We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”
Review of Hotel Canaletto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Canaletto
Ranked #114 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel Canaletto was a quiet, authentic, clean and well located hotel. The breakfast was average and the pillows terrible but other than that it was great value for money. A little hard to find but followed directions in previous reviews which were very helpful. Vaporetta from P. Roma to Rialto around 9pm was no problem. Found the day staff incredibly helpful and kind but battled to understand the night manager.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisadan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    494
    175
    42
    21
See reviews for
221
619
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Canaletto last night following a friend's recommendation. Given previous experiences in Venice with overpriced, badly appointed hotels I wasn't expecting much so was pleasantly surprised ... The Hotel Canaletto was well priced, of a good standard (3 ***), well situated, had nice staff, good breakfast, nice aspect and great pillows!

We found the Hotel easily which is saying something in Venice - almost a straight line from the water taxi stop Rialto, in a quaint building, traditionally furnished and quite well maintained.

Given it was Venice, our room accommodated the three of us reasonably well - it was not spacious but sufficient - clean and comfortable with TV and minbar. We did have a nice view of the square too.

Traveller Tip - leave heavy luggage at the Train Station and transfer your gear to one bag if possible.The cost is reasonable and you will be happy not to have to drag your stuff through the Venice streets, particularly if you are travelling during busy times.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Orsag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Hotel Canaletto was a pleasant little hotel in a great location between San Marco and Rialto Bridge. Our room was a reasonable size and nicely furnished in Venetian style. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was OK and the staff were pleasant. There were lots of nice, reasonably priced restaurants within walking distance.restaurant

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 989ChrisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We only stayed one night, but we will return. Great position, very helpful staff & good set up for breaky. It is quite old but very quaint, very clean, such good atmosphere & just around the corner from St Marco Sq. We arrived at Marco Polo airport then took a private water taxi nearly straight to the door, best ever service. K & L Reiter Adelaide South Australia

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kay r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel is in great location for a few days in Venice . Few minutes walk each way to Rialto and San Marco .
It is getting a bit dated but it is very clean and clean towels each day a must when you can't dry anything out . Our room was very small but adequate for few days . Bar fridge . Not sure what it is but pillows in Italy are appalling and these no different . Flattest pillows I have ever slept on .
Breakfast was basic but enough .
Staff helpful and have good English most of them .
All in all good little hotel for 3 star .
Location location

Room Tip: Try to get one of the bigger rooms if here for more than few days
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel is very centrally located, once you find it! It is approximately a 15 minute walk from Rialto Bridge and St. Marks Square. Like many hotels in Venice, it is tucked away down an narrow street and is very difficult to find. I think I have a good sense of direction but it took four of us about 40 minutes to find. Do yourself a favour and book a water taxi to the hotel. It is expensive (120 euros) but it drops you 20 feet from the hotel, is a flat rate for up to 6 people and is worth every penny. Dragging your suitcase over cobblestone steps and through public transportation is a nightmare!

The excellent customer service you receive from the staff in this hotel make it great. They were very knowledgeable in directing us to a wonderful restaurant for dinner, loaning us umbrellas when it rained, and arranging for a water taxi for us back to the airport.

I liked that fact that Hotel Canaletto offered free WiFi. Reception was very strong through the hotel and we had no trouble connecting.

The rooms are small but comfortable. I would have liked a shower but instead had a dwarf sized bathtub in which to wash. I guess i am just used to North American standards. My friends had a regular shower stall so my room was probably the exception.

Breakfast was mostly pastries and cold cuts but is certainly adequate and is included in the cost of the room.

Room Tip: Request a room with a full shower instead of a mini bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happiesttraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at Hotel Canaletto last September, 2013. It's exactly half way between St Marks Square and the Rialto Bridge. Staff was European friendly and spoke English quite well. Breakfasts were the usual for mid-range hotels in Italy. The accommodations were very comfortable if a little small. The besta thing about it is the location. Just off the 'tourist trap' route but still in the tourist area. Besta both worlds. Local restaurants are great and there's plenty of fast foods within a one minute walk. Two minutes away is a great grocery store. We'd stay here again in a minute. It's hard to find the first time but worth the search.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#90 of 385 in Venice
425 reviews
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#106 of 385 in Venice
603 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 385 in Venice
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#30 of 385 in Venice
950 reviews
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canaletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canaletto

Property: Hotel Canaletto
Address: Castello 5487, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canaletto 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the heart of the romantic city of Venice, in a very quiet position just 200m from the beautiful St. Mark’s Square and the famous Rialto Bridge. It is the ideal starting point to set off through the alleys to discover the wonderful monuments and typical shops which hide all the ancient, fascinating mysteries of Venice. The hotel takes its name from the famous Venetian artist, Antonio Canal, who was known as Canaletto. The rooms where the artist used to live (1697-1768) have now become our elegant hotel rooms. A friendly, elegant, romantic and quiet atmosphere furnished in typical 18th century Venetian style, with stucco work, damask, hand lacquered and gilded furniture, Murano glass mirrors and lamps. All rooms are soundproofed and have private bathroom with shower or bath, air conditioning, telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, minibar, sat TV, hair dryer and safe. There are also our superior rooms with views of the canal or the typical square with the well-curb. The elegant public rooms (breakfast room, bar, TV room, internet point and Wi-Fi access) are all decorated with stucco work and the antique smoothed lime finish, and have some lovely reproduction of Canaletto’s works on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Canaletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing