We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, great location”
Review of Hotel do Pozzi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel do Pozzi
Ranked #140 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Three of us stayed here last week and found our room to be very small. The first night we arrived late and the person on the desk said they couldn't help us, but the next day when we spoke to the manager on duty they showed us four other room options (to demonstrate that all their triple rooms are similarly sized) and then offered to upgrade us to a larger room at no extra cost since it was available that night.
The reality is that all rooms in this hotel are small but the location is absolutely fantastic. So if you're looking for location then this is a great option. If you're looking for spacious and modern then you may be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiningDining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 564 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

Rude staff. Dirty small rooms. Don't make the mistake of choosing this place - there are soooo many better options in Venice... :( A solo business traveler on my way to a conference in Pula, I'd stopped in Venice for one night. Certainly did not expect a 5 star - simply a comfortable and clean and pleasant place to stay. What a mistake. First room was grim and (seriously) no bigger than a closet. Single bed, room perhaps again as wide as the bed. Tiny window. Dark. When i returned to front desk to ask for a larger room, I was told indignantly that I had "chosen that one" ("you asked for a single room!") by a clerk who insisted if I wanted a larger room i had to pay twice as much for a "double room". When I replied "why would i have reserved a double when i was only a single traveler?" and it was simply the worst room I'd ever been given and would be noting this on Trip Advisor, he grudgingly swapped it for one slightly larger (see photos), berating me in a loud voice all the while. Second room had stained lamp shades and serious grime (see photos). Next morning at breakfast I was actually yelled at AGAIN (yes!) for decanting my yoghurt into a dish in the breakfast room instead of at "my table" (made the mistake of tidily putting the empty yoghurt cup on a saucer while politely asking if they has a garbage). When i paid my bill and left that morning the "owner" told me i was "lucky" he'd given me a "double" for a single price which "he had to pay for" (not), loudly complaining that i had booked at a "cheap on-line price" and he was losing money. When I replied I had been yelled at 3 times in 24 hours which was completely bizarre and unacceptable he ACTUALLY FOLLOWED ME INTO THE STREET waving his hands and yelling at me to never return. It's like they were all crazy... Pass this place up (keep looking!). I believe this is the FIRST negative hotel review I have ever submitted in all my years on Trip Advisor... Yuk!

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel... :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendyholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A pleasant three star hotel in a fabulous location, just 5 minutes walk from the Giglio water bus stop and just a brisk 5 minutes from St Mark's square. My wife and I stayed on the top floor and our room overlooked the main street of Calle Larga X11 Marzo. The hotel was clean and tidy, our room was modern but basic. The wifi unfortunately wasn't working which was annoying. The staff where friendly and always willing to help, a real plus for my review rating. Coffee was only available for breakfast and at no other time of the day, which I expected it would be as it was not available in the rooms. I also like the comfort of having SKY TV, but only one channel (BBC World news) was in English, but this became a minor point as Venice was better eye candy than watching the 'box'. So in short great location and comfortable hotel!
I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Finding the hotel can be a challenge as the street numbers don't seem to run consecutively. Once you find the small wall plaque that leads to the private courtyard, your home. Front desk staff was always polite & helpful. English was good enough so that we understood each other. The lift is tiny, but fast & smooth. The rooms are very small & the bathroom was tight. I don't know how it compares to other hotels in the area & price range, but it was clean & efficient. Bed was comfortable & the shower had plenty of pressure & hot water. Wi-Fi was hit or miss at times and free. My room faced the street and partiers kept me awake the first night until 3 am. By night 2, I discovered that those wooden shutters can be closed and remarkably, reduce noise by 90%. My fault for not saying something right away. I'd stay again. :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davesondeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for three days and enjoyed the hotel, the breakfast was a cold buffet, location was excellent near st marks square, service was excellent staff polite and rooms were clean although the furniture and fittings do look tired and in need of refurbishing.wi fi works well. Two things to point out that rooms facing courtyard are much quieter than ones facing street,secondly our electricity adapters did not fit the power point here as they have changed the voltage but this matter was efficiently attended to by the manager as he lent us his adapters for the duration of our stay.
I would recommend people to stay here

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is great for many reasons - the staff are very helpful, the location is only a five minutes walk to St Marks square, and the rooms are great. I would definitely stay again. The one recommendation would be to get a room facing the courtyard because it is a little quieter than the ones facing the street level.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KR5984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I have stayed at the Do Pozzi 8 or 9 times since 1st coming in 1995. It has a great location, very close to San Marco. The staff is courteous and helpful and the breakfast is adequate and the coffee is hot. There are plenty of rolls, cereal, crossants, breads and yoghurts to choose from along with various meats and cheese. On a nice day you can have breakfast in the courtyard. My biggest complaint is that the furniture and bedding needs to be replaced. The bed was lumpy and the desk in my friend's area was falling apart. Hopefully management will heed this advice as many people are commenting on this. I hope they upgrade the beds as my back hurt after sleeping in my bed here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonovox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#142 of 385 in Venice
619 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
748 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#107 of 385 in Venice
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#132 of 385 in Venice
439 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#119 of 385 in Venice
565 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 385 in Venice
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Pozzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Pozzi

Address: Via XXII Marzo, 2373 | near San Marco Square, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#116 Family Hotel in Venice
#123 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £56 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel do Pozzi 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel do Pozzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Pozzi Hotel
Do Pozzi Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing