We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near Rialto.”
Review of Hotel Bartolomeo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bartolomeo
Ranked #129 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very helpful staff. I mistakenly ordered 2 prepaid rooms online and they were kind enough to only charge us for one until we arrived and confirmed we only needed one. V. nice room; good price; great resturant suggestions.

Room Tip: Kichen on 2nd floor; upper floors quiet, but no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeenSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is situated just a short walk from Rialto bridge and bus stops, so it's very easy to get to. As others have said, use the map on their website as it's a bit of a maze around the alleys!! The staff here were very friendly and welcoming. We were on the 4th floor. Unfortunately what let it down for me was the noise coming from the bar next door. We couldn't sleep with the windows open because of it but being on the top floor the room became very hot with them closed. I hate to say it but I wouldn't stay here again just because of that really, but the staff really were very helpful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank tlm1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Venice is expensive so we wanted to ensure our budget allowed for countless visits to the café’s, restaurants, shops and attractions the city has to offer. The hotel was something we were willing to compromise on and all we wanted was a clean place in a great location with friendly service. In that sense Hotel Bartolomeo fit the bill perfectly. On the downside, furniture in the rooms was pretty worn and tired whilst the breakfast did not live up to the high culinary expectations Italian food offers. That said, staff were great, rooms were cleaned daily, we were right in the centre of a lively part of Venice, we could leave our bags for free on our final day and there were even umbrellas on hand for the guests to use.

Room Tip: There is a great, reasonably priced wine bar/café with live music right next to reception which make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

hotel bartolomeo is such a wonderful and cozy hotel. perfect location close to san marcos squares and just a couple of minutes walking to rialto bridge. people in the hotel are helpful and friendly. rooms very clean, confortable and warm. i would hilghly recommend it and for sure i will come back when i visit venize again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iguazel U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I liked how secluded it was at the same time that it was close to everything. Confusing huh? All looked well until night time came and a bar located next to the building had live band and loud. If I closed the window then I would burn with the lack of air coming in just hot air. No elevator, but for the price is a good exercise. Breakfast was very nice and the personnel very helpful. Would go again if I knew the noise would be controlled :(

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggieluz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Although a short walk from teh water taxi site, this turns out to be a very well run hotel. Clean and comfortable. It's nestled in the heart of the city amongst residense and a few bars. So you feel as much of a part of hte city as you can withot living there. We stayed on the top floor (a better view of a partial skyline). The staff was very courteous and professional. Another example that you don't have to spend high Euros to get high star treatment. The breakfast was perfectly adequate for a family. Great coffee. Caution: No elevator. Which means you can eat as much as you want as you will burn the calories on the stairs. Other than the first floor, it's not a hotel for the elderly or those looking to be pampered etc. ;-) Short stroll to San Marco square. 5 min water taxi ride to the train station. From a very picky and critical guy. This was well worth my money. Enjoy.

Room Tip: ask for a top floor for view and quite or a bottom floor if you dont want to tackle too much stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spaceflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed 3 nights and found it easily following the hotel's website directions. This hotel was in the centre of everything and about 1-2 mins walk to the Rialto bridge. Venice is easy to navigate as there are signs on just about every corner telling you which way to the major sights. It was great to find a hotel in San Marco for this price.

We had a very clean and spacious triple room with wifi. The breakfast was included and was more than adequate, they will even make jugs of cappuccino and bring them to your table. There was a safe in the room which was appreciated, and the staff offered to carry our bags upstairs for us. The staff on duty during most of our stay were fantastic, and very helpful - even looking up alternative routes to the airport and planning our walk to the water bus stop in St. Marks's with the least amount of bridges for our luggage.

The only downside to this hotel was that the walls are paper thin (but hey, it's Europe) and that it can be a bit noisy from the bar / courtyard around the corner. The last thing is that the hairdryer is more like a vacuum cleaner. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maplepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#99 of 387 in Venice
853 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#107 of 387 in Venice
440 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Malibran
Hotel Malibran
#213 of 387 in Venice
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#122 of 387 in Venice
2,278 reviews
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Castello
Hotel alla Fava
Hotel alla Fava
#109 of 387 in Venice
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bartolomeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bartolomeo

Address: Sestiere San Marco 5494, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £60 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bartolomeo 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Bartolomeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartolomeo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing