We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, located just a few steps from St. Mark's”
Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diana
Ranked #284 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 25 April 2013

The hotel can be difficult to find, especially in bad weath and without a prior warning that the street is really narrow. My room was just fine (small, of course), although in the bathroom the toilet seat was located way too close to the sink and using the toilet can be tricky. The staff was polite and helpful, the breakfast elegant. There is no iron in the room and using an iron is actually prohibited. Internet worked perfectly. There are many restaurants around the hotel, many of them advertise "menu turistico" but when you enter you actually have to ask for it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Witoldzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed in a family room for the week leading up to Easter. Spotlessly clean. Staff all very pleasant but especially the lady who organised breakfast and the porter/chambermaid. Excellent continental breakfast and some of the best coffee I have ever had. Room itself not large but had all required amenities.
To find this hotel, walk along the left hand gallery in St Marks' Square (facing the church)
At the end of the gallery turn left. Then first right and second left to Calle de Specchieri.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Having stayed at Diana over Easter 2013 I can only confirm fellow travelers comments: Location is everything. It's ideally located close to Piazza San Marco, and Ponte Rialto is just a 10 minute walk. And so is the airport ferry boat pier.
Diana is hidden in a tiny and narrow alley so there’s a risk you might miss it.
Once we arrived, staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They called around for dinner reservations and I must say we were grateful that they candidly discouraged us from eating at one of the neighborhood restaurants (there are many tourist traps around San Marco, imagine that ;-).
The rooms are tiny but offer the minimum comfort you need when on a city trip. Beds and bathrooms are small but quite tastefully decorated. There’s mini bar with surprisingly moderate prices.
Breakfast was included in our rate, however one mustn’t expect too much. A cup of coffee, some rolls and a yoghurt.
All in all, I can really recommend Diana to Venice first timers who spent most of their time sightseeing anyway and don’t care too much about thrills and frills. On a previous visit to Venice we stayed at the Hilton Molino Stucky (see my old review) which I can recommend if you are looking for the opposite: a fine hotel, spacious rooms – but with the disadvantage of being cut off from the main attractions on the southern island Giudecca.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeenThereAlready_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The hotel is meters aways from San Marco. You can visi the Cathedral several times (once is not enough), Walking distance for all major attractions..The rooms are neat and silent. Bath rooms are small. Breakfast is very good, continental standards. The staff is helpful and the hotel is surrounded by accesible restaurants. Caution, matress is hard.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This was a great litte hotel, just up a side road from the San Marco plaza which meant everything was local but you escaped the majority of the noise. We had a nice room with the most bijou bathroom you'd ever seen - everything you needed was there, but don't pack a cat!!
Hotel staff were friendly to us and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thediver1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Location is a prime issue for us. This very nice hotel is located about 100 feet from San Marco Piazza. A 2 minute walk to the Doges Palace, 3 minute walk to the Grand Canal, a 15 minute walk to a fine residential area, away from most tourists, 30 minute walk to the Pointe Realto, no boat needed to get to most of Venice.
Nice breakfast, very helpful staff, It is the place to stay. We have stayed at finer and more expensive places, but this central location lets you step out the hotel door and enjoy the Piazza in the evenings with ease. When you leave Venice by air, take the alaguna boat on the Grand Canal, 10 minute easy walk, even with luggage and it drops you off at the airport. A boat to the airport, are you kidding it was great!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lorellianderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Only 30 or so yards from the basilica. Great location. Received a warm welcome at this hotel. Excellent value. Will appeal to European value hunters. Caution: I fear my fellow Americans will prefer larger rooms, larger bathrooms, and more items for breakfast. This is a pity because we had such a wonderful time in Venice, in part because of this hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Zulian
Hotel San Zulian
#254 of 385 in Venice
462 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Citta di Milano
Hotel Citta di Milano
#330 of 385 in Venice
359 reviews
San Marco
Antico Panada
Antico Panada
#304 of 385 in Venice
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 385 in Venice
823 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Moise
Hotel San Moise
#199 of 385 in Venice
666 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#107 of 385 in Venice
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Address: Calle Dei Spechieri San Marco 449, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £47 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Splitty, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Venice
Comfort Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing