We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value ”
Review of Hotel Basilea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Basilea
Ranked #351 of 385 Hotels in Venice
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value ”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

My friend and i did a budget euro trip and this hotel was good value for the money we spent. At first we were skeptical because it was in a quiet neighborhood, but it turned out to be safe and peaceful. The staff waa very friendly and professional. The reason the review is 4 stars and not 3 is because there was a night shift manager whose hospitality made the experience a 4 star experience. Would recommend to anyone looking for a value hotel in an expensive city. And it was very close to st lucia.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We were really glad to read your enthusiastic review about the stay at our hotel, and we are pleased that you enjoyed this visit to Venice also thanks to the helpful and friendly job of the night shift manager: personally, he wants to send you many thanks for the nice words words you spent to describe his work, and for the sincere appreciation you had for it.
Our staff is always available on helping our guests to enjoy at best their holiday on the lagoon, and they are are pleased to do this.
Allow me to renew our thanks for your advice: we hope that all our next guests can appreciate their stay as you did.
Best Regards

Hotel Basilea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    72
    90
    41
    75
See reviews for
42
160
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just came back from a 3 night stay at the basilea hotel,couldn't ask for more than we paid for,good location,very friendly and helpful staff,very clean and good breakfast,and they allowed us to leave our bags there for the day.For those who moaned about this hotel, remember it's only a 3 star,if you want better maybe you should consider booking a 5 star next time, definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your nice review here on our TripAdvisor page: we hope your remarks will be considered by the readers and by the guests who wrote the heaviest criticisms to the hotel.
Effectively, Hotel Basilea offers to its guests a series of qualities that are specific of the three star hotel category: a nice and comfortable location along the Rio Marin, an affordable price compared to other same classified structures, and moreover a friendly and helpful staff (a detail not to be taken for granted) and a carefully cleanness.
We are also very pleased that you appreciated our continental breakfast on the nice hall facing the canal, and the kind possibility to leave for free the luggages in the deposit for the day.
Finally, we are looking forward for your next stay in the beautiful city of Venice, maybe again here at our hotel.
Kind Regards.

Hotel Basilea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked this hotel on the quick, not knowing what to expect, and it turned out to be charming. It was only a short walk from the grand Canal, and about 20mins from St Marks. The decor was old fashioned, quaint and very Italian, and comfortable. It is on a small canal, with a charming bridge. The food was as you would expect for a continental breakfast, and the whole place was immaculately clean. the staff were lovely, and allowed us to leave our bags there all day, after we checked out, so we could squeeze an extra day's sightseeing. I would recommend it , and it is good value for where it is.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank redfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to send you infinite thanks for the wonderful review you've posted here on TripAdvisor.
We are really flattered by your words on our hotel, and gladly hear that you've found enjoyable and pleasant your stay in Venice also thanks to the helpful and friendly attitude of the staff members, as often underlined in many reviews.
Renewing thanks for the recommendation you made (the best proof of your satisfaction), definitely we hope on a your future stay here with us again, always guaranteeing the same care.
Kind Regards.

Hotel Basilea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We definitely enjoyed our stay at the Basilea. I was expecting not to enjoy our trip having read some negative comments. The staff were friendly (we were too early to check in but the reception staff stowed our bags for us whilst we went exploring) the room, bedding, and bathroom were spotless.
The only negative..... and this is not the fault of the hotel mosquitoes still around in October! Easily sorted take some repellent on your trip. My advice book and enjoy the Basilea's location near the public transport hub and all the sights.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bev1joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your enjoyable experience at Hotel Basilea.
Truly appreciated are your comments on our reception staff: everyone try, every day, to satisfy all your needs and to help you with your questions.
Concerning mosquitoes, you surely know that Venice lies on a lagoon, and so we can't do anything for the mosquitoes presence, because they are a unescapable part of the environment: in every case, you should have asked a mosquito repellant to our reception, and we could have providing one for you.
We wish to have you as our welcome guest again, for another pleasant stay here in Venice.
KInd Regards.

Hotel Basilea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

for the budget conscious, this is a SECRET FIND!
less than a 10 minute walk to the main train and vaporetto station, in itself is a bonus.
so near campo santa margherita which is as near as you can get to REAL VENICE LIFE as you mingle with the locals!
one of the best hot chocolates i have ever had which they make for you during breakfast!
the staff were great, especially ada who makes breakfast!
will only stay here when we return soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weezaweezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the nice review you shared with the readers of Tripadvisor and with us.
We are really glad to hear how was enjoyable and pleasant your experience at Hotel Basilea, discovering typical venetian places and taking delight from our breakfast: Ada was very flattered by your words of appreciation for her always smiling service, and wants to send you many thanks, as all our staff members want to return you the warmest greetings.
Renewing our thanks for sharing your pleasant stay, we look forward to welcome you again here with us in a near future.
Kind Regards.

Hotel Basilea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Excellent location -close to waterbus and station.
Our room was clean had air condition, the king-size bed with clean, nice white linen sheets was comfortable. The bathroom was also very clean.
There was Plenty to eat at breakfast.... with lovely fresh hot tea served in a teapot.....
All The Staff at hotel Basilea were extremely pleasant, sociable and happy to help.us.
One criticism.... and this is for the Owner of hotel....
to replace the picture in the bedroom or re-decorate the wall where it hung as it's absence is very noticeable, also the ceiling rose above the chandelier needs attention.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,
We have been so happy and grateful to receive your attentive review, accompanied with useful advises that will surely allow us to improve our hotel service.
You saw that a review doesn't accurately reflect the real aspect of a place: you enjoyed what you got, and you booked exactly what you sought; other guests, unfortunately, making a reservation for the Hotel Basilea Dependance (which is an economy lower category solution, having basic rooms), then expect to be allocated at the main bulding, a three stars with a higher cost.
The entire staff wants to send you thankful regards for the nice words you used to describe their work, and was very pleased that you appreciated our tasty breakfast.
We look forward for a your possible return at our hotel, also to see if we will have followed properly your advises.
Kind Regards.

Hotel Basilea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I found this gem hotel in Venice in a crazy (fully booked almost everywhere) Saturday night. I was lucky; the bed is so comfy, the interior is different..kind of Victorian, the location is the best and the service above all is great and the people at the reception are very polite compared to many other places in Venice. Highly Recommended Hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivagalapagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basilea5, Direttore at Hotel Basilea, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for a really nice review you shared on TripAdvisor.
The description you do about the hotel interior and the pleasant behaviour of our staff members infinitely flatters us, and your recommendation testifies the true satisfaction you have tried at our Hotel Basilea (and, if i remember correctly, you were in the room 135).
Hoping to have the chance to welcome you again, always with the usual politeness.
Meanwhile, Warmest Regards.

Hotel Basilea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#337 of 385 in Venice
317 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Airone
Hotel Airone
#345 of 385 in Venice
320 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#161 of 385 in Venice
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Pantalon Hotel
Pantalon Hotel
#339 of 385 in Venice
242 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#195 of 385 in Venice
234 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Nazionale
Hotel Nazionale
#257 of 385 in Venice
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Basilea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Basilea

Property: Hotel Basilea
Address: Santa Croce - Rio Marin 817, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Basilea 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Basilea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basilea Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing