We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel to use Choice Rewards points”
Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Diana
Ranked #271 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
882 reviews
484 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 945 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel to use Choice Rewards points”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Venice hotels are expensive, and the Diana is no exception. If I was paying cash money, I don't think I would have felt I was getting good value. While the property is fine, anywhere else in the world you wouldn't feel very good about staying there at the published prices. Rooms are tiny and, while clean, are somewhat tired. What the hotel has going for it is fantastic location 1 minute from St. Marks Square on a tiny alley (study a map carefully before attempting to find the hotel, but go to the north side of the church in the square and look for the street). That said, if I had a choice, I think I'd prefer the Rialto Bridge area for perfect central access to "everything Venice."

Breakfast is very simple (nice Italian rolls, croissants, yogurt, etc) but fine for a day or two. And an excellent cappuccino!

Where the bargain comes into play here is if you have -- or can get -- some Choice Rewards privileges This summer, as in the past, they've been offering this hotel for 8000 points. Terrific value, and I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Venice if I could do that redemption. The downside to coming in the summer is hot weather and a ridiculous over population of tourists at the major sites.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    150
    83
    29
    29
See reviews for
86
168
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We rang to make the reservation and found the process easy with the helpful staff. The hotel is well located to San Marco. Thanks to a previous review we had no difficulty finding the hotel. The room was small for three and decor tired but it was spotlessly clean. The lift was small and slow but we were thrilled to have one as we were on the third floor. It was 37 degrees Celsius during our stay and the airconditioning struggled. (You must return the only room key to the front desk and thus the power to your room won't work and your airconditioning cannot be left on). We requested to leave the airconditioning on one day and the reception staff said it would too much but acquiesced. The breakfast was simple but adequate and nicely served. The breakfast staff friendly and efficient. The reception staff offered good sightseeing and restaurant advice. I recommend this hotel for location and value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel is in a convenient location, but it did take awhile to find. It is a bit of a walk from the drop off point if you take the vaproette.

The hotel was nice and clean, and staff was quite friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris42310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel sits just behind San Marco square the location could not be faulted, the staff were very good and the breakfast was enough to keep you going for the day. The only down side to the hotel was the size of the rooms and the decor was a little tired, I think it's the smallest room we have ever stayed in luckily we were only there for a couple of days.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel is a block and 2 alleys behind St. Mark's Basilica. It is a fair walk from the water bus drop off to the hotel (about .30 miles) especially while pulling luggage across coblestone streets. Our room was on the top floor and quite small. It was clean and quiet. The beds were firm but not too hard. Breakfast was simple with croissants, rolls, yogart, juice and coffee. The staff at the front desk was not overly helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location - close to Piazza San Marco but off the traveled path of tourist. Overall good experience and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This hotel was in a great location. The staff spoke English. The decor is not up to date but the location makes up for it. By Venice standards this hotel was easy to find. We programmed the hotel on the GPS and it got us pretty close. We had to ask for help from another hotel but it turns out we were only 10 metres away. The first night our pillows were hard but the next day we asked housekeeping for different pillows and it was fine. We were able to get hot water anytime. There is free Wifi in the rooms. There were plenty of restaurants just outside the hotel. The location makes it worth staying at this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Excellent location, great service and value for money. Nicely decorated rooms and ideal for a short visit. Staff is very helpful and welcoming.
We travelled with our 4 year old son for 3 nights in Venice and booked comfort hotel Diana. I would stay there again and I would certainly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alda2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Zulian
Hotel San Zulian
#249 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
San Marco
Antico Panada
Antico Panada
#302 of 384 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Citta di Milano
Hotel Citta di Milano
#325 of 384 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#111 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#87 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,308 reviews
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#148 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Property: Hotel Diana
Address: Calle Dei Spechieri San Marco 449, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Venice
Comfort Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing