We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location (once you find it)”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Canaletto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Canaletto
Ranked #113 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Location (once you find it)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Although familiar with Venice from past trips we had not stayed here before. We were looking for accommodations for a few days prior to boarding a ship. We booked directly with the hotel online based on the recommendation of acquaintances and thought the rates looked reasonable given the location.

We arrived in the middle of a driving rainstorm and although water taxis can dock at the rear of the hotel the water levels were too high to permit clearance under some of the bridges so we were dropped at the Rialto Bridge. While the hotel is relatively close we managed to get completely turned around and spent an hour slogging up and down bridges, listening to directions that weren't wholly accurate and getting thoroughly soaked. Finally we arrived to a warm and friendly welcome. Once you're situated in the hotel it's easy to find your way around, it's just getting there on foot that can be a problem.

We had a great room, spacious and spotlessly clean. Internet access was problem free. Breakfast was excellent. Staff were all friendly and very helpful. As said before we've been to Venice in the past, know our way around, like to explore on foot, so found this location really convenient in terms of getting around the city. The good news was that when we were ready to leave the water levels had dropped and the water taxi was able to pick us up behind the hotel (so much easier).

Next time in Venice wouldn't even think about booking anywhere else. Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the second floor at the rear, overlooking the canal. Spacious (bedroom on upper fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMSLMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    473
    171
    42
    21
See reviews for
215
592
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
150 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at hotel Canaletto. It is smack dab in between St Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge. Venice is a very easy place to get turned around in and it helped very much to follow the signs to either of the main sites and find our hotel again!

The room was small-ish, but that is typical of a historical hotel room. The stay was comfortable and the bathroom adequate.

Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLover985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Canaletto Hotel was a great find. We booked our room on the web at the special discount price of $139. We were not disappointed. It was near St. Mark's Square, and though we got lost several times finding it, we loved the location out of the frey of huge crowds and noise. It was on a quiet narrow street with several sidewalk restaurants next door and only steps away to a canal for a water taxi.
The room decor was charming - a Louis XIVth or Rococo style with brocade fabric as wallpaper and elegant matching drapes and sheers. The mini fridge and clothes cupboards were painted in flowers and there was an ornate glass chandelier, marble floors, imaculate bathroom. The room was spacious and we loved it.
Breakfast was available at 8 am but they made arrangements to have it earlier to suit our departure. They would also pack a box breakfast on request. Very nice. The desk staff were all knowledgeable and gracious, helping us with checkin and in ordering a water taxi on departure. Our luggage did not arrive with us, and they let us know immediately when it came.
The only drawback would be for a guest who is disabled. There is no elevator. But there is a hoyer lift on the stairs so it is possible for that person to be transported up and down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RidingHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaukapakapa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Canaletto before and after our cruise. Loved the quaintness of the place,the staff were friendly and very helpful. It was easy to walk/wander around central Venice and yes we got lost, all part of the experience. Yes I would stay there again. It is Venice, this hotel is not a multinational "any where in the world it's all the same". Small rooms, no lift but an elaborate bathroom!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank susiegirtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Canaletto in September 13 and I would like to
say that the staff were very pleasant, all very helpful -English speaking.
The room was just what we wanted. Buffet breakfast was varied and again the
staff available to serve coffee, etc. were always friendly and helpful. The
hotel is very conveniently situated for seeing the main sites. I would
certainly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to book again to see the lovely city of Venice!.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights at this lovely hotel. It really was in a great location, just a few minutes walk in either location to Rialto bridge or st marks square. The room wasn't huge but perfectly fine for the amount of time we spent in it. Really cute Venetian decor. Walls were looking a tiny bit grubby (decorated in Venetian style material rather than wallpaper) but that was really the only gripe I had. Everything else was spotless. Lots of choice of the usual stuff at breakfast and on the day we left we didn't have time for it so they packed up a bag for us. Found the reception staff really friendly too.

Other bonuses included cheapest minibar ever, only €1.50 for water (you can pay up to €2 out and about).

We didn't find it too difficult to find, though we did take a scenic route, ending up in st marks square after trying to follow someone else's directions. So thought I'd share how we got there. We got the Alilaguna from the airport (orange line) to Rialto. Cost €27 return each. Follow signs for the water bus out of the airport, they run about every half an hour. When you get off, turn left and walk as far as you can along the grand canal. You'll go over Rialto bridge and then be forced to turn right through an alleyway, ending up in a little square with restaurant tables set out in the middle and a statue. Cross the square (when you get to the square youll be facing a clothes shop called luisa spagnola. imagine you stake a few steps to your right sideways, then look straight ahead) and go under the archway (has an illuminated green sign and arrow above it). Keep going straight, you'll go over a little bridge and keep an eye out for the hotel Canaletto sign on the right hand side. This sign will take you straight to the hotel.


Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Jennie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

What a surprise!We upgraded to a 2 story,canal view room for an extra 35 euros...4 times larger than any hotel room i've experienced in venice.Large marble bath,magnificent double windows overlooking the water and bridges and just enough of a balcony space to sit and people and gondola watch!At least 20 ft ceilings in the living space,bedroom upstairs.Modern but still Venetian decor throughout.A great bargain near Rialto Bridge,and not far from San Marco square.

Room Tip: There are only 2 2-story rooms on the canal....The other rooms are also spacious and nice for Venice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lastupendaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#46 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#79 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#147 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canaletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canaletto

Property: Hotel Canaletto
Address: Castello 5487, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canaletto 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the heart of the romantic city of Venice, in a very quiet position just 200m from the beautiful St. Mark’s Square and the famous Rialto Bridge. It is the ideal starting point to set off through the alleys to discover the wonderful monuments and typical shops which hide all the ancient, fascinating mysteries of Venice. The hotel takes its name from the famous Venetian artist, Antonio Canal, who was known as Canaletto. The rooms where the artist used to live (1697-1768) have now become our elegant hotel rooms. A friendly, elegant, romantic and quiet atmosphere furnished in typical 18th century Venetian style, with stucco work, damask, hand lacquered and gilded furniture, Murano glass mirrors and lamps. All rooms are soundproofed and have private bathroom with shower or bath, air conditioning, telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, minibar, sat TV, hair dryer and safe. There are also our superior rooms with views of the canal or the typical square with the well-curb. The elegant public rooms (breakfast room, bar, TV room, internet point and Wi-Fi access) are all decorated with stucco work and the antique smoothed lime finish, and have some lovely reproduction of Canaletto’s works on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canaletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing