We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Diana
Ranked #288 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Rude and unprofessional team.

We had booked two connecting rooms in aug 2014 for our family of 4 with 2 young kids. When we reached venice late at night dead tired we were told that we are allotted two seperate rooms!!! Instead of adoining ones which we had carefully selected while doing reservations and hotel selections.

When we tried to claim that this is not what we booked and paid for as it was our right, the receptionist was least bothered or sympathetic. They didnt bother to inform or take consent at all in advance if we wanted 2 seperate rooms instead of connecting rooms and this was thoroughly unprofessional approach.
Later the receptionist started to shout to scare us and asked us to talk to manager next morning. Next day when we talked to manager, the owner of hotel came in and out of the blue he was even more rude and threatened us to leave. Where could we possibly go with 2 young kids and search another hotel instead of enjoying venice for 2 short days??

They took advantage of their home ground and the way they behaved was not acceptable at all. In our many years of extensive travelling we very well know that no place is perfect but such flaws can be covered by listeneing to clients carefully and sympathetically but instead they suggested to us that father should sleep in one room with one kid and mother !!!!(since kids are young and couldnt be left on their own in a seperate room). So our idea of a perfect family vacation in veince was tastefully destroyed by dividing us and luggage in two seperate rooms and not to ask about constant shuffling in between.

I will not value them for
any thing at all.they were all out aggressive and not courteous at all: I cant think of coming here ever again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Mansoor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Diana
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 380 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

The rooms are not bright and spacious so may be not the best choice for the travellers with claustrophobia. But apart from this, location of the hotel is very advantageous. It is just 100-150 meters to St Mark's Square. Rooms are pretty clean, breakfast is just ordinary in a good way. I would definitely consider to stay in this Hotel if I will visit Venice again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kruyela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spent five nights on the top floor in a "compact" room with a rooftop veranda in June 2013.

The lift only goes up to the second floor so you have to climb the stairs to the third floor which is a pain if you are slightly disabled. The hotel is a stones throw from St Marks Square up a very narrow walkway.

There was no space to put the suitcase within the room it had to stand upright in the bathroom. A quant aspect is the nearness to so many churches, so the bells are a constant reminder from about 6am to very late. Breakfast was served in a compact area and was not serve yourself.

Evening meals were no problem as restaurants were everywhere, the cost was not that expensive in view of the location. Getting around was no problem, the water transport is very close at hand.

I enjoyed the "expensive" bonus of a coffee on St Marks Square and the fast launch from St Marks Square back to the airport at the end of the holiday. I did not bother with the gondolas but the cruise up the Grand Canal was great.

I would not return to Venice, I've been and there are to many other places to visit but I would not have missed it for the world.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GasFromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Good location, easy to find (I recommend using a great app called Ulmon city maps to go, which gives you detailed maps of any city with GPS location without use of a data plan) I digress, hotel is very close to the San Marco plaza. The wifi connection is quite robust for a hotel, the breakfast is good, and service is friendly. Overall recommended.

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank NolanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Every time stay in Venice we stay at this hotel, the location is excellent. The rooms are small and yes it's not the Danieli or Palazzo Bauer, but Diana has a charm of it's own. The beds are comfortable, the breakfast is very filling, the AC works well. Bathroom is small. We started our day at Park Hyatt Milan and ended at Diana, no regrets. Our front overlooked the front entrance, and even though it's an extremely busy street (or alley, it's very very narrow), had no problems with noise, and we were on the 1st floor. It has a very slow small elevator. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lestat1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

You can not beat the location. Less than 100 feet from the St. Mark's square.
The breakfast set up and serving was interesting and gives a bed & breakfast feeling. The staff is friendly.

This is not a luxury hotel but decent for the location. Rooms are tiny.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kc_dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A handly location and adequate facilities. Reasonable breakfast, excellent shower but rooms were not sound proof, e.g. Light rattled with people in the upstairs moving. Staff were pleasant and accommodating.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Zulian
Hotel San Zulian
#249 of 384 in Venice
453 reviews
San Marco
Antico Panada
Antico Panada
#306 of 384 in Venice
1,275 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Citta di Milano
Hotel Citta di Milano
#331 of 384 in Venice
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 384 in Venice
806 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#82 of 384 in Venice
1,366 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ateneo
Hotel Ateneo
#210 of 384 in Venice
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Address: Calle Dei Spechieri San Marco 449, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £77 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diana 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Venice
Comfort Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing