We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Casenova” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casanova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casanova Hotel
Ranked #288 of 386 Hotels in Venice
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Hotel Casenova”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We stayed four nights and found the location of the hotel very convenient for all parts of Venice. Venice is very different from any other european experience I have had, it was funny watching so many people trailing through the city towing suitcases, as there are no taxis or buses to the hotel door. This hotel is very convenient for the water taxis and vaporetto, a short walk from St Mark's Gardens and behind Harry's Bar.

Our room was good for a short stay, the room was clean and well decorated and on the 4th Floor, the rooms were quiet internally but noisy if you have the windows open, please remember that this is a city of no vehicles so the only way is on foot and people walk though this area until about 1am, we were no troubled by the talking. The bathroom was ok, the taps etc could have done with a good polish, although this was carried out before the 4th night, probably a different housekeeper. Breakfast was very basic, tea and coffee, fruit juice (no choice), yoghurt and a basket of rolls, jam, butter and one cheese portion (dairylea);

The front desk was efficient but no warmth to the welcome. I would give the restauraunts right opposite the door a miss, cheap and nasty, not just our opinion.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    170
    150
    51
    45
See reviews for
103
228
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
niagara falls, canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

The location is perfect, you have a view of San Marco church roof out your window, and you are within 2 blocks of the square. But there is no storage space or drawers for your luggage, very basic, clean. On a par with Red Roof Inn type of hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

This hotel is very well located. Rooms and bathroom need heavy housecleaning. Noisy rooms. Also found some very small insects n the bathroom. Front staff fairly friendly. Breakfast good for european standards but staff cold.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMLalonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I'll be honest and say that I chose the hotel solely for its location. I was arriving in late from Venice and being a first time vacationer to this city, I did not want to have to travel too far to get to my hotel. It is really a stone's throw away from the alilaguna station. I saw that the reviews on tripadvisor were not great but decided to put convenience over comfort. I think I really regretted that choice. The lobby of the hotel is rather charming, the helpfulness of the staff was mixed. The hotel room was seriously a blast from the past with all the furniture you can imagine from your grandmother's living room. The toilet was decently clean but I had to flush it a few times before anything would go down. I got stuck in the toilet and had to ram my way out by pushing my shoulder against the door. The sofa in the room had mysterious blotches of stuff and crustiness at some corners. It's really noisy until early in the morning because the hotel is really close San Marco Square, I can't really blame the hotel for this but if you are a light sleeper, this hotel is not an option for you. Some might love the charm of this hotel because it is probably representative of the era in which it was built, but unfortunately, my husband and I are not people who enjoy this kind of charm. That being said, the one redeeming thing is that you are right next to the square, all the famous brand name stores are right downstairs, we conveniently walked to the Rialto bridge area from the hotel as well. The pasta joint across the street was decent, serving up more american type pasta, but satisfying nonetheless.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank allyphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

More like a backpacker hostel. Noisy rooms and visitors banging the main entrance door throughout the night.
No staff at night so couldn't deal with this.
Room was not clean as expected.
There are better hotel for same price nearby.
Only good point is freshly prepared breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank webonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was a perfectly nice hotel to stay for two nights while meeting up with a friend. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was very clean (although the shower nozzle was broken). The front desk staff was helpful with restaurants and directions, and it's easy to get to the vaparetto and the water taxi to the airport. Venice is a beautiful city with wonderful places to explore. The next time I'm in Venice I will probably stay in a much less touristy location to avoid the crowds and the kitchy shops.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DizzyD5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

The hotel is downtown Venice, just near San Marco square on one of the small streets around. The location is very good if you for visiting but is quite noisy - our room had the windows to the street. It's not a problem if you spend a week-end there, it could be a problem for families with small children.
The room was clean, nice, with all the facilities I would expect beside internet connection (poor, only in the reception you could have signal).
Quite expensive but I can say this could be due to location and also the period we have been there (August is high season).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoinar_ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Locanda Antico Casin
Locanda Antico Casin
#236 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#69 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
San Marco
San Marco Palace Suites
San Marco Palace Suites
#262 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#172 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Lisbona
Hotel Lisbona
#165 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
Hotel Royal San Marco
#197 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casanova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova Hotel

Property: Casanova Hotel
Address: Sestiere San Marco 1284 | Frezzaria 1284, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Casanova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Casanova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing