We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best little hotel in Venice”
Review of Centauro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Centauro Hotel
Ranked #117 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best little hotel in Venice”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Well I have to say that this was a fab, little hotel. Booked via a well known internet company including flights, excellent value for money. It was touch and go whether or not the long weekend would take place as my wife is quite poorly and was not fit to travel. In the end she wanted me and my stepson to go to have a break, which we did, be it reluctantly. So emailed the hotel for twin beds and that was not a problem. Large room with double and single. Clean, comfortable with a small shower room and toilet. Reception staff very helpful and always polite. Breakfast buffet was good with plenty of variety for 4 mornings. Hotel was relatively easy to find considering it was down a very small alley and looked nothing from the outside. Would recommend to anyone for short stays and will return when I am able to take my lovely wife.

Room Tip: We had room 24 which unfortunately faced another large building with someone switching lights on and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    344
    110
    24
    22
See reviews for
100
395
102
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

This hotel was excellent value (by Venice standards) walkign distance to Rialto bridge, St Marks square and all other sights in Venice. we got a canal view room and in the evenings we could watch the gondoliers glide past with musicians and singers. The room itself was very historic, clean and spacious with high ceilings. The breakfast room had murals and a lovely balcony, the breakfast itself was very basic though. Beware though there were no elevators (as expected in venice) but lugging the suitcases up can be a bit painful on the narrow and slanted stairs. A bit hard to find so it might pay to get directiosn beforehand but an excellent hotel close to everything in venice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I'll confess a guilty pleasure - waiting at the airport for our flight back home, I "casually" mentioned to another traveller what daily rate we'd been paying for our hotel room. Turned out he'd been paying nearly TEN times as much, and from the expression on his face, I don't think he believed his room had been ten times better!

Centauro Hotel is ideally located, just a few minutes' walk from the Rialto vaporetto (water bus) stop. But it's a little hard to find. The hotel's website instructions are 100% accurate: "From Piazzale Roma, take vaporetto no. 1 or 2, getting off at the Rialto stop... Walk down Riva del Carbone until the intersection with Calle Cavalli on the left. Go down this to the end, where you will find Campo Manin. The Centauro Hotel is in Calle della Vida or della Locande, where the famous Scala Contarini del Bovolo is located." What they don't tell you is that, when you get to Campo Manin (a large square), access to the hotel is along a tiny alleyway directly off the square - look up and 3 metres above your head on a wall you will see a small sign pointing to the hotel!

The hotel staff are lovely: if you made an effort to speak some Italian, they could not be more helpful. Our room (no.4) was on the first floor, next to the breakfast room. The room was clean and warm, the bed was comfortable, the minibar fridge was well stocked (and reasonably priced if you were tempted). Breakfasts were buffet style - eat as much as you like - and of reasonable choice and quality (except for the orange juice which was singularly vile!!) You could ask for espresso coffee or serve yourself filter coffee. In summary, excellent value for money.

Close by, there are good, unpretentious restaurants and pizza take-aways - and best of all there is a supermarket! Supermercato Punto Simply, located by Ponte del Teatro. The second time you walk along Calle Cavalli from the Rialto, keep looking right and you will glimpse the supermarket. You can buy litre cartons of Italian wine for under two euros, and you don't need a liver transplant after! Of course, they do sell more expensive, better wines too!

And decent orange juice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RadioGuyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajax
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

The hotel is a little hard to find but and excellent choice. It is close to the grand canal and the Rialto bridge as well as St Marks and the square, highly recommended. True you have to walk up the stairs but this is trivial. The breakfast is very good. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 'superior' room with a canal view on the top floor. It's a long way up! Room and hotel was very characteristic, however our room wasn't to spacious. The floor was sloping from where I presume part of the building has sunk. This meant when in bed, my feet were above my head! To view the canal you have to lean out the window.

Breakfast was very basic, tables not cleaned very well and some people were coming down to breakfast and having to sit at a dirty table.

Plus points, staff very friendly, great location and cheap!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashgamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel C, Manager at Centauro Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Google Translation
Gentile signore, le facciate dell'Hotel Centauro sono state restaurate con tecnica del "mattone faccia a vista" due anni fa e quello che lei chiama "muro scrostato" è il pregio di tale facciata. I pavimenti poi sono pendenti solo perchè Venezia è pendente e un pavimento del sedicesimo secolo non può essere messo a bolla come per le strutture ricettive che magari avrete apprezzato a Sharm o altra destinazione. Che dire? Quando leggiamo certe recensioni ci cadono le braccia... Poi va da sè che se queste sono le premesse per un giudizio sul soggiorno, non possiamo certamente sperare che ricevimento, colazione eccetera possano essere state all'altezza dei vostri "ricercatissimi" gusti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I booked through Hotwire. I was travelling with my 82 year old father. We were put on the 2nd floor, which was actually up 3 flights. My father had to carry his own bags. Then we were put in a room where he had to walk down 3 steps and there was no bathroom. The very tiny bathroom was across the hotel!!! I am not a big person and my elbows were in the sink while sitting on the toilet.I asked to change rooms and was told they were sold out. I asked about the bathroom being across the hotel and was told that was the room I booked. I have never stayed in a 3 star hotel where the bathroom was not only not in the room, but not even near the room. Other rooms may have a bathroom in them, but the one given to the travelers using discounted sites do not. Not a good hotel for the elderly or anyone who has to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, or wants privacy from the shower to your room. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Booked a room with the canal view after reading the other reviews on Trip Advisor. Walked all the way from the coach station ( look out and look up for the yellow signs to Rialto, fixed on the walls of buildings) and was able to do it in 30 mins. We were given room 20 which was decorated in the Venetian style, with a modern bathroom attached that was very clean. We did get this "odour" when we first opened the room-door, and soon realized that it was from the canal. We did hear the singing gondoliers, the early arrival of the delivery and waste disposal boats, and enjoyed looking out of the windows as they pass by. The hotel exceeded our expectations, and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fortynineplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#133 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Serenissima
Hotel Serenissima
#99 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#113 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#148 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#105 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#71 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centauro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centauro Hotel

Property: Centauro Hotel
Address: S.Marco, Campo Daniele Manin, 4297/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#139 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Centauro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Centauro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centauro Hotel Venice
Hotel Centauro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing