We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great until you deal with Management”
Review of Al Piccolo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Al Piccolo Hotel
Ranked #245 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights during the summer and had a horrible time with the management. The room was nice but the wifi never worked, either in the room or in the lobby. The management was rude and the buffet included was not included and they told me to my face it was an error and that I had to pay for a 4 euro breakfast. It was more them insisting I was wrong and forcing me to pay. They then forced me to pay for my room and I had not checked out. I will never go back here or recommend it to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Nozio
4  Thank TravelerVeneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

The Al Piccalo Hotel was ok for what we paid,our room was clean and the ensuite looked quite new.The staff didnt speak much english but were friendly enough. Breakfast was continental.We were quite happy for what we paid at this hotel for 2 nights,and would reccommend as long as you dont expect posh and are happy with basic,clean accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank englandadventure57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This place is one step above a dump. The people r nice and remember u when u come in. The shower IS not good, like another reviewer said, it's small and water goes everywhere! The walls r in desperate need of painting and the plugs above our head on the bed do not work on either side. Plus side, the AC works!

It is close to the bus stop, true, but it feels like a long ride to the main station to take the very crowded water taxi to Venice.

Breakfast was included with our room but ugh. Carbs, processed carbs and sweet is all you will get. My friend says its a typical Italian breakfast - hard toast with jam. The coffee was good tho and hand made to order. Processed croissant with cream, some sort of processed cake with cream and jelly and nutella.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toybobmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

Firstly, no one speaks any english at this hostel, which is fine because you are in italy but it makes it very difficult when something goes wrong. I booked our reservation online 2 days before we arrived, but when we got there at midnight they didn't have our reservation, so the man just gave us 2 rooms and he took my printed confirmation. The next morning though a lady came to our room shouting "no reservatoin no reservation!" and came back 3 times so I finally had to go downstairs with her and open my email, and she stood over my shoulder the whole time pointing to any email in my inbox and saying "no no no!" I found the confirmation email for her and printed it, but this didn't calm her down and she told me we had to change rooms, which we did with no problem. So a half hour later when all had been worked out, she completely changed her attitude and offered us breakfast and made us cappucinos, told us how to get to venice, which bus to take and everything. So i forgave her for the yelling and actually enjoyed the rest of my stay. Everyone is very nice, nodding and smiling because they don't speak english, but we felt very taken care of. The hostel itself is actually in Marghera, but it's only a short bus ride to and from venice (the number 6 runs to and from the hostel until past midnight) and everything in venice is accessible by walking or water bus. Overall, this place is just fine for a stay in venice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shannon1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
430
Reviewed 16 March 2006

Hotel Piccolo is a very simple hotel that is located near Mestre station. Only one bus (numero 6) takes you directly to Venice and back, but it is fairly far. The breakfast is not included, but at 4 Euros per person, it gets you going in the morning. The coffee is not too shabby. This hotel has little rooms and horrible showers. Venice in general has nothing special about it. The people are rude and impatient. We found that we had to yell back to get better service. Italians tend to pay more attention if you act like they do. You can cruise the Grand Canal in about an hour. We even went to Murano island and to Lido on the one day. There is nothing special about Murano island and the glass art is overpriced. The sales people are very pushy and will ignore you once they know you won't be paying 4 to 5 thousand Euros on a piece of glass. We found that Granville Island in Vancouver has more creative pieces of glass art, better service and more lively entertainment (and it is closer to home). Beware though that if you buy some little glass trinkets, they give it to you and break it while they are wrapping it. Either watch them wrap it or open it right away before paying for it. They are mean-spirited only treating you well if they think you are going to buy their over-priced pieces of glass, even then, buyer beware. Anyway, the hotel does not provide you with a map or directions, so either bring your own or ask around.

Other tips that we learned about which you might find useful are: * Make sure you validate your bus/train/bartello tickets before getting on or you can be fined about 30 Euros per person if checked. * You might want to purchase the 12-hour (for 8.50 Euros each) or 24-hour (for 12 Euros each) global pass instead of paying 5 Euros for each one way trips along the Canal. * Bring some Euros with you until you can get to a bank or ATM machine in Rome - we didnt do this in Venice. * Check out the menus at restaurants before sitting down because prices vary considerably from place to place and you don't want to feel ripped off (we paid huge $ for places that looked cheaper and reasonable $ for great food at other places that had an expensive look).

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irisha1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Richete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Belvedere
#233 of 387 in Venice
81 reviews
Hotel San Giuliano
#346 of 387 in Venice
264 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 387 in Venice
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Altieri
#351 of 387 in Venice
336 reviews
Alexander Hotel
#210 of 387 in Venice
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Piccolo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Piccolo Hotel

Address: Via Trieste 2/h, 30175 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #245 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £56 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Al Piccolo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Al Piccolo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing