We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Centauro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centauro Hotel
Ranked #122 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel is a little hard to find but and excellent choice. It is close to the grand canal and the Rialto bridge as well as St Marks and the square, highly recommended. True you have to walk up the stairs but this is trivial. The breakfast is very good. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 'superior' room with a canal view on the top floor. It's a long way up! Room and hotel was very characteristic, however our room wasn't to spacious. The floor was sloping from where I presume part of the building has sunk. This meant when in bed, my feet were above my head! To view the canal you have to lean out the window.

Breakfast was very basic, tables not cleaned very well and some people were coming down to breakfast and having to sit at a dirty table.

Plus points, staff very friendly, great location and cheap!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ashgamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Manager at Centauro Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2014
Google Translation

Gentile signore, le facciate dell'Hotel Centauro sono state restaurate con tecnica del "mattone faccia a vista" due anni fa e quello che lei chiama "muro scrostato" è il pregio di tale facciata. I pavimenti poi sono pendenti solo perchè Venezia è pendente e un pavimento del sedicesimo secolo non può essere messo a bolla come per le strutture ricettive che magari avrete apprezzato a Sharm o altra destinazione. Che dire? Quando leggiamo certe recensioni ci cadono le braccia... Poi va da sè che se queste sono le premesse per un giudizio sul soggiorno, non possiamo certamente sperare che ricevimento, colazione eccetera possano essere state all'altezza dei vostri "ricercatissimi" gusti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I booked through Hotwire. I was travelling with my 82 year old father. We were put on the 2nd floor, which was actually up 3 flights. My father had to carry his own bags. Then we were put in a room where he had to walk down 3 steps and there was no bathroom. The very tiny bathroom was across the hotel!!! I am not a big person and my elbows were in the sink while sitting on the toilet.I asked to change rooms and was told they were sold out. I asked about the bathroom being across the hotel and was told that was the room I booked. I have never stayed in a 3 star hotel where the bathroom was not only not in the room, but not even near the room. Other rooms may have a bathroom in them, but the one given to the travelers using discounted sites do not. Not a good hotel for the elderly or anyone who has to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, or wants privacy from the shower to your room. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Booked a room with the canal view after reading the other reviews on Trip Advisor. Walked all the way from the coach station ( look out and look up for the yellow signs to Rialto, fixed on the walls of buildings) and was able to do it in 30 mins. We were given room 20 which was decorated in the Venetian style, with a modern bathroom attached that was very clean. We did get this "odour" when we first opened the room-door, and soon realized that it was from the canal. We did hear the singing gondoliers, the early arrival of the delivery and waste disposal boats, and enjoyed looking out of the windows as they pass by. The hotel exceeded our expectations, and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fortynineplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was our first stop in our Italy Holiday and the Centauro Hotel was a very pleasant start.
The location was perfect, under 5 minute walk to Rialto Bridge and Vaporetto stop. It was 2 minutes to many restaurants and shops and 10 minutes to San Marco Square. The staff at the hotel was very nice, spoke and understood English well and were very accommodating. The lovely corner room was very large as far as European standards and the bathroom was spacious and updated. True, there is no elevator, which was only a bit of an inconvenience carrying our luggage up and down, however the charm and location of this hotel outweighed everything else.

Room Tip: we had a corner room on the 2nd floor. Although it was not a canal view, not sure if that was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Venice was our 2nd stop in our honeymoon back in November 2011; to be very honest, it took me some time to finalize our accommodation for Venice as most of the hotels are very expensive.

Finally, I saw this hotel coming up from a certain online booking site. I bit the bullet and book for this and just prayed that my wife will not kill me for booking a horrible hotel.

It turned out that this was one of the best places we have stayed during our 2wk honeymoon in Europe. The room is old but was maintained properly. The toilet is very clean as well, very important as this is one of the main things that my wife is really looking for.

The breakfast was good, eat all you can with a good selection of bread, cheese and ham.

Well worth our money!! Will stay here again if ever I find myself in Venice in the future.

Room Tip: If you have lots of bags, try to ask for a lower level room as there is no elevator in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Excellent location in the heart of the city and a stone's throw from the famous Scala Contarini del Bovolo. Very good buffet breakfast. A small, but quiet, clean and pleasantly furnished room.
I had booked a single room with a shared bathroom. However, when I arrived I was told that I had exclusive use of the facility and was duly given a key. The bathroom had a sink, shower and a bidet, but no loo. This, I discovered, was located at the other end of the corridor. A minor inconvenience (no pun intended), but by no means the end of the world.
I would certainly go back again, which, after all, is the ultimate mark of approval.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walks-in-Venice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#108 of 384 in Venice
875 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#53 of 384 in Venice
947 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#131 of 384 in Venice
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#135 of 384 in Venice
812 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#100 of 384 in Venice
492 reviews
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#125 of 384 in Venice
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centauro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centauro Hotel

Address: S.Marco, Campo Daniele Manin, 4297/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £63 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Centauro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Centauro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centauro Hotel Venice
Hotel Centauro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing