We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but probably suited to younger travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Foresteria Valdese Venezia
Ranked #36 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights from 6th May. For a start, Venice can be a most confusing city and as this was our first visit we had trouble finding the hotel. Once found however we were made to feel welcome and shown our room. The frescoes on the wall were a bit offputting but it was clean and the bathroom was also. The shower recess was bigger than most we had encountered. The breakfast next morning was adequate - cereals, rolls, fruit, conserves, yoghurt, toast (packaged), juice, tea and coffee. It is in a very good location as far as San Marco and Rialto and also the vaparetto to Murano are concerned. Also some good restaurants not too far away. Why I think it would be better for younger travellers is that it appears to cater for school groups and while the first group of older teenagers was very well behaved, the second group of much younger teenagers was not and became very noisy early in the morning (4.30am). The upside is that you do save a bit of money by not staying in a regular hotel and if you are prepared to tolerate school groups by all means stay there.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking a canal and a small bridge so there was some noise but it would be unavoid...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Foresteria Valdese Venezia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 143 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

My first vistit to Forestie Valdese was magical-the location, the room and the friendly staff. This year I was disapointed at the poor service, staff were unhelpful and sometimes downright rude! The double room had poor ventilation and the bathroom had a dubious odour. The both the bed covers were stained. The location is still magical but there are other rooms available nearby. I wanted to let the hotel know that there were huge rats running across the landing in the evening but they weren't interested, maybe it was my english...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smartt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Only about 10 minutes walk to San Marco square or Rialto bridge. Hint: print out a map and highlight the route (from vaporetto stop "Rialto") before arriving. It will save you many headaches trying to navigate the confusing narrow streets with luggage.

30 euro per bed per night in a room which has 4 single beds and its own ensuite bathroom including soap and shampoo in handy sachets. Room window opened onto the canal, motor powered boats start around 6am so keep the shutter closed if you're a light sleeper.

Breakfast included bread rolls, cereals, coffee/hot choc, yoghurt and juices.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Cannot overstate how great an experience my girlfriend and I had at Foresteria Valdese. Nowhere else in Venice will you find the combination of budget value and prime location. Not only is the location perfect for hitting some of Venice's top attractions, like San Marco, the actual location of Foresteria Valdese - across a mini-bridge at the intersection of small alleyways - seems very intimate.

Make sure to leave time at the end of an evening to come back and sample a cheese/meat tray and the house red at the wine bar, Enoteca Mascareta. They're extremely easy going, helpful, and the best part: you can take your glasses of wine out on to the street and sit on one of the steps of the bridge next door to the Foresteria.

By paying the extra few euro for the kitchenette room, we were able to make a meal using fresh ingredients from the Rialto Market: shrimp, artichokes, etc. Just prepare to use a hot plate rather than a stove!

Overall, we could not have asked for a better, more romantic base of operations for the weekend in Venice.

My only warning: just make sure you are up to weaving your way all the way from the train station to the Foresteria! It can be easy if you are good at maneuvering on the vaporettos, not to mention, getting to anywhere good in Venice will require a trek like this, anyway!

Room Tip: My girlfriend and I chose the kitchenette room, originally because that was the only available room...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fightingwithavim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed at Foresteria Valdese for three days in May. We loved the location -- very central and yet quiet at the end of a street across a canal. Even the teenagers on a schooltrip who were staying there at the same time were very well-behaved. The room was very basic; we ended up in a three-bed room with a bunkbed as no doubles were available, but thanks to a large common room we did not mind the cramped space. The bathroom was very nice. The very fact that we were staying in an old Venetian palazzo was a treat though we did not have frescoes in our room nor the canal view though we know that if you are lucky you can get those. As we had to pay for a room for three people, it seemed quite pricey, but certainly a better value than a hotel in Mestre. IWe'd go back any time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cayenne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

See poligeo's review below also for detailas of the building and lication. Lovely hostel type accommodation.
Excellent location near piazza San Marco, views of the canals from nearly all rooms and truly interesting old ventian building. Super clean and well run. Lovely common room with television and super awesome breakfast with bread, yoghurt, coffee, tea, cereal! Super interesting!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickersofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My last trip to Venice lasted one week and I divided my accommodation into three different places in order to have a richer experience of the different areas -or sestieri- of the city.

Foresteria Valdese is in the Palazzo Cavagnis. It is run by the Waldesian Church that took over the building around 1868 and since then it is being restored in different stages. It is located in the sestiere of Castello, very close to Piazza San Marco and to Rialto Bridge. Just off Campo Santa Maria Formosa at the end of a narrow street between the Scandinavia Hotel and the bar with the biggest display of tables in the same square. Continue along the street and the Palazzo Cavagnis is just across the bridge at the end.

I heard about this place years ago and I was looking forward to staying there. I was not disappointed. The building is magnificent. The room had two large windows overlooking the canal. The bathroom was kitted out with lovely toiletries. Everything was spotlessly clean and the area is very quiet at night. The rooms have TV and heating for the winter. Altough there is no air conditioning we did not even open the windows at night.

Breakfast was abundant: selection of juices, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereals, breads, jams, tea, coffee, cold milk and hot milk too! More than enough to start the day. The staff were friendly and the rest of the guests were very correct. Most of them were Italian families which made breakfast time very picturesque for a foreigner.

I would recommend this place to people with an appreciation for Art and Venetian architecture. If you're too fussy please go somewhere else because the true luxury you are going to find in Foresteria Valdese is the possibility of enjoying an old palazzo and waking up to the canals and the real Venice.

I will definitely stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for canal view. Room 11 is my favorite.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Poligeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#130 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Silk Road Hostel
Silk Road Hostel
#33 of 225 in Venice
78 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Haven Hostel San Toma
Haven Hostel San Toma
#47 of 225 in Venice
29 reviews
San Marco
Foresteria Levi
Foresteria Levi
#89 of 471 in Venice
384 reviews
Cannaregio
We_Crociferi
We_Crociferi
#8 of 225 in Venice
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foresteria Valdese Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresteria Valdese Venezia

Address: Castello 5170 - Calle Lunga Santa Maria Formosa, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range: £88 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foresteria Valdese is one of the guest houses of the Waldensian and Methodist Church in Italy. We are a non-profit making guest house: our mission is to create value to our customers and the income is used to fund and sustain social projects in Italy and in the world for youth and elderly people. The house is just few minutes away from St. Mark's Square and Rialto Bridge. It offers to its guests a warm and welcoming environment in a typical eighteenth century palace and it is a perfect starting point to visit such a magic city as Venice is. The Foresteria offers bed and breakfast accommodation for singles, couples, families and groups. No AC, we have fans in the rooms. Some rooms are with canal view and some are decorated with frescoes. We have bedrooms for 1/2/3/4 people and family rooms for 6/8/9 people. They all have either ensuite or private bathrooms. Breakfast hall is also available for your own picnic, you can use 2 fridges and 1 microwave. Concert hall is also available for conferences. Every 5 days we change the linen. Some rooms have TV, and there is a TV in 2nd floor near the children corner. Hairdryer is present in many rooms or is available in reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Foresteria Valdese Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresteria Valdese Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing