We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just great, for the price”
Review of Hotel Canaletto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Canaletto
Ranked #115 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I totally agree with the comments from others about getting what you pay for. This is a budget hotel and we had 2 night pre cruise, with kids and did not want to spend a fortune. Rooms were clean tidy and air-con worked well. Location is great and staff very helpful. Breakfast was basic, but did the job. we got a water taxi at the nearest canal, arranged by hotel and very much enjoyed our stay. We would definitely use again. Book direct rather than through agencies, as this gave discount.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ham67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 1,172 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were travelling around Italy via trains in August 2014 with our kids . We stayed in the Canaletto for two nights. We were on a budget because we had a number of hotels booked during our trip but found the Canaletto to be one of our favourites . It had a great feel with character and charm. The reception was welcoming with helpful staff who provided friendly information and advice. Wifi was free and our kids say it worked fine.The room was nice and what we expected from the hotel photographs. It was cleaned everyday and the towels were replaced .The breakfast ,provided in the price of the room,was good and served in a lovely breakfast area which was well decorated reflecting the hotels charm and character. The location of the hotel was excellent,five minutes walk from the Rialto bridge and Saint Marks square but in a really quiet square which was tucked away from the noise of the busy Venice streets. In brief this was a great little hotel with character and charm priced appropriately for what you get,which was really a little gem in Venice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Humphriesholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Be prepared to get lost…in a fun way…and you will love Venice. The rooms were a bit tired but clean and the location was great. We were right in between Ponte Rialto and Piazza san Marco. The hotel staff was very nice and had a great sense of humour. All up a lovely place to stay.
http://tourdeitalia.tumblr.com/post/80696472066/venice-many-have-written-of-the-beauty-but-who
http://tourdeitalia.tumblr.com/

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Someone said its terrible but how much have you paid? It's clearly stated as a three star not five or six stars. Hence for the price, it's a reasonable hotel for stay. It's has helpful staff explain to you the way clearly. The air con works fine the buffet breakfast is prepared. In conclusion if you know you've paid for a cheaper hotel you expect a smaller room and overall I'm satisfied.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tonyxud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Wonderful Venice, terrible Canaletto!

The hotel is very well located: Only a short five-minutes-walk to the Rialto-Bridge and the San-Marco-Place! But honestly - that's all. The Canaletto isn't worth more than two stars, even if you pay a five-stars-rate. There's no showergel in the bathroom, the towels seem more like dishclothes, the TV has only three italian channels, the hairdryer is as old as the stucco on the ceiling (doesn't work) and the temperature of the shower is set by a little ghost (hot, cold, hot, etc.) Just to mention a few things... The most incomprehensible thing was, that they insisted us to leave the key at the front desk, when leaving the hotel. But we didn't and were punished by angry glances and shouts. And at last a well-meant hint: bring your own fruits or vegetable for breakfast, because you won't find anything fresh there. If you're up early in the morning, you will get wonderful fresh fruit from the Rialto Market! That wouldn't be a problem, because you won't get a lot of sleep at the Canaletto: Not only the rooms are poorly soundproofed and the housekeeping is reckless loud - there is additionally a boat for garbage-collection including a waste-press every morning for nearly one hour directly under your window! So if you want to enjoy your trip and the amazing atmosphere of Venice, you should not check in at the Canaletto.

Stayed: August 2014
7  Thank Cocojelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Had a one night stay here before joining a cruise . Hotel in really good location 5 minutes from Rialto bridge and 10 mins from St Marks square .Hotel room was very comfortable ,spotlessly clean and of a good size. Our room 132 had a window with shutters that opened onto a very picturesque canal . Had no difficulty finding the hotel took a shared water taxi from Marco Polo airport to Rialto bridge ,directions were good .
Staff were very helpful , courteous and very professional . Would certainly recommend .

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows overlooking the canal .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank skipper47_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

After a nightmare trip of delays(we lost a night/day's stay in Venice as a result) we finally arrived at Marco Polo airport only to discover that our luggage had not arrived and were only given a tel.number for us to follow up with Swiss Air.We were extremely stressed because we had to board a cruise ship the following day and our family of 4 had only the clothes we were wearing.
When we told Igor, the friendly gentleman at reception of our plight, he immediately started phoning the Swiss Air number but the phone was unanswered.He told us to leave it with him while we enjoyed the rest of the day in Venice as it was already 14h00.We came back to the hotel at 18h00 to check if there was progress and Igor told us he had been phoning the whole time with no success and had also logged on to a luggage tracking site but the status still showed that the luggage was still in Zurich.He constantly re-assured us that he would help get our baggage to the hotel in time for boarding the cruise or would arrange that they send it on to the next port of call if necessary.We proceeded to dinner and when we returned at about 22h00, Igor had left a note with the night staff saying that the baggage was now on its way there but if the rain did not clear up it would definitely be at the hotel in the morning.To our relief, our luggage arrived at 23h30 that night.
The following morning Igor then also accompanied us to our water taxi to make sure we arrived at the cruise terminal on time.

Footnote: besides excellent service this hotel was great value for money and extremely well situated-close to Rialto Bridge and San Marco.Would recommend to all to stay here while in Venice!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernedeneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#49 of 387 in Venice
1,099 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#125 of 387 in Venice
861 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#90 of 387 in Venice
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#126 of 387 in Venice
522 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#158 of 387 in Venice
2,179 reviews
Castello
Liassidi Palace Hotel
Liassidi Palace Hotel
#73 of 387 in Venice
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canaletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canaletto

Address: Castello 5487, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £51 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canaletto 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in the heart of the romantic city of Venice, in a very quiet position just 200m from the beautiful St. Mark’s Square and the famous Rialto Bridge. It is the ideal starting point to set off through the alleys to discover the wonderful monuments and typical shops which hide all the ancient, fascinating mysteries of Venice. The hotel takes its name from the famous Venetian artist, Antonio Canal, who was known as Canaletto. The rooms where the artist used to live (1697-1768) have now become our elegant hotel rooms. A friendly, elegant, romantic and quiet atmosphere furnished in typical 18th century Venetian style, with stucco work, damask, hand lacquered and gilded furniture, Murano glass mirrors and lamps. All rooms are soundproofed and have private bathroom with shower or bath, air conditioning, telephone, Wi-Fi internet access, minibar, sat TV, hair dryer and safe. There are also our superior rooms with views of the canal or the typical square with the well-curb. The elegant public rooms (breakfast room, bar, TV room, internet point and Wi-Fi access) are all decorated with stucco work and the antique smoothed lime finish, and have some lovely reproduction of Canaletto’s works on the walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canaletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing