We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact, clean & convenient.”
Review of Hotel Orion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Orion
Ranked #112 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Compact, clean & convenient.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very convenient to all the main attractions. Very clean and very comfortable. No lift and stairs could be a problem for the less agile. Friendly staff.
Could be a tad difficult to find initially but when found the convenience to San Marco etc is well worth it.
Charge for wi-fi.

Room Tip: Top floor best. Restricted views but quieter. Some may find the church bells intrusive but that is c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    376
    106
    21
    13
See reviews for
161
429
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I can highly recommend this small hotel. we had room 25 on the first floor which was a large room with large bathroom. being on the first floor over the front it was noisy well into the night but what would you expect from a hotel in this fantastic position, just a minutes walk from St Marks Square. The staff were very helpful and the Wi-Fi worked well and was free for the first hour each day. The breakfast room is on the second floor and is satisfactory, with a good selection of coffee,rolls,cheese,ham,fruit and yogurts.
we will definitely stay here again when we visit Venice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank neil21leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The room we had second floor noisey, from the room above, clomp clomp clomp, bathroom smallest one on our trip, no much to breakfast , room was clean , great location , helpful staff , I booked for 3 nights , should have been only 2 , unable to get refund as non refundable rate , my mistake. So be sure dates when book

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

You would be hard pushed to find a better location than this little hotel, tucked away just behind St. Mark's square. Friendly, helpful staff were always available if needed. Our room was a good size with a clean en-suite shower room. Nice breakfast provided in a cute little room. Overall good value and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyD993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The best hotel location in San Marco. The room was decent size for 2 people and had windows that opened. Walking distance to San Marco square, Rialto Market, etc. Free wifi & breakfast. Friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preeti2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Hotel Orion is a clean, friendly place to stay and close to St. Marks square. However, the rooms were filled with mosquitos and you are not allowed to eat or drink anything in your room that isn't purchased from the mini bar( which contains very little). We asked the staff to keep our windows closed after cleaning the room but they were always left open. Our bed and pillows were very uncomfortable, we didn't sleep very well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank m_jen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights very recently at this hotel. We were impressed with our room. It was clean & tidy. The bathroom was very small, especially the shower cubicle but it was adequate for our 3 night stay. The breakfast was typical of a continental breakfast. The staff spoke good English & the staff who manned reception were very helpful. The wifi was very strong & it was provided free of charge. The hotel was situated very near to St Marks Square. Would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#87 of 385 in Venice
412 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#103 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#98 of 385 in Venice
411 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#105 of 385 in Venice
470 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#88 of 385 in Venice
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orion

Property: Hotel Orion
Address: Calle Spadaria San Marco 700/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Orion 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orion Hotel, the ideal meeting point for the people who want "to live" Venice. Close by S. Marco Square and Rialto Bridge, the most important terminals and the departure for the escursions, the promenades and the sightseeing tours of the city, it is your hotel in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Orion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing