stay full until lunch.

Overall I would stay here for the price and the location. However, I'm not sure I would stay here if it was more than 2-3 days. It could have been better if they had free wifi or at least cheaper paid wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKTravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed hare for 3 nights
Fantastic location,right next to San Marco,perfect for walking around Venice!!!!!
Breakfast is very average,but the hotel is very nice for a short break
There are plenty of nice cafés and restaurants within a 5 minute walk..... Perfect

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Just arrived home from a three night stay at this hotel. Our room was basic but very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel because of the perfect location, minutes from St Marks Square, a few minutes to the Rialto Bridge, in fact perfect for discovering Venice on foot.

Room Tip: There is no lift at this hotel, the stairs are quite a climb if you are on the top floor, so if this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosie094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We stayed for two nights and found the location to be perfect. The hotel is so close to the Square and so easy to walk from to get around Venice. I only discovered Trip Advisor recently so the review is very out of date as we stayed in August 2008.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is in a great location, incredibly close to St Marks square. The room, although relatively basic was perfect for crashing in after a long day out walking around the sights of Venice. The staff were very warm, welcoming and very helpful. My girlfriend and I would definitely stay here again. Would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#87 of 385 in Venice
412 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#102 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#136 of 385 in Venice
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#95 of 385 in Venice
411 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#104 of 385 in Venice
470 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#88 of 385 in Venice
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion

Property: Hotel Orion
Address: Calle Spadaria San Marco 700/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Orion 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orion Hotel, the ideal meeting point for the people who want "to live" Venice. Close by S. Marco Square and Rialto Bridge, the most important terminals and the departure for the escursions, the promenades and the sightseeing tours of the city, it is your hotel in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing