We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Ranked #128 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Booked romantic room with canal view - hotel did not honor. Instead they have put me in a completely different room - room opposite another hotel and i get the watch the gentleman in the next hotel routinely drink coffee and smoke. His balcony directly overlooks my room so I cannot open the window without a complete invasion of privacy, . My tiny room is on the fourth floor ( no elevator)TV dosn't work, and staff very unhelpful. Wish I could afford to move hotels. Avoid!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buckleysgirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gambero4687, Direttore at Antica Locanda al Gambero, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We are quite surprised by your remarks about your room in the hotel.
First of all the rooms are all regular sized, your room in particular is normally very appreciated, having its own wlak out balcony.
All buildings are close to one another, this is part of Venice and so sorry, but there is nothing we can do about this.
We apologize if you thought our staff were unhelpful this is very unusual, as they all try very hard to make guest stay as pleasant as possible.
If we had your name we would like to check the booking you made with us, because when guests request and receive a confirmation from us for a canal view room that is what they get.
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay in the hotel, but hope you had a nice time in Venice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for Antica Locanda al Gambero
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

It was a bit tricky for to finally find this hotel (after alighting from the boat) as the whole place is a maze!

hotels has no lift so we requested for a room at low level, which the hotel staff allocated us a room just beside the reception... surprised. there was some noise from the internet room beside us but generally it is ok.

room is abit small thou.

really cosy and fab design of the hotel. we could open the windows to hear the gondola rode by.

nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aychuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at Antica Locanda at Gambero from May 15-20, 2014. We found it to be an excellent location for touring Venice, being a short walk from both San Marco and the Rialto Bridge. Although the rooms are small by American standards, they were clean, quiet, air-conditioned, and nicely furnished with good lighting. The bathroom was sufficient. We had a double room with canal view. We were on the 4th floor with a view of a side canal and small bridge. Please note that there is no elevator, and the first floor is not the ground floor. Our bags were carried up to our room. Breakfast was good with many choices,. We found the hotel to be charming and the staff very helpful. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: There is no lift (elevator) and many stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel and staff were great. Large room for a triple room we had plenty of space. The location was great. The only down part was that there is no lift just a lot of stairs. Be sure that if you find stairs difficult please ask for a room on second floor. The Porter in this hotel carried our large suitcases up and down to/ from the fourth floor and was still smiling. The roof garden was really lovely and was worth climbing all the stairs. All in all a great experience

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacw877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Very well located hotel, choice of turn right to Rialto; left to San Marco! Good breakfast, excellent choices, though cold scrambled egg unlovely. All facilities more than adequate. I enjoyed my stay, thank you!

Room Tip: Over 4/5 floors without lift; ask for a lower floor if not happy on stairs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

good points
- is near the San Marco area (it takes 3~5min. to go there by walking)
- serves breakfast for free and its tastes are okay for me (Japanese)
- tells the best ways to get to anywhere

bad points
- does not keep hair brushes (is it only my room? i dont know well)
- does not have good facilities when considering about the price.
- does not have EU outlet (it means they have some 3holes outlet, but only one 2holes outlet.)

If the price will go down, i wanna stay here again. i guess the price is too high comparing to their services.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 理美 村
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We finished up a 12 night cruise and spent 2 additional nights here. Hotel was booked about 5/6 months prior to arrival. Because it was our 50th wedding anniversary we did not care about the high price as we wanted the Italian ambiance and a great location between the Rialto Bridge and the San Marco area. Upon arrival we were assigned a room on the 4th floor which was the size of a box! Two people along with the luggage we were "bumping" into one another. Room by itself was not worth the price but the Italian flavor and location with shopping and restaurants over shadowed the negatives. The morning breakfast (included in price) was vey good with many choices to select from. The hotel staff helped us to sort out any language issues and assisted in the down-loading of airline boarding passes, reservations for water taxi's. Would we go back? We go back to Venice ? Yes! We would do additional research to secure a better quality and competive priced hotel in this area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank donald g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#187 of 384 in Venice
339 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#138 of 384 in Venice
807 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#109 of 384 in Venice
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#131 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#72 of 384 in Venice
732 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#125 of 384 in Venice
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda al Gambero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda al Gambero

Address: Calle dei Fabbri, 4687 S.Marco | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#89 Family Hotel in Venice
#126 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £83 - £388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Locanda al Gambero 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Locanda al Gambero welcomes guests with the cordial and typically Venetian atmosphere created by our professional and courteous staff, and together with our well-lit and spacious rooms, we offer our guests the best hotel stay available in Venice. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, available to provide you with all the information you need to explore the city. In the lobby, guests can pick up fliers and brochures about shows and events in Venice, and make reservations for tours and guided excursions. All spaces in the hotel are immaculately kept, and we offer the best services available among the 3 star hotels of Venice. Guests of the hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero can take advantage of the internet corner (free internet access), major daily newspapers, sitting room and television for those moments of relaxation and socializing, and the lovely breakfast room, with its classic lead glass windows. The continental buffet, with its pastries and salads, includes Venetian sweets and traditional Italian coffee drinks (espresso, cappuccino, etc.) Served at your table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Antica Locanda al Gambero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Al Gambero Hotel Venice
Antica Locanda Al Gambero Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing