We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Choose with caution”
Review of Hotel Basilea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Basilea
Ranked #351 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Choose with caution”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

If you are booking last minute online with this hotel, do not expect what the reviews say or the photo's show. A refund is not available if you book online, and there are so many good places in Venice you could show up to another 3 star hotel and view rooms before securing payment.

Satisfied and impressed by what we saw online, we chose this location but it appears the hotel's main clientelle are tour guests and so do not expect a room as others have experienced. We were given the bottom floor room which was dark, old, tired, smelly, and only a half step up from a backpackers with power-points not functioning and lights not working. Water in the taps was luke warm, and whilst towels were clean. pillows and blankets did not appear clean. Make sure you get to breakfast early as stocks are not refreshed and restaurant waitstaff appear rude, tired and overworked. We arranged to check out an hour early and received a rude response from reception when the message had not been past on to morning shift.

Expect 2 star for this venue if you are not on a tour - they money paid is better spent elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask to see room before securing payment, and request a floor facing the river if you book in advance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Anonymous Reviewer,
We are very embittered after reading this page of criticisms. Besides, even more embittered because you write facts far from truth about our hotel, which doesn't correspond at all to the description you made: in fact, the hotel has effectively ground floor rooms, but these are absolutely clean and functional (and functioning); totally differents than you show them, because instead are cosy like the others. Continuing, we define as even slanderous your words on the waitstaff, and everyone who wants read the other reviews would see how it's always helpful, kind and full of courtesy.
After said so, we believe to have to affirm, after reading what you writing that you, frustrated by the fact to haven't got the room you expected (and for which, we take care to specify, there's a suitable solution; and we remember to you that you haven't made request to not get a ground floor room), also because of your last minute booking (for which there was availablity just for the room assigned you), you have decided to revenge on us through this wretched "review" (a set of malice, it would be better to say).
Above all, we wonder why you haven't shown any complains directly during your stay at the hotel, but just when you came back to home.
At the end, we urge the Readers of Tripadvisor to give not much care to this kind of attack, conscious that the described hotel, we repeat, doesn't correspond at all to Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    72
    88
    42
    74
See reviews for
41
160
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Two delightful nights spent at the Hotel Basilea. Were given a room on the first floor overlooking the canal and within minutes had singing gondaliers going by. The room was very spacious with furnishings in typical Venetian style and lovely and clean. The reception staff were very welcoming and spoke good English. This hotel is very centrally located, ideal for wandering around the streets or catching water ferries out to the other islands. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your enthusiasm about the two nights spent at Hotel Basilea.
We are very pleased while reading the details in the review you inserted: the gondoliers who crossed singing along Rio Marin (in fact, named "the canal of serenades"), the beauty and spaciousness of your room, the staff friendliness (flattered by your compliments).
Finally, allow us to tell that we are waiting you for another wonderful stay here in Venice, to relish the same feelings enjoyed during this one.
Returning warmly your thanks.
Best Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

we were booked in the annex hotel (the dependence) however we were given a room in the main hotel and although slightly dated it was perfect for Venice gilt and chandeliers everywhere and extremely clean. The position is excellent only 10 minutes walk from the main bus station and 5 minutes walk from the train station. The breakfast is limited so get there early to get more than pastries however the staff are really friendly and speak very good English. As other reviews have said make sure you have a good map to find your way through the maze of streets and as there are numerous bridges to cross and no lift at the hotel so pack wisely. We will book this hotel next time we visit Venice.

Room Tip: there are a few rooms on the canal side which would be lovely to have as the sun rises on that side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for sharing your nice review with the readers of Tripadvisor and with us.
We are very pleased to hear you appreciated the cleanness of the hotel and the typical venetian atmosphere of the furnishing.
Then, glad that you expressed your wish to stay again at our hotel, allow us to suggest, the next time, to not rely on a upgrade from the dependancy, but to book directly for the Hotel Basilea, and may choosing (and we believe you'll appreciate a lot) one of the rooms overlooking the picturesque and charming Rio Marin.
Kind Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This hotel is set on the banks of the Marin canal in the centre of Venice, close to the Piazzala Roma - the termination point for the Airport bus. Make sure you have a good map, especially if you arrive at night, as the short walk to the hotel is rather tortuous.
My wife and I booked the hotel as part of a flight/hotel package with Easyjet. Our spacious triple room appeared to have been recently refurbished in traditional style. The en-suite was also large, incorporating a bath with shower, WC, handbasin and bidet. despite the cold weather the accommodation was very warm and controllable by large radiators in the room and en-suite. The bed was extremely comfortable and the mattress seemed quite new. The hotel was occupied a few nights by some rather noisy students - hence only 4 stars for the sleep quality!
Reception appeared to be manned 24 hours a day by one of two very friendly, efficient guys. They both spoke good English and were very helpful, particularly in explaining about tourist sites, how to get to them and where to buy tickets and so on.
Breakfast was continental - various pastries, fruit juice, breads, cheese, jams and spreads. Ideal if you have a sweet tooth. Coffee and tea was served at the table and you helped yourself to the food. The pleasant breakfast room overlooked the canal.
This hotel was good value for money. If you are on a budget and need a nice room in the heart of the city then you should consider the Basilea.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 14 April 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for your splendid review. We are so pleased that you have appreciated the attitude of our staff, and that you had a good, satisfing breakfast in the nice hall.
Moreover, it gave us great pleasure your note concerning the recent restoration of the Hotel, partly testified in your photos.
Finally, we remain with best regards, hoping on a your return for another enjoyable stay.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Having studied all the mixed reviews we decided to go with our choice of the Basilea seeking a basic but clean base for our break in venice in a good location . It did not disappoint.
The location is excellent about 5 mins from the railway station and access to the Waterbus . Easy walking to Rialto and St Marks .
The double room ( 132) was two beds together but were clean and comfortable , the en suite bathroom looked as though had just been refurbished and no complaints, good shower and plenty hot water even busy mornings . Breakfast again basic , cereal , juice, coffee a range of pastries and eggs on request . We found no reason for complaint and the waitress though busy was always pleasant. The team on reception were helpful and pleasant despite a full hotel always remembered us on our return with the key and warm greetings . Wi fi available in the foyer area if needed, tv available with deposit for remote but we went to venice to explore and did not miss the tv at all !
We were pleased we chose the Basilea , in advance of our trip we did e mail the hotel to confirm directions from the bus/ train and had immediate reply with detailed map , at the same time we also re confirmed that we did not want to stay either in any sister hotel or in the annex of this hotel . May be worth doing if like us you had some concerns re the comments found on this site . As it turned out we had an enjoyable stay and got exactly what we asked for !

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks for the choice and for sharing your feedback on what appears to have been an agreeable stay for you. It's a real pleasure to affirm that you have acknowledged the value of the Hotel (recently restored), its comfort, and our dedication to give the best service to the customers. We remain with kind regards, hoping to have you as welcome guest in the future.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This is a lovely little hotel, its basic, but has a real charm - an odd mix of Regency decor throughout and modern art in the hallway. The room was comfortable, a decent size and was clean. We paid just under £50 a night for a double room and buffet breakfast, can't really say fairer than that for Venice. A city tax is applied by all hotels in Venice, which is payable when you leave, so remember to factor this in, even if you have already paid for the room.
It's a great location if you want to escape the crowds with some fabulous bars and resturants minutes away. It's close to the bus and train station, so you don't have to hump your luggage miles and the water bus stop is very close, get a day or 3 day ticket to save money and remember to swipe it everytime you board or you will be fined. We loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matilda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay at the Hotel Basilea. We read with pleasure that you appreciated the furniture of the hotel, the cleanness and the comfort of your room. We hope to welcoming you back again.
Best Regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

After reading all the mixed reviews we were worried but all turned out well in the end, from reading other reviews I think the issue is with the sister hotel. The reception lady was lovely and always made is smile, the hotel was very old and 'classic' but 100% clean! I didn't see any dirt or dust throughout the stay. The room was warm and small, and although it was a twin room the two beds were pushed together to make a double and it was in no way uncomfortable. Breakfast was limited but for the price we didn't mind. City tax was €8 for the two nights stay. Hotel was located a short walk for everything so great location! Would be happy to go back. Although wifi would have been nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kickasskingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Manager at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your appreciations about our hotel. We always endeavour to ensure you the best service we can. Looking forward to welcoming you the next time.
Kind regards.
Hotel Basilea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#328 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#335 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#163 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#321 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#272 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#197 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basilea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Property: Hotel Basilea
Address: Santa Croce - Rio Marin 817, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing