We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Violino d'Oro San Marco, 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Violino d'Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Ranked #53 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hotel Violino d'Oro San Marco, 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

We checked into our hotel, the Violino D'Oro (I think that means golden fiddle), without any problems and were unpacking by 3PM. The Violino is a small hotel, located about 2 minutes from St. Marks Square - right on a canal, this old hotel is a real gem with high ceilings, rich furnishings, crown molding, chandeliers and attentive service.
This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel, and this time we have a room overlooking the canal - we'll see how this goes, as there is a gondola service point (the place where people get on and off), right below our window. We opened the windows to enjoy what was going on in the canal below us, We've only been here a few hour but we've already heard most of the classic Italian operas several times over. There is an excellent breakfast included and as many cappuccinos, Latte's etc as you would like during breakfast. When I return to Venice I will stay at this hotel again.
there is also. For Americans, Please note that European hotel rooms to tend to be smaller than what you would find at home in Marriott or Hyatt .

Free WiFi - woo-hoo!

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraW13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    426
    77
    16
    6
See reviews for
189
744
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel - especially for the price that we paid. The location is a few minutes walk from St Mark's square, making it quite easy to use the inexpensive water taxis to get to and from the airport or train station - and other sites once you figure out how to use them.

The room was nice - we opted for a standard room with the upgrade that included coffee and tea service and complimentary Prosecco in the room so we didn't have a view of the canal but we didn't pay the price either. The only complaint is that the room was quite warm and we couldn't get it cool unless we opened the window - which means we also heard the noise - but it wasn't bad as we were on an alley way not a main walking street.

We found the staff to be super helpful and very pleasant.

We were pleasantly surprised with the breakfast. It was the only "hot" breakfast with scrambled eggs, sautéed veggies, tomatoes with mozzarella etc, etc on our 2+ week stay. It was constantly being refreshed by the staff as the hotel was full and we had breakfast at the rush hour time of 9:30AM two of the days we were there. The day we had a tour booked early the breakfast area was very quiet. It was nice to be able to eat a healthy breakfast for at least a few days on our trip.

It was also just so cool to look out on the gondolas getting ready for the day while eating breakfast.

Don't hesitate to book this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annie123081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

If you are tall or big (I'm 6'4'' and average weight) you may find the ceiling short and the room small. I really was't in the room too much time but the size was a problem, yes I'm claustrophobic. Hotel is bit on the older side but nice decorated.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prosalesf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Another great hotel booked thorugh Avventure Bellisimo. Awesome location on the canals- a dream come true. Spend the extra money and stay in Venice itself- after the tourists leave you can wander round and feel like it's your own island. Great location and enjoyed being right in the centre of the town. The gondola taxi stand outside was entertaining.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the canal so you can video the gondolas going past and the opera singi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanessaT17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Absolute gem of a hotel, well priced, perfect location, the staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful, the room was lovely, the breakfast outstanding. I have no negative comment to make. Will defitinely be visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arsenal010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is probably one of the best hotels i visited in Rome. The location is right, the rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is just amazing!
The staff is very helpful. Fortunately i got a deal which included a free trip to Murano. They took us in a luxury taxi, which also was a great experience.
True value for money, definitely will come and stay here if i ever get a chance to go back to Venice again!

Room Tip: first floor rooms would have a better view of the canal and gondolas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vyomapathak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Good location, and very good sized rooms. But I have gven this ol,y an Average rating for a few reasons. there was a bad sewerage smell in the bathroom, and the shower was simply a tap with a tiny shower curtain next to the toilet, providing barely enough room to shower! also, while the concierge staff were excellent, the breakfast dining staff were rude, inattentive, slow to respond to coffee orders and just plain sullen.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanuP2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#44 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#22 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#57 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,283 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Violino d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Violino d'Oro

Property: Hotel Violino d'Oro
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2091 | Campiello Barozzi, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#63 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Violino d'Oro 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Violino d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Violino d Oro
Violino d Oro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing