We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hostel - despite its DIY nature”
Review of Hotel San Geremia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Geremia
Ranked #273 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved this hostel - despite its DIY nature”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My cousin and I were quite easily enamored by this hostel (we were staying in the San Geremia Rooms) - we arrived from Geneva, Switzerland, at the Venezia train station and literally just took one path that led us straight to Campo San Geremia where the hostel is centrally located. This was quite a novelty considering that it's sooo easy to get lost in the various twist and turns that consist of Venice!

We checked in although we needed to pay for the hostel totally (and only) in cash which led to the receptionists holding our passports as leverage and us hunting down an ATM in Venice in order to pay this off. After this somewhat exhaustive ordeal, we gained keys to our room which was - luckily - only on the first floor. There's no lift/elevator so - if you look from a positive outlook - it's a good workout trekking up all these stairs. The room was small but cozy with soft beds and had a little wooden closet that couldn't quite store our luggage. We had an absolutely lovely private adjacent bathroom to the room that was very clean and nice.

Probably one of the best things about Hotel San Geremia was that you get 25% off the food (and 50% off at breakfast!) in the adjoining cafe. After being warned as to how expensive Venice was, my cousin and I were shaking in our boots at the thought of our first Venetian meal - instead, we got a gorgeous soda, sandwich, and gelato ALL for 7 Euros.

The location is prime for the Grand Canal and the Venezia train station but not so central to the famed Piazza San Marco. This isn't really an issue because walking from the hostel to the Piazza is so lovely and really gives you a fantastic tour through all the alleys/canals of Venice (it's easy to do - there are lots of signs directing you to the Piazza). It takes roughly 20 minutes.

The biggest con of Venice would be when my cousin and I returned from our day out to discover that all the electricity in our room wasn't working. We trekked up and down from our room to the receptionist multiple times - the electricity would come on momentarily and then shoddily flicker out. Eventually, it was fixed but my cousin and I knew the war wasn't over when the receptionist offhandedly made a comment about how "if [we] have trouble with the lights, move the beds as they are over the electricity switch". Sure enough, whenever my cousin and I moved even a fraction of a centimeter in our bed the lights would either turn off or turn on. It was basically a rave with involuntary strobe lighting - we had to remain somewhat rigid throughout the night in order for the lights not to falter.

All in all, I would definitely recommend Hotel San Geremia despite the DIY nature - it's probably the best deal you'll find in Venice!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    84
    93
    25
    22
See reviews for
32
133
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the train station. However, we found it quite noisy at night as there is a bar below and a busy plaza. There was no air conditioning so closing the windows caused the room to be quite stuffy and only made the noise more tolerable. The church bells rang very early in the morning interrupting what little sleep we managed to get. Definitely being your ear plugs if you want to sleep!
The room itself was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was difficult to connect to wi-fi in the room but no problems in the lobby. There was a discount at the bar next door on drinks and food which added to the appeal of this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Excellent little hotel in great location with good wifi (need to enter password to log in each time), good water pressure and wonderful air con. 50% off breakfast next door so just £1.50 for cappuccino. May want ear plugs as church across plaza rings it's bells for your wake up call. Just one piece of advice - avoid using the electronic safes in rooms as apparently they don't work properly as soon found out when our code stopped working. Lovely man at front desk had to find a locksmith on a Sunday to saw into it to recover our passports and ipad. Sorry! Thankfully disaster was adverted and we made out train with time to spare. Grazie Mil Geremia.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luluuk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I stayed in here for 1 night. It's so close to the station, just about 5 minutes walk and easy to find. We got there around 4pm and our room was ready. It's in different building from the receptionist, but it's right next to it. The receptionist was very friendly and fluent in English, so we had no problem in communication. She also explain to us the places worth visit around and explain the route. Our room was in 3rd floor and there's no elevator, so we have to take the stairs while dragging our luggage. Thanks God we only had 2 small luggage. The room and bathroom is small but clean. The double bed crammed the room so only small space left for us to do anything else. Also, the wall is so thin, we can clearly hear other people walk and talk outside our room. Our stay was at the same time with a group of teenagers from some school (and at the same floor!), so it's very noisy. Our train leave at 8 pm the next day, so we had to spend time after check out. Thankfully, there's a luggage storage so we can safely store our luggage and didn't have to drag it wherever we go. I think we'll come back to this hotel because of its location.

Room Tip: It will be great if you can get the room in lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinaTanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The location of the hotel is great. Just 7min walk from the train station. The area itself is lively and plenty of food choices around. We stayed in a newly-renovated room with a view of Camp San Geremia and that was more than what we expected. Wi-fi is rather unstable except when used in the reception area or the tables outside. While there is no breakfast provided, again, with so much nearby, you will never go hungry.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWYChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked this hotel for our time in Venice and couldn't have been more thrilled! The rooms are small and basic which is expected for the price paid but we had an amazing view over the square out front. The hotel itself had a nice feel with friendly staff and a lovely bar our front to sit in for a drink at the end of the day. It is in an excellent location, a short walk from the train station and not far ourside the main areas.The only drawback - the 1am curfew. We missed ours one night but still managed to get in thankfully! Be careful! For a cheap and pleasant place to stay in an expensive city this was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

My boyfriend and I spent five weeks backpacking Europe last spring and made a one night stop in Venice staying at Hotel Geremia. The hotel is perfect for budget travelling, basic, and comfortable. The location is great, right near the train and convenient for exploring inner Venice. We arrived early and they had no problem storing our luggage until our room was ready. They also have a great outdoor space that overlooks the piazza, perfect for sharing a bottle of wine and enjoying the warm Italian weather!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlindsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
Hotel Minerva & Nettuno
#320 of 386 in Venice
352 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Rossi
Hotel Rossi
#333 of 386 in Venice
181 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ariel Silva
Hotel Ariel Silva
#329 of 386 in Venice
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#275 of 386 in Venice
557 reviews
Hotel Belvedere
#233 of 386 in Venice
78 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Geremia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Geremia

Property: Hotel San Geremia
Address: Campo San Geremia, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #273 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel San Geremia 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Geremia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Geremia Hotel Ponte Di Piave

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing