We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Canaletto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Canaletto
Ranked #112 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is in great location for a few days in Venice . Few minutes walk each way to Rialto and San Marco .
It is getting a bit dated but it is very clean and clean towels each day a must when you can't dry anything out . Our room was very small but adequate for few days . Bar fridge . Not sure what it is but pillows in Italy are appalling and these no different . Flattest pillows I have ever slept on .
Breakfast was basic but enough .
Staff helpful and have good English most of them .
All in all good little hotel for 3 star .
Location location

Room Tip: Try to get one of the bigger rooms if here for more than few days
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is very centrally located, once you find it! It is approximately a 15 minute walk from Rialto Bridge and St. Marks Square. Like many hotels in Venice, it is tucked away down an narrow street and is very difficult to find. I think I have a good sense of direction but it took four of us about 40 minutes to find. Do yourself a favour and book a water taxi to the hotel. It is expensive (120 euros) but it drops you 20 feet from the hotel, is a flat rate for up to 6 people and is worth every penny. Dragging your suitcase over cobblestone steps and through public transportation is a nightmare!

The excellent customer service you receive from the staff in this hotel make it great. They were very knowledgeable in directing us to a wonderful restaurant for dinner, loaning us umbrellas when it rained, and arranging for a water taxi for us back to the airport.

I liked that fact that Hotel Canaletto offered free WiFi. Reception was very strong through the hotel and we had no trouble connecting.

The rooms are small but comfortable. I would have liked a shower but instead had a dwarf sized bathtub in which to wash. I guess i am just used to North American standards. My friends had a regular shower stall so my room was probably the exception.

Breakfast was mostly pastries and cold cuts but is certainly adequate and is included in the cost of the room.

Room Tip: Request a room with a full shower instead of a mini bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happiesttraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Canaletto last September, 2013. It's exactly half way between St Marks Square and the Rialto Bridge. Staff was European friendly and spoke English quite well. Breakfasts were the usual for mid-range hotels in Italy. The accommodations were very comfortable if a little small. The besta thing about it is the location. Just off the 'tourist trap' route but still in the tourist area. Besta both worlds. Local restaurants are great and there's plenty of fast foods within a one minute walk. Two minutes away is a great grocery store. We'd stay here again in a minute. It's hard to find the first time but worth the search.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location, and the Venetian decor is lovely. The hotel is old and you can tell. A few things like a simple lick of paint and changing the stained chair covers would go along way, and give the hotel the more comfortable clean feel.
Staff were pleasant, although the night time staff was a little unhelpful.
The room was lovely and spacious, although a little dark.
The bathroom smelt a bit off.
Breakfast was not amaZing.
For a Venice hotel this is good value.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra8210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

It was hard to find but what I loved about this hotel is, away from busy streets and bars. Had good selection of breakfast. Very friendly staff. probably less than 10mins walk to the square. 30mins to train station. Close to the famous bridge. Our train don't leave till evening and we were able to extend our stay at the hotel for half the cost till 6pm. The room was spacious enough. Large bathroom with everything you need. Furniture were older but more like Victorian style. We loved our stay here and definitely will comeback again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank csoriaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Once you find it and know you're way around, this really is in a good location. Our bathroom was a little funky with a curtain making up the shower stall, and one of our beds was certainly quite old and broken down so sleeping was not so good. The breakfasts are passable but nothing to write home about. Staff was very helpful and courteous. Honestly, the bed was the single biggest issue and possibly what'd prevent us using Canaletto for our next Venice trip, but that can always be a crap shoot.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Good central in the heart of Venice. Clean and comfortable. Nice dinning room, very venetian decor. However breakfast could do with a bit more choice for guests. Venice is generally expensive, so this hotel is good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#47 of 385 in Venice
1,072 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#88 of 385 in Venice
1,105 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#125 of 385 in Venice
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#115 of 385 in Venice
853 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#127 of 385 in Venice
935 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 385 in Venice
2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canaletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canaletto

Address: Castello 5487, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £53 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canaletto 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the heart of the romantic city of Venice, in a very quiet position just 200m from the beautiful St. Mark’s Square and the famous Rialto Bridge. It is the ideal starting point to set off through the alleys to discover the wonderful monuments and typical shops which hide all the ancient, fascinating mysteries of Venice. The hotel takes its name from the famous Venetian artist, Antonio Canal, who was known as Canaletto. The rooms where the artist used to live (1697-1768) have now become our elegant hotel rooms. A friendly, elegant, romantic and quiet atmosphere furnished in typical 18th century Venetian style, with stucco work, damask, hand lacquered and gilded furniture, Murano glass mirrors and lamps. All rooms are soundproofed and have private bathroom with shower or bath, air conditioning, telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, minibar, sat TV, hair dryer and safe. There are also our superior rooms with views of the canal or the typical square with the well-curb. The elegant public rooms (breakfast room, bar, TV room, internet point and Wi-Fi access) are all decorated with stucco work and the antique smoothed lime finish, and have some lovely reproduction of Canaletto’s works on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Nozio Netplan srl, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canaletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing