We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE HOTEL”
Review of Hotel Basilea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Basilea
Ranked #352 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NICE HOTEL”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

nice hotel close to the train station and near the main place of Venice. price is not too expensive, breakfast is ok

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russiangirl298484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    75
    91
    42
    75
See reviews for
44
161
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liskeard
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My partner and I stayed here to celebrate our engagement, what a huge mistake!!

We initally booked to stay in a hotel just outside of the city but decided to swap our hotels and selected this one as the location was a little more central and on the website the rooms looked quite pleasant. Imagine our surprise when on check-in we were shown to a door opposite the hotel with an iron grate across it, leading us up to a tiny room with two single camp beds and a shared bathroom! We immediately went back downstairs to speak to management as we'd booked and paid for a double en suite and figured there must have been a mistake. On seeing us the man on reception walked away and hid behind a staff door! After being ignored for some time we decided to go for dinner in the hope that when we returned somebody else would be on shift. Eventually at about 10pm we were spoken to - IN FLUENT ENGLISH!! - by another member of staff who changed his tone as soon as he realised we were complaining and pretended he did not understand, we then put our best efforts into describing the situation in Italian and after some time he understood that we wouldn't be giving up until we were properly acknowledged. We were offered 20Euros as a refund but no choice to upgrade as there were 'no other rooms available'

This was the hotel from hell, pervy italian locals would sit on the landing accross from the shared (ergh) bathroom every morning wearing next to nothing. Bugs, unwashed sheets, a huge broken fan (possibly the air conditioning advertised?!) taking up half the space in the tiny room and squeaky old camp beds. I am fully aware of the difference between 5* luxury and budget accommodation, considering the price we paid (£450 for 3 nights) I was not expecting butler service but a little cleanliness and a room that matches the 'professional' photographs would have been nice.

Venice is a beautiful city, do not ruin your holiday by booking a room here!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoJo243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you are in Venice, it will be well worth spending more than $130, and getting something better than this. It is nowhere near as good as even a 2*. I cannot believe I paid this much for such a dingy room. Paid for a double bed, got two singles, in a separate building. When we entered this building, there were huge dirty laundry sacks lying right next to the door awaiting us; the lobby smelled of chlorine and was still not clean. Went upstairs to the room, the carpet in the lobby upstairs had holes. The room was super-tight, not even enough room to walk straight and therefore it was even worse with our 2 suitcases ;-(. The washbasin was outside of the bathroom, across from the bed in between, on the other side of the room – never seen such an arrangement in my life before, that too in a hotel.

Service was horrible and in today’s day and age – they charge 1.5 euros for half an hour internet use in the lobby, on a dirty computer – it’s not even wireless!

Were in Venice for 3 days and loved it, but the thought of going back to hotel was always dreadful – At the end of a long, tiring day, didn’t looked forward to it at all. Ruined the whole experience. Friendly advice – for your sake, if you want to have a good time – close your eyes and do not even consider this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont stay in this hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NA2541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, Devon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I stayed here with a college photography trip, there was about 25 of us and it was perfect for what we needed. was extremely simple, but we were out all day and only in there too sleep so did't need much more.
Beds were simple but comfy, bathroom was small, but didn't need a massive one, very old school decor, but I think it's all part of the Venician charm. The stair ways and the Lobbys were smashing.
Breakfast was smashing, loads too choose from.
PC's in the lobby were usefull! And it's a close enough walk to restaurants but just far enough away to be out of the way. And across the bridge is a take away pizza shop! yumm.
Couldn't complain as was pefect for what we needed it for, staf very friendly and smiley!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emchar90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We were booked in for the 17th and 18th of October 2011 but when we saw the state of the hotel we were unable to stay there and booked into another hotel, to say that this hotel is 3 stars is ludicrous it does not deserve 1 star the wallpaper was hanging from the walls in places and the carpets were filthy paintwork peeling and cobwebs everywhere do not believe the photos of the rooms they show it is definately not representative of them the place is in a bad state of repair.
We are seasoned travellers and have seen a variety of hotels over the years but this one rates as one of the worst.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel paying $125 per night based of photos they show on their web site and on different booking sites, showing a beautiful bed in a nicely decorated Venice style room.

When we arrived the receptionist told us that was a 3 star room and we reserved a 2 star room. He sent us across the street to an extremely dirty building, poorly kept, with stains all over the rugs, all laundry bags on the floor at the entrance and a really disgusting room. We are very open minded travelers and have stayed in every kind of room around the world. What bothers is to feel fooled by a hotel that sells one thing and delivers another. We decided to upload some photos so you can judge for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luis f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, the room is small but clean, bathroom facilities were good. The staff were very friendly. We found the location of this hotel very good, as we arrived by train we were able to walk within minutes to the hotel. If you want to visit St. Marks square etc., then this would take you approx. 1 hour to walk at a leisurely pace, however there are plenty of water taxis.
The thing we found let this hotel down was the breakfast, we have never found such a poor selection anywhere, no fruit, stale bread, almost undrinkable coffee. We did mention this but no-one really seemed to care, you take it or leave it. We decided to leave it. We would not choose to stay at this hotel again.
We found Venice generally to have an unacceptable level of dog mess and graffiti, which is a shame in an otherwise very beautiful city. Another observation (and probably an obvious one) but Venice is not wheelchair friendly. Even the relatively new pedestrian bridge near the rail station has steps rather than ramps.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Look_East
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#344 of 386 in Venice
318 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#166 of 386 in Venice
643 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Airone
Hotel Airone
#346 of 386 in Venice
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#245 of 386 in Venice
406 reviews
Santa Croce
Doge Hotel
Doge Hotel
#306 of 386 in Venice
83 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#320 of 386 in Venice
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basilea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Property: Hotel Basilea
Address: Santa Croce - Rio Marin 817, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #352 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing