We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation”
Review of Hotel San Geremia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel San Geremia
Ranked #259 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My boyfriend and I spent five weeks backpacking Europe last spring and made a one night stop in Venice staying at Hotel Geremia. The hotel is perfect for budget travelling, basic, and comfortable. The location is great, right near the train and convenient for exploring inner Venice. We arrived early and they had no problem storing our luggage until our room was ready. They also have a great outdoor space that overlooks the piazza, perfect for sharing a bottle of wine and enjoying the warm Italian weather!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlindsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

The hotel has a great location. Close enough to the city centre (about 5 minutes walking), but away from the extreme crowds, noise and most importantly high hotel prices. It was 35 Euro per night at high season. The rooms were small, yet the views from the balcony windows make up for it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karina1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The location of this basic hotel is perfect is you're travelling by train - only a 5 minute walk away. Near to the a riverbus stop and plenty of restaurants. Free wifi and aircon unit in room, which we were grateful for.

The only thing we didn't like was the fact that, when you go out you have to leave your key and upon returning the receptionists have changed so they havent seen you before and you just say your room number - no name is asked...anyone could walk in an just say a room number.
So if you have valuables in the room, this is a worry.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

For my most recent travel, I had the opportunity to be with younger relatives who are quite open to try out hostels but not quite adventurous to try a dorm room. We stayed in private rooms with an en suite which is almost similar to booking in a 2/3 star hotel but just the basic necessities. It kinda defeated the purpose but it's our first time so we tried to test the water first. Who knows the young ones might like it - which was the general consensus after this tour.
The reviews here are succinct and rated in comparison with the other hostels we stayed at - Barcelona, Rome, Florence, Milan and Venice. Enjoy and happy travels.


+ Location, close to Sta Lucia train station, 20 min walk to Rialto
+ Lively square - a bit noisy coz its on the square itself but didn't bother me.
+ Bar next door where you can sit and watch people.
+ WiFi reception is great
+ Reasonable price in an expensive Venice


- Small and cramped room
- No elevator, we have to carry our luggage 3 flights of stairs
- No chance to meet people.
- No breakfast

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank TravelJunkieToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The tiny rooms of San Geremia are made up for by the terrific location for a reasonable price. Within walking distance of the train station, San Geremia is also located within the Cannaregio Sestiere which is not as overwhelmed with tourists as the areas in and around San Marco.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluangel_bug02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Himself and I stayed at San Geremia Rooms (the main building) for a Saturday and Sunday night and overall we were impressed with what our money got us with room #203. To sum it up, I have listed some pros and cons below:

Pros:
- great value for money - only €136 between us for both nights
- booked a room with shared bathroom but were given our own private bathroom which, although was across the corridor, only we had the key and it was huge!
- location was very convenient being just a five minute walk from the station and only a stones throw from the Grand Canal, yet also within walking distance of all you'd want to see in Venice (but then most places are)
- our room had air conditioning (which was very welcome with the unprecedented hot weather Italy had been experiencing) and there was also a heater
- bed was comfy enough and each side had a table and its own lamp
- windows opened to let fresh air in our room and the shutters were great at blocking the light out, ensuring a good nights sleep
- we had a safe inside our cupboard for our valuables, just as you would expect in a hotel
- a sink was available for use in our room also, so fresh drinking water and a place to wash up if not going to the bathroom
- left luggage area which was useful as checkin wasn't until 2pm and we arrived early although it wasn't the most secure
- free wifi available which worked in our room too
- outside the hotel there were a few tables and chairs from which you could watch the world go by and just next door was a small bar/cafe if you felt like a beer etc

Cons:
- shower was a little unpredictable ...water pressure was good but the temperature alternated between hot and cold and it was impossible to find a middle point to ensure you weren't scalded or frozen
- there are no lifts and the hotel (at least in the building we stayed in) has four floors; though our room was only on the second floor, the stairs may be an issue for those with heavy luggage
- left luggage room, as alluded to, is insecure with people able to walk straight in from the street if they wanted to
- no fridge or kettle in our room (as in some hotels) so this may be a problem if you're looking to self-cater at all

Overall Himself and I were happy with our stay at San Geremia Rooms and felt that we got our moneys worth. If you're happy staying in a basic hotel and investing your money elsewhere, then you may like to consider staying here when next in Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Couldnt sleep due to constant noise in and around the building, the room we had was small and stuffy. One night we were abruptly awoken by screaming and shouting due to one aggressive and morally corrupt reception staff member. We left the next day even though we had one more night there as we didnt feel comfortable or safe. Avoid.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jay_1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#338 of 387 in Venice
373 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Guerrini
Hotel Guerrini
#189 of 387 in Venice
388 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lugano Torretta
#242 of 387 in Venice
478 reviews
Hotel Airone
#351 of 387 in Venice
341 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ariel Silva
Hotel Ariel Silva
#343 of 387 in Venice
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Geremia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Geremia

Address: Campo San Geremia, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £41 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Geremia 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Geremia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geremia Hotel Ponte Di Piave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing