We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and very well placed”
Review of Hotel Malibran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Malibran
Ranked #211 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A rather small, but fine hotel near rialto bridge.
The hotel clerks were very nice and polite, the room was clean and well air conditioned.
We didn't try the restaurant, but breakfast was good - you can sit in the yard, which creates a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hagbard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

As other reviews have stated, it is a pain getting your luggage from the water ferry drop off point to the hotel. However on the second day we realised how centrally located we were.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

We were placed in the main building where the room was very underwhelming and the ensuite was the smallest I've ever seen. The air conditioner was noisy and we had no hot water. We waited overnight to check it again in the morning and then reported it to reception.

We were transferred to the building opposite and felt like we were living 5 star in comparison! The air conditioner didn't work but we didn't notice this until the night time and didn't bother to report it, we just left the windows open during the day. The stairs were an absolute nightmare upon leaving with our luggage.

Overall, a reasonable stay but if I were to go again I'd chance it and try another hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MissDavina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

If you arrive by train, catch a reasonably priced water ferry that the locals use to the Rialto terminal. We enjoyed our stay over 3 days / 2 nights, and loved the restaurant food there, enjoying at least one breakfast, lunch and dinner, but we recommend dinner with their own made sweets, tiramisu and pannacotta. The hotel is centrally located. We took the vaporetto to the Rialto stop and got good specific instructions from the vaporetto staff on how to find the Malibran. Some effort to find the one set of stairs over a small bridge, and then a couple of turns. On arrival, we were shown to a very small, humbly furnished room on the top 3rd floor of their adjacent building. Avoid this building - there was no lift! and the stairs were a nightmare with heavy bags. The room was hot, stuffy and the aircon was not working - NOT what we booked! After we held our ground for another room, since the Malibran was full that night, their front desk manager did find a room in higher quality, nearby hotel - serviced by a lift and it had aircon, just lovely. Our bags were transferred back to the Malibran the next morning and we were given a room in the main building - a superior, larger room than in the adjacent building. This room worked well for the next two days, and after dining there with friendly knowledgeable waiting staff, great food and further front desk assistance booking tours, we left as a satisfied customer. The Rialto ferry terminal offered a humbly priced water taxi to get to the airport -approx 35 mins, and this was a great option.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main building that is serviced by the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel has a good location, nice staff and a nice enough breakfast, but the room I stayed in was revolting. The toilet seat was broken, the toilet was lose from the floor and the shower head had thick green miff growing on it, if I had turned the water on that would of been all over my hair. Lucky my mom was also staying there and her shower head was clean, so I showered in her room. The room was just scruffy and in need of a revamp. I have been to a few places in Europe and this hotel room was by far the worst.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were not expecting too much from this hotel as it was very budget and we found it pretty right on the money for the amount we paid. Thankfully we were only staying one night.

Our room was interesting - the only lighting came from the two cheapo bedside lamps so we really struggled to see which made things difficult. The floor was very lumpy in a large section near the bed in - actually not just lumpy but it had kinda had large divets in it. Funnily enough the bathroom was quite nice and much more modern. There was an air-con but we didn't find a remote (which might be a Venetian seasonal thing) so we couldn't use it. There was the option to open the two windows to let fresh air in and alleviate the stuffiness but there was too much noise from the restaurants below which couldn't be helped and is probably echoed by the narrow streets.

We dined at the restaurant and found the meals and service quite good, so did the other Aussies who we chatted too who were dining there also. Enormous meal sizes, especially the pasta so make sure you're hungry! The breakfast offers quite a good choice and again, you will not go hungry.

Check-in/check-out was easy and hassle-free.

In summary, this hotel is in a great location just a couple minutes walk to the Rialto Bridge and water bus terminals (including a direct trip to the airport by water taxi). I guess it's pretty typical of what you'd expect in this price range in Venice so I can't really complain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnswallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We loved our stay at Hotel Malibran in Venice! The location was great since it was just a few minutes' walk from Rialto Bridge. We took the vaporetto to the Rialto stop then walked to the hotel. You do need to go up and down some stairs to get to the hotel but with just one roll along bag, it isn't too bad of a walk. The staff were very friendly and attentive. They allowed us to check into our hotel early.

The room was great, quite large, clean, and had windows opening up to a courtyard outside of 2 restaurants. The decor was very charming and the room was kept clean. Breakfast was very good and included coldcuts, cheeses, pastries, fruit, yogurt, and some other things.

The walls in the room were quite thin, especially in the bathroom. From the bathroom, you could here everything in the next room over. The shower also ran out of hot water very quickly if the person next door was taking a shower at the same time. Overall though it was a great hotel that I would definitely go to again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

As a family of four adults travelling together, we had two rooms booked for 2 nights.

Despite the deathly walk from the water bus terminal to the hotel with heavy luggage (to be expected in Venice), the hotel was in a great location, easy to find when using the Trip Advisor app and close to Rialto bridge.

Upon arrival we were told we would be staying in a second building just across the alley way; this one without a lift. We were prepared to find these situations throughout our stay in Europe but politely requested a change to the main building where a lift was available. This was mainly to accommodation one of our party who suffers from a bad knee. We were told flatly no, that it was full. I am not sure if we had insisted what the outcome would have been; but its not really our style to make a fuss so we didn't.

The rooms were very old fashioned, fair sized but right above a busy square/meeting place for a theatre and one of the hotel restaurants. Even with the windows closed the noise did not reach a level at which you could even consider sleeping until 11:30-12pm. The noise started again early in the morning with children of a family living in apartments across the square up early and shrieking incessantly.

Breakfast was fair with an average range of cereals, cold meats and cheeses and breads to toast. A typical European breakfast, not the best we had on our trip but not the worst.

The wifi is not free- at a cost of $15 for 3 days and is hard to connect to unless you are sitting in the foyer/reception area. The lady at reception wasn't completely horrible but very unfriendly, to the point where we felt as though we were bothering her with any questions or requests we had.

Overall- a price you would expect in Italy but not for those who like a high quality stay. But when in Venice, it is hard to let anything ruin your good mood.

Room Tip: Try to stay in the main building- perhaps the noise would be less there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaimi-Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Tre Archi
Hotel Tre Archi
#250 of 385 in Venice
716 reviews
San Marco
Graspo de Ua
Graspo de Ua
#343 of 385 in Venice
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#148 of 385 in Venice
409 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#196 of 385 in Venice
961 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Alle Guglie
Hotel Alle Guglie
#195 of 385 in Venice
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Malibran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Malibran

Address: Corte Millon Cannaregio, 5864, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £59 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Malibran 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Malibran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malibran Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing