We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location makes the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Ranked #140 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

What you expect for this hotel category in Venice.
Small rooms and bathrooms in line with the rest, clean and comfortable.
The location of this hotel makes it a perfect choice for a short vacation in this wonderful city.
Competent and courteous enough staff, plain breakfast in a crowded room next to the reception. No balcony in sight that was mentioned in some other reviews.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DGoodbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I spent two nights in Venice before we embarked on a cruise. We were looking for a hotel that was easy to get to since we would have a lot of luggage, had a canal view, and was reasonably priced. The Antica Locanda al Gambero had it all. They also served a great breakfast that included fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, cereal, juice and pastries, coffee and more. In addition, the front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. They assisted me when I left my wallet at the airport. They called the airport and helped me locate my wallet which thankfully was found and nothing was missing. What a relief. Thank you so much!

It was a fun place to stay and conveniently located to all the main attractions. Definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a great room with a little balcony and a canal view. It was also nice because we were not lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here two nights after a cruise. The hotel was really easy to find from the San Marco Vaporetto, just a 5 minute walk and two canal bridges. They had e-mailed us a map before we left. This was good as you don't want to be lost on the narrow crowded streets dragging your luggage around, without luggage it's the thing to do. We were in quad room 208, The first floor is really the second floor up from street level, so we had to go up four flights down a hallway and then down a flight to get to our room. Not a problem for us but a little weird. The room was very nice and good size for Europe. We had a canal view out the window, the only problem was the shower head holder was broken so you had to hold it by hand. The mattress was a little firm but OK, the room was very clean. The breakfast was excellent with the breakfast service a five star. The location is perfect with all the sights just a short walk I would definitely stay here again. But if you can't do stairs well this might not be your best choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 74charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We loved this hotel, we stayed for 3 nights. Excellent location! Close to everything! The staff was phenomenal! The rooms are small, but you are in Europe so that's to be expected. Breakfast was great, and included. There is an amazing roof top terrace to see the city!. Get a room with a canal view!!! You will be able to see and hear the gondolier's singing as they pass by, so romantic. The bed was a bit small and firm, but everything else makes up for it. I highly recommend this charming little hotel. OH, there are NO elevators!

Room Tip: canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TravelHaus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The location was exceptional since it was close to Rialto Bridge and San Marco. The front desk staff was excellent and helpful. The breakfast was very nice with good choices to get your day started. It was raining quite a bit the day we checked out and fortunately they had a small sitting room with two computers so we could wait comfortably while the rain passed. We found it a bit strange that we needed to leave our key with the front desk each time we left but the keys have an old fashion type key ring which is quite large and would have been cumbersome to carry around anyway. The room was quaint but it filled all our needs.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loves2travel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Location is very convenient, close to everything and particularly to vaporetto, very convenient for transport to/fro airport. Our quad room was very pleasant and clean, helpful and pleasant staff. Be aware that there is no lift so if your room is on a high floor dragging your luggage upstairs may be complicated. We stayed for one 1 night, left our luggage at the reception and jut took out our necessities for the next 24 hours. One negative point is the bathroom, it needs some work. Shower head was not working properly and the wall support for it was totally broken and looked ugly - see my photo, we had to use the hand shower. Sad to see that a repair that may cost less than 50EUR diminishes the charm of the stay experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank vanessa w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The staff were wonderful, especially the luggage handlers. Mattress was a little lumpy but I still slept well. Full breakfast buffet was delicious and plentiful. Closer to Rialto vaporetto stop than San Marco - less than 5 minutes walk and no bridge to cross - important when transporting suitcases. The room was great and canal view was as advertised. Bistrot di Venise restaurant at doorstep was wonderful - fantastic food & great service.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tweety925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#128 of 388 in Venice
849 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#120 of 388 in Venice
576 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#141 of 388 in Venice
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#62 of 388 in Venice
1,326 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#49 of 388 in Venice
1,330 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 388 in Venice
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Locanda al Gambero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Locanda al Gambero

Address: Calle dei Fabbri, 4687 S.Marco | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#126 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £71 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Locanda al Gambero 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Locanda al Gambero welcomes guests with the cordial and typically Venetian atmosphere created by our professional and courteous staff, and together with our well-lit and spacious rooms, we offer our guests the best hotel stay available in Venice. The reception desk is open 24 hours a day, available to provide you with all the information you need to explore the city. In the lobby, guests can pick up fliers and brochures about shows and events in Venice, and make reservations for tours and guided excursions. All spaces in the hotel are immaculately kept, and we offer the best services available among the 3 star hotels of Venice. Guests of the hotel Antica Locanda al Gambero can take advantage of the internet corner (free internet access), major daily newspapers, sitting room and television for those moments of relaxation and socializing, and the lovely breakfast room, with its classic lead glass windows. The continental buffet, with its pastries and salads, includes Venetian sweets and traditional Italian coffee drinks (espresso, cappuccino, etc.) Served at your table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Antica Locanda al Gambero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Locanda Al Gambero Hotel Venice
Antica Locanda Al Gambero Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing