We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Hotel Iris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Iris
Ranked #353 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Turin, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

If you choose to stay in this hotel please ask for room number 112 it has a great view to a very caratteristic canal the hotel location is realy great near Piazzale Roma if you are coming by Car and a short walk from the train station and if you cross the grand canal who is one minute walk you will be in San marco square Go for it

Room Tip: Room number 112 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambogringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    71
    89
    81
    109
See reviews for
70
151
49
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Svezia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

Reception full-time managed, englishspeaking and friendly in an italian way wich means no unnecessary politeness.
Clean and extremely hot room (November 16degrees celsius)
Nice view. Minus is the fact that it came as a surprice that the spartan breakfast was one block away, maybe because of the season?
Still, would recommend to kind of picky travellers with midsize walllet.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Svezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

What a disgusting, horrible place barely of 'hostel' status - NOT hotel!.
Firstly don't believe any of the pics on the website - they are very old. The building is dilapidated and stinks of sewage / bad water & cigarettes. We booked this place as it appeared to be the best 'value for money'. It's NOT! It just happens to be cheaper than every other over-priced dilapidated hotel on Venice Island.
I'm just going to point form the experience:

Very rude and arrogant staff (from the reception to housekeeping)
Argumentative, lying staff intent on treating guests like we didn't have a brain cell in our heads. (NB: When stating the name you have to pronounce it 'EAR-IS' otherwise they don't know what you're saying. (We're Australians who speak very good English and no where else in Italy did we encounter a problem - only Venice and this so-called 'hotel's staff)

Our first room on night 1 was Room 128
bathroom stank of sewage (drain)
Air-con vent was putrid and stank
We had 2 (yes 2) broken TV!!! (they brought in another as the 1st didn't work and then neither did the 2nd!)
Broken phone
The room was literally 12ft x 9ft for two single beds & the biggest most ridiculous wardrobe you have ever seen plonked in the middle against the wall.
The bathroom was tiny and I mean 'dog-box! size'
No fridge, no tea/coffee, (as advertised), blown light globes, pathetic view out of window of lane-way below and broken roof tiles next door (front entrance to the 'hotel' is in this lane-way - not as you may think in the brochure/website pics).

We were then moved in to Room 106 for the second and final night:
Air-con unit dripped all night and absolutely soaked the single bed under it!!!
No shower screen (water went everywhere!!)
Tiny bathroom 2.5ft x 7ft!!!!
No bin
No bathroom exhaust fan
Couldn't open the window to vent the steam as there was a person sitting outside on the neighbouring building having a cigarette!!!! He said hello!!!!
'Hissing' leaking toilet all night.
Plastic cups (how nice - wine tasted very nice in them ....not...shouldn’t have bothered wasting the wine)
No soap
Blown globes (again!) in bathroom, also above one of the beds & the main room ceiling light.
Ripped bed spread, hard beds, flat pillows, 1940's decor with another huge ridiculous wardrobe plonked in the middle of an already small room. What is it with extremely large dis-proportionate wardrobes being plonked in very small rooms!! Throw them in the Grand Canal with all the other rubbish!

I now know why I have been told and I’ve read so many negative stories about how the Venetians hate tourists and treat them accordingly. I will never, ever visit this hotel again nor Venice itself - it stinks, the locals are rude, street signage is confusing, overpriced, graffiti everywhere, stench of rubbish, rats x 4 witnessed (go out after 11pm and see for yourself! in the narrow backstreets – there’s plenty for them to eat) & mosquitoes. Way too much hype surrounds Venice and its so-called hospitality. Its a real shame. Dilapidated, smelly buildings over-run with rats and rude italians may be your cup of tea but it aint a lot of peoples!! The square floods twice daily, people walking on planks, St Marks in dank and stinks, the Rialto Bridge is filthy with more graffiti on it than the Bronx in NY!! (particularly on the 'un-photographed' side!! Pisa, Florence ...... now thats beauty!! And the italians there are welcoming and wonderful people. Save your money and spend it elsewhere!! Believe me, you'll save a lot too!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The location is fine and the house is beautiful and rustic, and that is the only positive things I have to say about this place.

I went there during the Venice biennale in 2009.

The receptionists were grumpy and spoke hardly any English. It was not possible to print a few pages from their computer at the desk. Hardly anything was possible.

The breakfast was awful; dry old bread and bad coffee.

But the worst thing is that someone from the staff (perhaps the cleaning staff) searched through my belongings, found my MasterCard in my luggage, copied all the details and put it back while I was out. When I got home I discovered that a huge amount from my account had been spent on online poker games and the like. The room was locked, I didn't show this card to anyone (in fact I had never used it). It must have been a hotel staff person.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sangild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I am usually very tolerant to hotels because I don't spend much time in one anyway when I'm travelling. But I feel obliged to other tripadvisor members to tell my experience while staying in this hotel.

Well, you gonna have to lower your expectation upon arriving at this hotel. Just look at the photo that I uploaded showing its exterior. The reception guy was ok. But only that one guy. The rest of them were not that welcoming as if it was only guests who need them and they don't need guests. No elevator, no bell boy, so you'll have to take your luggage yourself.

My room, number 129, which is single standard was only 3.5x2 meters, which is ok for me, considering it's an Italian hotel. But it was not that clean. The furniture was actually quite repulsive. And the bed made me itchy. And there were mosquitoes in the room (which made me feel like home, actually, hahaha...).

The walls are so thin you can hear the steps and the door-banging in the hotel.

If you plan to have breakfast, they'll ask you to go to their sister hotel which is only a few meters away, as awful as theirs, and you'll just get some bread and coffee or tea. (see my photo)

Well, if only the staff were nicer, people wouldn't mind the place so much.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJokster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Hotel Iris is a typical very basic Italian hotel, but right in the centre of Venice. It's only one step above a hostel, but if you want location and need to scrimp on the hotel bill, it's a real option. However, there are a few things you need to bear in mind. First, where is it? There's a lot of confusion about this, because if you search the address on Google, you get a location nowhere near where it really is. Search the hotel's own website and use those directions. It's very close to the San Toma waterbus stop. This is an excellent and very central location. Everything is walkable from here. Second, this is a no-frills hotel. There was certainly no a/c in my room or any other part of the hotel I went near. The wi-fi is only guaranteed to work in the lobby, and probably will not work in your room. The beds are narrow and hard, and the furnishings are basic. The neighorhood is noisy. But my room was clean, the people at the front desk were polite and helpful. I don't expect much for this price, and I felt I got decent value for money. But you wouldn't want to stay here if you need a full-service hotel, or you're trying to have a romantic holiday in Venice!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed two nights here in August. Staff was okay, and staircase was steep and tight, especially to haul a suitcase up, but the room was fine, with a nice little view and quiet evenings. The area around the hotel is very neat, with much less tourist traffic than near the Rialto or San Marco's. Free wi-fi (albeit only in the lobby) and A/C were two nice perks that are rare in hotels at this price in Venice. The hotel is less than a 5 minute walk from the San Toma water taxi stop.

Overall, this was an average hotel as far as staff and rooms are considered, but nice if you'd like to get into an area of Venice that is still convenient to all the hot spots without a bunch of traffic, and have A/C during stuffy summer months. Paid 80 euro/night for double bed with bathroom ensuite.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs, and the room numbers don't coincide with floor location- specifically ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebluestepside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#328 of 385 in Venice
357 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ariel Silva
Hotel Ariel Silva
#334 of 385 in Venice
270 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#342 of 385 in Venice
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#335 of 385 in Venice
244 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#304 of 385 in Venice
558 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Airone
Hotel Airone
#345 of 385 in Venice
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iris

Property: Hotel Iris
Address: San Polo 2910/A, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iris 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Iris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iris Hotel Malcesine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing