We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location next to water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Ranked #124 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location next to water”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The price it is in a great location. Only two minutes walk and you're in the square.

Venice is small so you can walk across it in 15 minutes but the hotel felt like it was in a good location.

Breakfast was a good spread and I like that they had real eggs as most Italian hotels don't.

The rooms were very Venetian and small but not too small, just old Venetian small.

Close to the bell tower so it's nice being woken up by the 8 o'clock chimes.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CEGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    282
    52
    19
    13
See reviews for
127
266
61
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel was a great place to stay in Venice without spending all of your money. Very clean and in a great location, isn't that all you need? Spend 2 nights here in June 2013 with my wife. We took a water taxi from the train station to Rialto and wandered through the streets trying to find this place. YOU WILL GET LOST IN VENICE! But that should be expected and is a lot of fun and part of the experience. The hotel itself was decorated in typical Venetian style. Very old and cool decorations. One word of caution to people who are not physically fit, there are no elevators and there were a LOT of steep and narrow stairs to get to your room. The staff carries your luggage to your room which is a huge help. Easy walk to the Grand Canal, St Marks Square, tons of restaurants and shops everywhere. Go to Campo Santo Margherita, it is the best square in Venice with a lot of outdoor restaurants and a lot of young people. It was a fun experience just trying to walk there! Overall, great value hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here on a brief weekend trip. Room was small but very comfortable and well-appointed. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. Very convenient for St Marks and the Rialto Bridge.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Caroline U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antalya, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

its a good pleasant hotel to stay. nice location close to centre.. Clean and the breakfast was ok...
if you don't expect a high quality stay you can easily choose this hotel cause for that price its very reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berk_Du
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I arrived in Venice for New Year's eve, spending just one night in the hotel. But it was a magnificent experience from our point of view, the staff was very kind, the rooms and environments were clean, and the location was just perfect, just a couple of minutes away from Piazza San Marco. We were even gifted with a bottle of Prosecco in that night, which was very nice from the staff. The bathroom was good, fully equipped and adequately sized. The bed was not perfect, but offered a good quality of sleep. Breakfast room was a bit small, but the quality of the meal was good. I totally recommend this place, and will surely stay there again in future trips to Venice.

Room Tip: If you don't like steps, beware - there is no elevator in this building, as is the case with mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eduparise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This was my 4th time visiting Venice and my wife's first. As this was a special trip for both of us I booked a romantic room with a canal view. We arrived in the early evening and found the hotel in the dark very easily thanks to the map sent to me by the hotel staff. Our room was all we could ask for and then some. Breakfast in the dinning room was delicious with a wide variety of foods and the best coffee in Italy. The location was in the center of Venice and only a short walk to all sights.
The staff were courteous friendly and greeted us with a smile no matter what time of day we returned. The only sad part was having to leave after a three night stay in Venice. I highly recommend the Antica Lacanda al Gambero Hotel for it's comfort location and thoughtful staff.

Room Tip: A canal view is always nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WDRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagoa, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived late and it was a little bit difficult to find it (but not their fault - they even sent us a map from how to get there upon your reservation - Thank you for that!). However the location couldn't be better, just a few minutes walking from where the water ferry from the airport drops you, and close to San Marco square. It is an old building (refurbished though - perfectly clea), it doen't have a lift and it seems some rooms are small, but we were lucky and got a really nice room with a view to the canal.
The breakfast is really good, several choice, attentive staff and the housekeeping team alway left the room extra cleaned. I would stay here again and recommend this accommodation to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMLila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Gorizia a la Valigia
Gorizia a la Valigia
#148 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Gazzettino
Hotel Al Gazzettino
#170 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#178 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#98 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#113 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#202 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda al Gambero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda al Gambero

Property: Antica Locanda al Gambero
Address: Calle dei Fabbri, 4687 S.Marco | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#90 Family Hotel in Venice
#127 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Locanda al Gambero 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Locanda al Gambero welcomes guests with the cordial and typically Venetian atmosphere created by our professional and courteous staff, and together with our well-lit and spacious rooms, we offer our guests the best hotel stay available in Venice. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, available to provide you with all the information you need to explore the city. In the lobby, guests can pick up fliers and brochures about shows and events in Venice, and make reservations for tours and guided excursions. All spaces in the hotel are immaculately kept, and we offer the best services available among the 3 star hotels of Venice. Guests of the hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero can take advantage of the internet corner (free internet access), major daily newspapers, sitting room and television for those moments of relaxation and socializing, and the lovely breakfast room, with its classic lead glass windows. The continental buffet, with its pastries and salads, includes Venetian sweets and traditional Italian coffee drinks (espresso, cappuccino, etc.) Served at your table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Antica Locanda al Gambero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Al Gambero Hotel Venice
Antica Locanda Al Gambero Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing