We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Amazing Location & Great Staff”
Review of Hotel Orion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orion
Ranked #109 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel whilst visiting Venice. This hotel really is in the perfect location, less than a 2 min walk from St Marks Square. Its easy to find as well, the hotel website has great travel options to the hotel and they are 100% accurate. The hotel is a more 3-4* hotel and is very very clean, there is no issues with this at all. Its actually quite to sleep in, I was concerned about this before I stayed due to the central location. Beds etc very comfy. rooms a fairly small but not as small as some other reviews are saying. The staff are brilliant especially Massimilia who is more than helpful and friendly and will go the extra mile.
There is a lot of options of hotel choices in Venice, but after visiting I can safely tell you that if you want a hotel that is central, clean and has the nice Italian feel without selling a kidney to stay there, this is your hotel! The breakfast is good as well. I would recommend this to anyone and when I go back to Venice I will be staying at this hotel!

Room Tip: Room facing the court yard at the back as this will be quiet
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TM222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (804)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Orion
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

Spent a short break at this small hotel and it was ideal for what we wanted from our trip to Venice. It's location is first class and only 2 minutes walk from St Mark's Square. You need to remember that not many hotels in Venice have lifts (maybe just the big posh hotels have) so if you are up on the fourth floor like we were then be prepared for a hike up to the top after a long day out. That aside the room was clean and tidy. It was a little noisy from young'uns shouting as they passed by. The narrow streets means there is a lot of echo but nothing too much and the nearby bell chimes were a comfort as they rung out their soft chimes. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful and all of the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. No complaints whatsoever. Great place to stop when in Venice. I would definitely recommend this to friends.

Room Tip: No lifts - if you need to then ask for a room on a lower floor...wish we had.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I understand now why a 2 star hotel gets top ratings. Spot on right at the centre. From breakfast room can see San Marco's domes. We had a bargain where we booked for five nights and got the fifth one free, paying only for four. Room quite spacious with all that one expects. May be the only flaw, TV had few channels on. Every thing spotless and breakfast very very good. We were made quite welcome and received all possible help when my wife broke her arm on our last day. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dionisio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Excellent stay!At the heart of Venice, close to restaurants, near the main points, one block from the famous Piazza San Marcos clean and confortable room, well equiped, nice and helpful people at the reception. All in all: Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We took the waterbus direct from the airport to St Marks Square, taking little over an hour, and found the Hotel easily with the use of the hotel websites map. Hotel was small and quaint and right in the midst of everything. Our room on the 3rd floor was perfectly acceptable and clean, although the bathroom was rather on the small side - suffice to say you could probably brush your teeth at the sink and wash your feet in the shower all without leaving the comfort of the toilet seat! Agreed, the walls are thin and you are able to hear the slightest sigh coming from your neighbour, but we spent little time in the room anyhow so it wasnt a problem. Breakfast was simple with a croissaint, rolls, hams, cheeses, jams and juice. Staff were friendly and helpful.
I would certainly return to this hotel again as it fulfils all our basic needs and couldn't be in a better location for exploring Venice!

Room Tip: Higher floors = less noise!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eggshell666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We booked two rooms as part of a British Airways special offer - total including flights was £175 per person which was fantastic value. The best thing about this small hotel is its location just over a block away from St Mark's Square. We transferred from the airport by water bus. Tickets were purchased in the airport arrivals lounge and journey time to St Mark's was 1 hour 20 minutes. Having downloaded a copy of the route map from the hotel website, it was very easy to find. Our room on the first floor was small but perfectly formed. Our son's room on the top floor was much larger and had more character. There were no nice views from either room but this was a small price to pay for that location. Breakfast was simple but perfectly adequate. Places to eat and drink in the area were plentiful and reasonably priced.
All in all if you want value over pretension you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Go for a top floor room but bear in mind there are no lifts
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrackersouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here during the opening weekend of Carnivale. The location is great. It is very close to St. Marks square. Lots of cute restaurants/bars nearby. The hotel was a good value. Clean rooms and friendly staff. We stayed on the first floor so there was a bit of noise by people walking by at night. It was a little annoying but around 2 am it quieted down.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerri89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
438 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#85 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#102 of 385 in Venice
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#84 of 385 in Venice
1,365 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#100 of 385 in Venice
487 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion

Address: Calle Spadaria San Marco 700/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £62 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Orion 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orion Hotel, the ideal meeting point for the people who want "to live" Venice. Close by S. Marco Square and Rialto Bridge, the most important terminals and the departure for the escursions, the promenades and the sightseeing tours of the city, it is your hotel in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Orion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing