We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous restaurant with lots of surprises”
Review of Ca' Leon

Ca' Leon
Reserve with
Ca' Leon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #520 of 1,448 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: US$24 - US$71
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Santa Croce
Description: Aperitifs and appetizers, typical Venetian cuisine to enjoy the peace of fondamenta Tolentini, living genuine and hospitable atmosphere, one of the premises of the real Venice! Ca 'Leon is also a compelling and welcoming inn.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant with lots of surprises”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

6 of us had a really great birthday celebration dinner and we were rapt in the food. Grilled calamari was tender and delicious. The Tiramisu was the best I have ever had, the profiteroles melted in the mouth. Can highly recommend this restaurant. For a little surprise, check out the toilets!! Never seen tiling quite like this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiecher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    86
    31
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richboro, PA
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Average food at high prices”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a local trattoria and bar that has a great location on a quiet canal but the food lacks quality and the prices are exceptionally high. I had a pasta and shrimp dish for $30 and the shrimp were tiny and hard.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service.”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The best meal we had in Venice - friendly service, nice location on a quiet canal, lovely, beautifully cooked & presented food, good quality house wine, extensive options, including a separate vegetarian menu. Not cheap, around 100 euros for two courses & wine, but worth it, and way above the usual tourist restaurants in Venice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerraIncognito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A tasty treat just off the Grand Canal.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped there after seeing some of the food on tables as we passed and I'm glad we stopped. Most restaurants are expensive in Venice but when the food is as delicious as this, it's all worth it. Definitely try the pumpkin gnocchi - by far the best I've ever had!! Service was good too although we had to ask for the bill a couple of times. All together though a wee treasure in Venice!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely location”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We ate here on our first night in Venice as it was opposite our hotel. Had a drink outside overlooking the canal, then went inside to eat.The food was great. Service was friendly, slightly slow towards the end but we were happy to stay and relax anyway so it didn't bother us too much. Overall very enjoyable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgabriel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ca' Leon also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ca' Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing