We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest value”
Review of Hotel ai do Mori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel ai do Mori
Ranked #148 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Venice is an expensive and difficult city to visit. Anyone with heavy luggage would be best served by leaving it at the luggage storage in Pizzala Roma for 7 euros per bag per 24 hours. Take only what you need to the hotel. Moving heavy suitcases on the water bus, even if you don't encounter a transit strike (like we did) can be difficult. Also, the stairs are very steep and narrow, which is very typical of European hotels in any downtown area.

Being so close to S. Marco (St. Marks) means that the street is a lively, busy place, with multiple restaurants (12% service charge is common), and would fit the younger crowd better than seniors. We couldn't find an English language TV channel, but we weren't there to watch TV.

The staff were good, the location was wonderful, but other reviews fail to mention one downside of being so close to S. Marco. There is a clock tower, and it rings the hours and half hours, ALL NIGHT LONG! While my wife managed to sleep through this, I didn't, so this is a bit of a mixed review.

No breakfast at this location. Be ready to wait until 8 AM for local bars to open.

Prices at the end of May 2014 were 120 euros + 2 euros tax. It's a good price, given the location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Telserv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

You couldn't ask for more unless you have a problem climbing one or two floors - no elevator. Everything else is just perfect for this category of acomodation - location, cleanliness, heating, overall comfort of the rooms and bathrooms (really made the most of not big space),and of course - the truly wonderfull staff. Thank you -all of you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank annabel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My mom and I traveled to Venice in mid-April and stayed at the lovely Hotel ai do Mori Hotel's annex. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the central location a stone's throw from San Marco square was perfect. The room was basic but very clean and the bathroom was recently refurbished, and we were pleased with the accommodations. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend the hotel to anyone traveling to Venice!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpatel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

What a find! Great location, helpful staff, rooms small but very clean, great value particularly if you pay cash. So close to San Marco Square. We bought a 3 day water pass which took us to San Marco Square and our accommodation and over the 3 days we could hop on and hop off the water taxis as we pleased.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisandRobMcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Venice was the first stop for our family's European vacation in March and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. The owner, Antonella, took great care and interest in our little girls- making sure they had the hotel's business card in their pockets (it was Carnevale time) and even bought them masks to join in the fun. We were fortunate to experience "aqua alta" and the staff made sure we were aware of the high water and provided us with boots. A truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This was our first time in Venice and having arrived by ferry at San Marco Square, it was incredibly easy to find the hotel. It is literally 10 metres from the square.

Tatiana was most helpful on reception. The room was small but clean and perfect for our needs as we didn't intend on spending much time there anyhow. Be mindful that you do need to carry suitcases up one or two flights of stairs.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I traveled through many cities over five weeks in Italy this winter. By far the most outstanding hotel experience we had was Hotel ai do Mori in Venice. Although there was no breakfast (but plenty of places right outside the hotel to grab something), the views and sounds in the morning were a spectacular way to start the day: You see and hear from your window a symphony of church bells timed to begin and end in sequence topped off by two robotic men clanging a bell. (Most rooms have this view, but the best is the top floor. If you can handle the walk up it is well worth it.) Regardless of your religious beliefs, this is a beautiful and fascinating experience. Then you add the friendly, fun and supportive energy of Antonella and you are leaving each morning with a big smile on your face to explore the magic that is Venice.

Room Tip: Top floor with room of the two robotic men.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#100 of 387 in Venice
856 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#138 of 387 in Venice
954 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#99 of 387 in Venice
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
A Tribute To Music
A Tribute To Music
#108 of 387 in Venice
698 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#266 of 387 in Venice
589 reviews
San Marco
Residenza Favaro
Residenza Favaro
#275 of 387 in Venice
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ai do Mori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ai do Mori

Address: Calle Larga San Marco | San Marco 658, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#86 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £44 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel ai do Mori 1*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel ai do Mori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Do Mori Venice
Ai Do Mori Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing